Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Pavement Chalk Artist

Pavement chalk artist : the three-dimensional drawings of Julian Beever by Julian Beever — As we enter into fall, we long for the sunny days of summer where we could hang out in the driveway and draw with chalk til our hearts content. Have no fear! You can relieve the joy of chalk art through this book. We have a copy in both Children's and Adult nonfiction, so be sure to check it out. I guarantee you will be blown away!

Knitting Vintage

Knitting vintage : 30 knitting projects inspired by period fashions by Claire Montgomerie — Many of us admire vintage styles, but it can be challenging to find actual vintage knits in good condition in the right size for a reasonable price. This book offers patterns for sweaters, hats, and other accessories in vintage styles inspired by the twenties through the eighties. It may be difficult to think of the 80s as vintage, but the Striped Mohair Sweater is not to be missed.

Book Gems: Nonfiction

On September 29, the librarians of CPL presented the hidden 'gems' in the stacks; books you might never have heard of but that you won't want to miss. In the video below, Lisa tells us about several good nonfiction titles:

Did you miss the program the first time around? Did we miss some hidden gems? Tell us if you'd like us to do this program again in the comments. Also, enjoy the full list of nonfiction books below:

Devil in the details: scenes from an obsessive girlhood by Jennifer Traig — As a teenager in California during the eighties, Traig's obsessive compulsive disorder made her disinfect everything around her. She looks back with an unflinching eye — sharing even the most painful details — but she does it with humor and compassion. If you like memoirs/essays of David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs, or Rhoda Janzen’s Mennonite in a little black dress this is for you.


Truck: a love story
by Michael Perry — In this delightful memoir Michael Perry describes a year of his life in rural Wisconsin with the understated writing style typical of a northerner. The truck in the title is a decrepit 1951 L-120 International pickup and its history and repairs are woven in to Perry’s life as he muses on a variety of topics including: growing vegetables, writing, and falling in love. For readers of Garrison Keillor’s books or Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Fantasy and Supernatural

Here are some great new books if you are a fan of sci-fi, fantasy, and/or supernatural stories, especially those with a touch of romance.

The girl of fire and thorns by Rae Carson

Entwined by Heather Dixon

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

A Chicken in Every Yard

A chicken in every yard : the Urban Farm Store's guide to chicken keeping by Robert and Hannah Litt — The title of this book refers to the idea not that every yard must have chickens, but that every yard could. You can raise chickens virtually anywhere, and this book shows just how to do it. The authors have included a wealth of information gleaned from their own experience, including choosing the right breed, building a coop, feeding, preventing and treating diseases, recipes to use your chickens' eggs and more. They also include an all-important section on working with neighbors, family, and authorities to make your chicken-raising experience successful and positive for everyone.

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue

Welcome to the J600-699 Collection

What kind of dog do you wish you had? How fast does a Corvette really go? What does the inside of the human body look like? If you have ever asked yourselves these questions and more, then you should definitely visit the J600-699 collection in the Children's Section. This is the nonfiction collection that is chock full of cats, cars, pets, cooking, gardening, health, body parts, and so much more. See you in the stacks!