Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Food from All Over the World

New and delightful cookbooks and memoirs highlighting cuisines from many cultures.

Mastering the art of Soviet cooking: a memoir of love and longing by Anya von Bremzen — This witty memoir captures the feasts and famines of three generations of Russian women.


Japanese soul cooking: ramen, tonkatsu, tempura, and more from the streets and kitchens of Tokyo and beyond by Tadashi Ono and Harris Salat ; photography by Todd Coleman — Comfort food Japanese-style.


Mastering the art of French eating: lessons in food and love from a year in Paris by Ann Mah — When her diplomat husband is assigned to Paris, Ann plots gastronomic adventures à deux. But when he is called to Iraq on a year-long post, Ann must stay alone in the City of Light.


Notes from the larder: a kitchen diary with recipes by Nigel Slater ; photographs by Jonathan Lovekin — British food writer Slater muses on a year in the kitchen--including a personal selection of simple and seasonal recipes.

100 Page Biographies

Searching for a biography that's just the right size? The following biographies have between 100 and 200 pages. Additional 100-page biographies can be found in the Who Was series and the Sterling Biographies series.

John Adams, the writer: a treasury of letters, diaries, and public documents by compiled and edited by Carolyn P. Yoder

John & Abigail Adams: an American love story by Judith St. George

Ansel Adams: America's photographer ; a biography for young people by Beverly Gherman

The voice that challenged a nation: Marian Anderson and the struggle for equal rights by Russell Freedman

Failure is impossible: the story of Susan B. Anthony by Lisa Frederiksen Bohannon

John F. Kennedy Assassination 50th Anniversary

 John F. Kennedy, the 36th president of the United States was assassinated in Dallas, Texas 50 years ago this year. It was an unforgettable day for most Americans who grew up in the 1960s, leaving a lasting impression on many of them. "Where were you when you heard about President Kennedy's assassination?" would become a recurring question of the time.

New Documentaries on the Shelf

Manhunt— Boston bombers [videodisc] by a NOVA production ; produced and directed by Miles O'Brien

The search for Robert Johnson [videodisc]: the real story of the greatest folk blues guitar player that ever lived by produced and directed by Chris Hunt.

Treasures of New York [videodisc] by WLIW21 in association with WNET

Nureyev [videodisc]: a portrait by producer and director, Patricia Foy

Richard III [videodisc]: martyr or monster? by produced by Coda Publishing ; written and directed by Bob Carruthers

The waiting room [videodisc] by Docurama ; directed by Peter Nicks

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb