Catalog

Search our Catalog

May We Suggest

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Thanksgiving Crafts

Thanksgiving is on November 24th this year. Have you made your crafts yet? If not, there is still plenty of time. Check out the Thanksgiving craft books we have here at the library for inspiration and direction. Have fun! Gobble, gobble!

New Celebrity Biographies

If you're looking for some great new reads about your favorite actors, sports stars or musicians, then you're in luck. There have been a plethora of celebrity biographies and autobiographies published this fall on everyone from Shaquille O"Neal to Spencer Tracy. More great titles can be found below:

The Garner Files: A Memoir by Garner, James/ Winokur, Jon/ Andrews, Julie (INT)

Happy accidents by Jane Lynch

60 Quick Baby Knits

60 quick baby knits : blankets, booties, sweaters & more in Cascade 220 Superwash — Handknit clothing and items make excellent baby gifts. This book is a compilation of dozens of patterns for making such items, in sizes from newborn to toddler. All of the patterns here will work well with the title yarn, or with any baby-friendly worsted/10ply yarn.

Getting Enough of the Sunshine Vitamin

As the winter season approaches, Michigan gets on average 36% of sunshine compared to 66% in the summer months. Vitamin D plays an important role in our overall health. In today's USA Weekend, you'll find an article about the benefits of vitamin D, "the sunshine vitamin," and you can check out, Vitamin D for Dummies, from our health collection.

Reddit's Favorite Books

Reddit, a social sharing site that bills itself as "the front page of the internet," might be the last place you'd look for book suggestions. Then again, it might be the last place you'd look for random acts of pizza, daily learning, or help with "tip of my tongue" questions, but those are examples of vibrant niches (called subreddits) on the site. Some book-related subreddits include: r/books, r/bookclub, r/booksuggestions, and r/bookexchange. Check out the top 50 of reddit's favorite books, available here at CPL:

The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy by Douglas Adams

1984: a novel by George Orwell; with an afterword by Erich Fromm

Dune by Frank Herbert

Slaughterhouse-five, or, The children's crusade: a duty- dance with death by Kurt Vonnegut

Sewing 101

Sewing 101 : a workshop in a book by [editors of Creative Publishing, International] — Are you looking to learn how to sew, to refresh your skills, or to expand beyond the very basics? This book can help with all of these things. Many basic sewing books stick to instructions for working with cotton or fleece, but this one includes several projects and how-to tips for working with knits. It also features garments for adults in addition to the stand-by aprons, pillows, and placemats.

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan

Thanksgiving Reads

Pick up some easy-to-read books to get in the spirit of giving thanks. Below are some suggested titles that can be found in the Readers section in our Children's Department. Happy Thanksgiving!

The first Thanksgiving by Linda Hayward ; illustrated by James Watling



Pardon that turkey : how thanksgiving became a holiday by Susan Sloate ; illustrated by Christian Slade