May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

While time is quickly moving us toward the fall and all that entails, be sure to take time to curl up with these great new YA Fiction titles.

Deeplight by Frances Hardinge

It seems like these days laughs can be hard to come by. Have no fear--the Canton Public Library can hook you up with jokes and laughs for days. Enjoy!

I am Doug the pug by Megan Faulkner

One of the best ways to learn about the world around you is by reading books. We learn about ourselves and others by reading books that we can relate to, as well as those that teach us something about our neighbors. If there is something specific you'd like to read on, feel free to try a subject search in our catalog, or ask a librarian for help with search terms and suggestions. For a general smattering of books that feature characters who follow certain religious faiths, below are some titles that include Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Christianity which might be of interest. Did we miss one of your favorite books? Feel free to comment below. 

Judaism

These books are suggested as readalikes for the popular series Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. Magic, friendship, mischief, and action are all themes you will find in these titles. 

The truth: Nicholas Flamel's tomb is empty. The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. Nicholas Flamel is the greatest Alchemyst to ever live. The records show that he died in 1418, but what if he's actually been making the elixir of life for centuries? The secrets to eternal life are hidden within the book he protects--the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed, and in the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. There is one hope. If the prophecy is true, Sophie and Josh Newman have the power to save everyone. Now they just have to learn to use it. 

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths. Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime. In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation. But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.

Are you a fan of Patterson, Baldacci, Koontz, or other popular writers and looking for something new to try? Perhaps you just want to check out a title in the genres mentioned above. Either way, we've got you covered with these newer titles which are stand-alone, or part of a newer series for your reading pleasure. 

Before the fall by Noah Hawley

On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--depart Martha's Vineyard on a private jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean. The only survivors are the painter Scott Burroughs and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of an immensely wealthy and powerful media mogul's family.

Was it by chance that so many influential people perished? Or was something more sinister at work? A storm of media attention brings Scott fame that quickly morphs into notoriety and accusations, and he scrambles to salvage truth from the wreckage. Amid trauma and chaos, the fragile relationship between Scott and the young boy grows and glows at the heart of this stunning novel, raising questions of fate, morality, and the inextricable ties that bind us together.

The anomaly by Michael Rutger

If Indiana Jones lived in the X-Files era, he might bear at least a passing resemblance to Nolan Moore -- a rogue archaeologist hosting a web series derisively dismissed by the "real" experts, but beloved of conspiracy theorists. Nolan sets out to retrace the steps of an explorer from 1909 who claimed to have discovered a mysterious cavern high up in the ancient rock of the Grand Canyon. And, for once, he may have actually found what he seeks. Then the trip takes a nasty turn, and the cave begins turning against them in mysterious ways. Nolan's story becomes one of survival against seemingly impossible odds. The only way out is to answer a series of intriguing questions: What is this strange cave? How has it remained hidden for so long? And what secret does it conceal that made its last visitors attempt to seal it forever

On Friday, July 17, 2020, America lost two very influential and important Civil Rights icons. Rep John Lewis and Rev C.T. Vivian. We have curated some materials below which relate to their contributions toward and about the Civil Rights Movement. 

March. Book 1 by 1940 February 21- John Lewis
Also available in: e-book
Two letters received by Thorndyke the Bear in July 2020

 

Hey Kids,

You might know how exciting it is to get letters in the mail. It is a great way to stay connected to people you love, and a fun way to be creative as well. I am so delighted because I got mail this summer: an extra special envelope with ONE letter and ONE super cool drawing. The letter was bittersweet (that means both happy and sad) because I was glad to read that I am missed, but I am also upset that I have not been able to see any of you. The drawing was super cool because it reminded me of a trip I took many years ago to the Novi Public Library when I saw a racecar IN PERSON. 

The fact is, I miss all of you. I miss hearing about the books you are reading, I miss seeing you put on puppet shows, I miss watching you say hello to the fish (they are lonely, too). I miss meeting brand new patrons and I really miss seeing my old friends. It is really hard to stay cheerful even though there has been a lot that I am thankful for, like the sunny days of summer, the wildlife that roams around the library, the library staff who are working so hard to keep the library shipshape for your return. So sometimes I am sad.

But getting a piece of mail has reminded me that one day I will see you all again, and I continue to look forward to that day. In the meantime, I have included some photos from the archive that might be of interest and of course, some books you might like about sending and receiving letters.

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke the Bear at the Novi Public Library next to a racecar

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask on the Childrens Reference Desk

 

Hey Kids,

I've been at the library for a long time, which means I have a lot of memories about the library. These memories include the outfits I've worn, the programs I've attended, the librarians I've worked with, and all the improvements that have taken place at the library. Do you have library memories? I would love to get a letter or drawing about your memories in the mail

I've had a lot of time to think about my library memories lately. Recently I wrote a little bit about how difficult change can be, but one of the good parts of change is that it gives you a reason to revisit old memories. Sometimes these are memories of another person, or a place, or of yourself when you were younger. Sometimes they are sad, but they can be funny or happy, too. Sometimes you might feel differently about the memory than you did during the actual experience. Sometimes two people have different memories about the same experience.

It can be very fun to ask your parents, grandparents, or other family members about their memories and stories from their childhood. But memories are not just about the past: you are making new memories RIGHT NOW. You can help your future self remember by writing down what happens to you, or by making a memory book.

Below, I included some memories of the different Reference Desks: do you remember these? There are also some books about memories you can put on hold and check out. Enjoy your stroll down memory lane!

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke Sitting at the Reference Desk

Some mostly modern fiction to enjoy during these questionable times. 

Pages