Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Savvy Seniors: November is National Family Caregivers Month

November is National Family Caregiving Month and a great time to think about how you can fit exercise into your busy schedule! Being active has many benefits for caregivers including increasing your energy level; maintaining and improving your physical strength and fitness; and managing and preventing chronic diseases and conditions like diabetes, heart disease, and osteoporosis. Check out these resources for caregivers on Go4Life:

Caregivers and Exercise--Take Time for Yourself

Helping Older Family Members Become More Active

Helping People with Alzheimer's Disease Stay Physically Active


(Source: National Institute of Health)

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Savvy Seniors: November 2013

New rules for grandparents... 

Grandloving: making memories with your grandchildren by Sue Johnson and Julie Carlson ; illustrated by Ronnie W. Shipman and Frederick B. Johnson ; foreword by Ann Ruethling

The modern grandparent's handbook: the ultimate guide to the new rules of grandparenting by Georgia Witkin

The wisdom of Sam: observations on life from an uncommon child by Daniel Gottlieb

Grandparents as parents: a survival guide for raising a second family by Sylvie de Toledo, Deborah Edler Brown

Grandparents: enjoying and caring for your grandchild by Miriam Stoppard ; [photography by Ruth Jenkinson]

 

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lou Reed, Velvet Underground Leader, Dies at 71

Lou Reed, leader of avante-garde band The Velvet Underground before going solo in the early Seventies, died this week (October 27) at the age of 71. He had no wish for fame, but is probably one of the best known 'unknown' musicians of the past 30 years. A songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist, Reed had a distinctive voice. As a member of The Velvet Underground, he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. (Photo Credit: Stephen Munday. Olympics Day 13 - Lou Reed Performs At The Medal Plaza. Getty Images. 23 Feb. 2006. eLibrary. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.)

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 21, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, November 21 at 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. (Note: We are meeting 1 week earlier. The library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, November 28.) Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain.  Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define her role in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse

K. A. Barson at Ann Arbor Bookstore Nicola's Books

45 pounds (more or less) by K.A. Barson — K. A. Barson will be at Nicola's Books on Tuesday, October 8 at 6:30PM to talk about her recent book, answer questions, and autograph her book.

Savvy Seniors October 2013

If you weren't able to get your Flu shot at Canton Public Library this past Tuesday, October 2 the Canton Leisure Center/Canton Seniors is holding a Flu Shot Clinic on Wednesday, October 23. Call the Canton Senior Center desk to make an appointment at 734-394-5485. Bring your Medicare and/or insurance card. Flu Shots and Pneumonia Shots are available.

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.

Murder Will Out: October 2013

The 2013 Anthony Awards were recently announced at BoucherCon 2013. The winners are:

Best Novel

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny

Best First Novel

The expats: a novel by Chris Pavone

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: October 24, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, October 24 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lassiter. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required.

Say Nice Things About Detroit by Scott Lasser.  After his divorce and the death of his son David Halpert escapes to his hometown Detroit, and becomes involved in a murder investigation when he learns about the shooting of his high school girlfriend Natalie and her black half-brother, Dirk, and becomes romantically involved with Natalie's sister.