Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Savvy Seniors: Get Active December 2013

Get a jump start on your New Year's resolutions! Even if you aren't used to being active, the holidays are a great time to get started. Spend time at family get-togethers going for walks or playing with your grandkids. Take a few extra laps around the mall when you're doing holiday shopping. Exercise before each holiday party you attend. Be more active and use the Go4Life resources to help you reach your goals.

Author Joshilyn Jackson at Nicola's Books

Someone Else's Love Story by Jackson, Joshilyn — Meet New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson on Wednesday, December 4, 7:00PM at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor. A former actor, Jackson reads the audio versions of her novels.  She has been nominated for the Audie Award, was selected by AudioFile Magazine for their Best of the Year list, has made the 2012 Audible All-Star list for highest listener ranks/reviews, and garnered three Listen Up Awards from Publisher’s Weekly.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion December 2013

Happy Holidays!  Our next book discussion is Thursday, January 23, 2014 and we'll be discussing Steve Luxenberg's ANNIE'S GHOST.  Copies will be available for pickup beginning Friday, December 20.  Ask for it at the Adult Help Desk. 

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Savvy Seniors: November is National Family Caregivers Month

November is National Family Caregiving Month and a great time to think about how you can fit exercise into your busy schedule! Being active has many benefits for caregivers including increasing your energy level; maintaining and improving your physical strength and fitness; and managing and preventing chronic diseases and conditions like diabetes, heart disease, and osteoporosis. Check out these resources for caregivers on Go4Life:

Caregivers and Exercise--Take Time for Yourself

Helping Older Family Members Become More Active

Helping People with Alzheimer's Disease Stay Physically Active


(Source: National Institute of Health)

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Savvy Seniors: November 2013

New rules for grandparents... 

Grandloving: making memories with your grandchildren by Sue Johnson and Julie Carlson ; illustrated by Ronnie W. Shipman and Frederick B. Johnson ; foreword by Ann Ruethling

The modern grandparent's handbook: the ultimate guide to the new rules of grandparenting by Georgia Witkin

The wisdom of Sam: observations on life from an uncommon child by Daniel Gottlieb

Grandparents as parents: a survival guide for raising a second family by Sylvie de Toledo, Deborah Edler Brown

Grandparents: enjoying and caring for your grandchild by Miriam Stoppard ; [photography by Ruth Jenkinson]

 

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lou Reed, Velvet Underground Leader, Dies at 71

Lou Reed, leader of avante-garde band The Velvet Underground before going solo in the early Seventies, died this week (October 27) at the age of 71. He had no wish for fame, but is probably one of the best known 'unknown' musicians of the past 30 years. A songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist, Reed had a distinctive voice. As a member of The Velvet Underground, he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. (Photo Credit: Stephen Munday. Olympics Day 13 - Lou Reed Performs At The Medal Plaza. Getty Images. 23 Feb. 2006. eLibrary. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.)

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 21, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, November 21 at 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. (Note: We are meeting 1 week earlier. The library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, November 28.) Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain.  Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define her role in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse