Catalog

Search our Catalog

madame librarian's Blog

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: January 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, January 23  in Group Study Room A. Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing Annie's Ghosts by Steve Luxenberg, Michigan Humanities Council's Great Michigan Read selection.

Annie's Ghosts: a Journey into a Family Secret by Steve Luxenberg.  As his mother lays dying, Steve Luxenberg learns a family secret.  The mother he thought was an only child, had an older sister.  A sister who had been declared insane and placed in Eloise Hospital, Wayne, Michigan. With his family's reluctant consent, Steve Luxenberg unravels the secret.

Year 2013 Top Fiction Picks

Every year all of Canton Public Library's Information Services Librarians share their favorite 2013 fiction reads, a mixture of Adult, Teen, and Children's fiction books.

And the mountains echoed by Khaled Hosseini



The goldfinch by Donna Tartt






The dinner: a novel by Herman Koch ; translated from the Dutch by Sam Garrett






Sisterland: a novel by Curtis Sittenfeld

Year 2013 Top Non-Fiction Picks

Canton Public Library's Information Services Librarians share their favorite 2013 non-fiction read(s), a mixture of Adult, Teen, and Children's fiction books.

Dallas 1963 by Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis





The antidote: happiness for people who can't stand positive thinking by Oliver Burkeman





Going clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the prison of belief by Lawrence Wright



Junius and Albert's adventures in the Confederacy: a Civil War odyssey by Peter Carlson






One summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson

Savvy Seniors: BARD Mobile App Now Available

The BARD (Braille and Audio Reading Download) Mobile application for iOS devices is now available at Apple’s App Store. The app enables National Library Service (NLS) patrons to download audio and Braille books, magazines and music scores directly to their iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch, provided they have a BARD account. NLS plans to release an app for Android devices in the near future.

Murder Will Out: December 2013

2013 Award Winning Mysteries you may have missed:

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny — Best Novel: Anthony Award & Macavity Award

Don't ever get old by Daniel Friedman — Best First Novel: Macavity Award

The Blackhouse: a novel by Peter May — Best Novel: Barry Award

A killing in the hills by Julia Keller — Best First Novel: Barry Award

Taken by Robert Crais — Best Hardcover: Shamus Award

Black Fridays by Michael Sears — Best First P.I. Novel: Shamus Award

Savvy Seniors: Get Active December 2013

Get a jump start on your New Year's resolutions! Even if you aren't used to being active, the holidays are a great time to get started. Spend time at family get-togethers going for walks or playing with your grandkids. Take a few extra laps around the mall when you're doing holiday shopping. Exercise before each holiday party you attend. Be more active and use the Go4Life resources to help you reach your goals.

Author Joshilyn Jackson at Nicola's Books

Someone Else's Love Story by Jackson, Joshilyn — Meet New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson on Wednesday, December 4, 7:00PM at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor. A former actor, Jackson reads the audio versions of her novels.  She has been nominated for the Audie Award, was selected by AudioFile Magazine for their Best of the Year list, has made the 2012 Audible All-Star list for highest listener ranks/reviews, and garnered three Listen Up Awards from Publisher’s Weekly.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion December 2013

Happy Holidays!  Our next book discussion is Thursday, January 23, 2014 and we'll be discussing Steve Luxenberg's ANNIE'S GHOST.  Copies will be available for pickup beginning Friday, December 20.  Ask for it at the Adult Help Desk. 

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Savvy Seniors: November is National Family Caregivers Month

November is National Family Caregiving Month and a great time to think about how you can fit exercise into your busy schedule! Being active has many benefits for caregivers including increasing your energy level; maintaining and improving your physical strength and fitness; and managing and preventing chronic diseases and conditions like diabetes, heart disease, and osteoporosis. Check out these resources for caregivers on Go4Life:

Caregivers and Exercise--Take Time for Yourself

Helping Older Family Members Become More Active

Helping People with Alzheimer's Disease Stay Physically Active


(Source: National Institute of Health)

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb