Catalog

Search our Catalog

Mystery

2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Murder Will Out

His victims are young, beautiful and viciously mutilated. He calls himself the Beijing Ripper. Award-winning, Peter May's terrifying new addition to his China Thrillers series, Chinese Whispers pits Beijing detective Li Yan and American pathologist Margaret Campbell against an unscrupulous foe who could prove to be their deadliest enemy yet.

K. J. A. Wishnia Is Back

Prague, 1592. A young girl has been brutally murdered and Christians and Jews will be pitted against each other in Edgar nominee, K. J. A. Wishnia's (aka Kenneth Wishnia) soon-to-be released, mystery The Fifth Servant.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - February 24, 2010

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Group will discuss the Everyone's Reading 2010 selection, Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the January 27, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after January 27th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Bouchercon 2010

Bouchercon 2010 will be held in San Francisco this year, October 14 - 17.  Bouchercon is the World Mystery Convention. Every year readers, writers, publishers, editors, agents, booksellers and other lovers of crime fiction gather for a long weekend of both education and entertainment. Panel discussions, author signings, awards, and more are available throughout this four day conference. This year's Guests of Honor are Lee Childs, Denise Mina, Laurie R. King, Eddie Muller, and Maddy van Hertbruggen. 

For more information visit Bouchercon by the Bay 2010.

"Always Say Goodbye"

Stuart Kaminsky, a former Grandmaster of the Mystery Writers of America and author of many mystery series and stand-alone novels, died Friday, October 9, 2009 at the age of 75. His four series featuring Lew Fonesca, Abe Lieberman,Toby Peters,and Inspector Porfiry Rostnikov were extremely popular. Kaminsky's Inspector Rostnikov novel A Cold Red Sunrise received the 1989 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He earned six other Edgar nominations, most recently for the 2005 non-fiction book "Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed", which was also nominated for an Anthony Award, a Macavity Awards, and an Agatha Award.

George Pelecanos Wins 2008 Hammett Award

The North American Branch of the Association of Crime Writers announced that The Turnaround by George Pelecanos (Little, Brown), has been named the winner of the organization's annual Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing.

Lyn Hamilton Passed On

Lyn Hamilton, author of the Lara McClintoch series passed away last month on September 10.  Ms. Hamilton's Arthur Ellis Award nominated series featured Canadian antiques dealer and amateur detective,  Lara McClintoch. 

'Cool Canadian Crime'

For several months now David Cole has been interviewing Canadian writers of crime, mystery, and/or suspense for Mystery Fanfare in his column Cool Canadian Crime. Cole recently interviewed Vicki Delany, a favorite of mine. Scare the Light Away Delany's debut novel was highly acclaimed when it was published in 2005.

2009 Dagger Awards Announced

The Crime Writers Association has announced the 2009 CWA Gold Dagger Awards' shortlist.  The winners will be announced on October 21, 2009 at the SpecSavers Crime Thriller Awards in London and will be shown on ITV3 later in the month.

Murder Will Out - Agatha Christie Read-Alikes

If you like mysteries where all of the main characters are stuck in some kind of confined environment (a large, scary, old house) trying to solve some kind of crime or love the Agatha Christie novels when Poirot dramatically explains the crime's solution at the end of his books to the group of suspects, should enjoy these authors/characters:

Margery Allingham's
Albert Campion 

Carolyn Hart's Henrie O'

M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin 

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

In the Shadow of Gotham

In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff's debut, won the first Minotaur Books/MWA Best First Crime Novel award. It's the Twentieth Century and crime detection has begun to take advantage of the new sciences available: fingerprints, profiling. Detective Simon Ziele has moved to Dobson, a small town in New York's Westchester county, a train-ride from New York City, following the tragic death of his fiance in the wreck of the steamship General Slocum in 1904. Ziele had been one of the NYC detectives called to scene to rescue survivors, but he was unable to save Rachel, his fiance.

Murder Will Out: New Mysteries

Are you looking for someone new to read? Maybe a new mystery author? I'm hoping I'll find time to read at least one of these five titles this summer. Meredith Cole won the St. Martin's/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Competition. Let us know what you think.

Angel's advocate by Mary Stanton

Bait by Nick Brownlee

Hangman blind by Cassandra Clark

Murder Will Out: 100 Overlooked, Forgotten, or Underappreciated Mysteries

Question: What one crime, mystery, or thriller novel do you think has been most unjustly overlooked, criminally forgotten, or underappreciated over the years? In honor of The Rap Sheet’s first birthday, they invited more than 100 crime writers, book critics, and bloggers from all over the English-speaking world to choose crime/mystery/thriller novels that they thought had been 'most unjustly overlooked, criminally forgotten, or underappreciated over the years.' Any book you would like to add to this list?

On the Case...

If you're a fan of Walter Mosley and enjoy stories featuring a 'real' private eye try...Loren D. Estleman, Robert J.

Digging for the Truth

Forensic science(often shortened to forensics) is the application of a broad spectrum of sciences to answer questions of interest to the legal system.  Aaron Elkins' Gideon Oliver is a forensic anthropologist, Eve Duncan featured in Iris Johansen's books is a forensic sculptor. Kathryn Fox has a new series featuring pathologist and forensic physician, Dr.

Now On Our Shelves...

Looking for something new to read? These debut mysteries are get high marks from readers: