Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

New Arabic Books

We are starting to receive our new Arabic language books. Books being put on the shelf today include the fiction title Zaman al-khuyūl al-bayḍāʼ by Ibrāhīm Naṣrallāh and nonfiction such as al-Salaṭāt al-shahiyah by iʻdād Līnah Shbārū Bayḍūn, et al. Come in and check them out!

Green Flowers

Green FlowersGreen Flowers: Unexpected Beauty for the Garden, Container or Vase by Alison Hoblyn, photographs by Marie O'Hara

This book is a terrific inspiration for a tone-on-tone garden bed. Some of my favorites include Hacquetia epipactis, Euphorbia lathyris (mole plant), and Bupleurum rotundifolium (hare's ear).

Website of the week: CDC Travel Page

It is the height of summer and everyone is in the middle of travelling. Since the recent outbreak of swine flu, travelers are becoming increasingly worried about their safety abroad. Before you travel it is essential to know any possible health risks you may or may not be exposed to at your destination. "The Center for disease Control and Prevention" is a site managed by the U.S. Department of Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that offers advice and tips for travelers. They have a database of countries that will tell you valuable health information. Before you see your doctor, first go to the CDC Travel website and read their updated page on the country you plan to visit. This is the same website the doctors use, to see which vaccines are needed, as well as Malaria and other issues.

Secret History Lessons

James Ellroy, the "Demon Dog of American Crime Fiction", is probably best known as the writer behind the novel "LA Confidential" which was turned into a 1997 Academy Award nominated film. While LA Confidential is a fantastic novel (even better than the stellar film), it's not Ellroy's strongest work, at least not in this writer's opinion.

Are You Geektastic?

Geekt.preview.jpgIf you've been waiting for a chance to celebrate your inner (or outer) geek, check out this collection of short stories and comics put together by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci. From Star Wars to Star Trek, gaming, T.V. shows, drama club, and more, a variety of your favorite authors tackle the geek world (and admit they are from it). As a former marching band geek who went through the TAG program, Geektastic is the book I didn't know I was waiting for.

Thorndyke Thoughts

Hey Kids! Wowzers! I am SO proud of you! Did you know that an incredible 4,798 kids and teens signed up for Summer Reading 2009?!?! And that 2,384 kids and teens finished summer reading and got books from the Scholastic Book Fair sponsored by the Friends of the Library? Thanks Friends! The Adult Librarians told me that over 1000 grown-ups signed up for summer reading and lots of them earned books too. I think you all deserve a pat on the back. Go you!

Fifth Annual Western Wayne County Senior Olympics

Men and women, 50 years and older, will compete in the Western Wayne Senior Olympics August 17 through August 21, 2009. A complete schedule of events is available at Canton Seniors Leisure Services.

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

Battle of the Badges!

It's the Firemen vs. the Police at the annual Battle of the Badges blood drive on Tuesday, August 18 from 11:00-5:00 at the Canton Township Administration Building. Donors select either service when they sign in, and the American Red Cross will donate $1 per donor to the U of M Burn Center. For an appointment, phone 734-394-5246, or drop in between 11:00AM and 4:45PM.

New Gujarati Books

Over 100 new Gujarati titles are being put on the shelves today. Fiction titles include: Nahīntara by Yogeśa Joshī and Ūḍatāṃ pataṅgiyāṃ by Bakula Dave. Nonfiction titles include: Mejīka opha vejīṭeriyana kūkarī : sampūrṇa śākāhārī vānagīo, sāndu bhojana hoya ke bhavya pārṭī ā rasasabhara pustaka potāno jādu karaśe by Nainā Ḍôkaṭar and Umbare pragaṭāvīe koḍiyuṃ by Suśīlā Mekavānaa.

New German Books

Our German language books are starting to arrive. There will be more, but the first three to get here are: Eine exklusive Liebe by Johanna Adorján, Macho man by  Moritz Netenjakob, and Mangelexemplar by Sarah Kuttner. They are going on the shelf today, so come in and check them out!

Comcast.net jobs

From resume and interview tips to job search tips, Comcast.net's jobs site can help you get ready for your next exciting job position. Even the message boards can be helpful. One response to a job search question asking for work at home jobs listed the "world wide work at home" website which gives info, job listings and resources leading to a work at home job. Click on Comcast.net jobs to get started.

National Inventors Month

This is the month for all your great ideas for a "better mousetrap" to be considered once again! Started in 1998 by the United Inventors Association of the USA, the Academy Of Applied Science and Inventors' Digest Magazine, August has been designated as National Inventors Month, celebrating invention and creativity.

MySpace and Facebook

Have you ever wished that you could do more with your MySpace or Facebook pages? Have you ever wondered how people customize their pages beyond the given capabilities or make those really cool apps? Well, we have a number of books that can help you do just that. Check out our selection of books for both MySpace and Facebook and get creative!

Get the Facts about Health Care Reform

Confused about the debate over health care reform? President Obama has unveiled a new "Reality Check" site to help you get the facts on this very important issue. The site has fact sheets, videos, and links to related sites such as Health Reform.gov. It also allows users to receive updates via Twitter and Facebook.

Organic Kitchen Garden

Organic Kitchen GardenOrganic Kitchen Garden by Juliet Roberts, photographs by Gavin Kingcome

This guide to growing your own food covers the basics for most edibles you can grow here in Canton. In addition to how to plant, grow, and harvest, recommended varieties are listed. Beautifully photographed, this is a handy guide all gardeners of edibles will want to check out.

National Resurrect Romance Week August 9-15th

As we wind down the summer sun, let's take a stroll shall we? This is National Resurrect Romance Week and this week take that certain someone out for a romantic drive, quiet picnic by the lake, or a moonlit walk followed by ice cream at your local ice cream shop. Being romantic doesn't have to have large, sweeping gestures, because romance, after all, is simple, quiet, and knowing. Leave a note in your sweetheart's lunch, pick some wildflowers and surprise that certain someone, watch their favorite movie and not complain about it, bake their favorite dessert or dinner, let your wife hold the remote control, or read each other some of our delicious poetry about love and romance.

Advice for New Teachers

Not only is it a busy time for families to get ready for the start of school, but for teachers as well. The Master Teacher shares the wisdom and advice for new teachers who are about to step into the classroom for the first time.

Secondhand Prose to Sell Collectible Books In-house

Something old, something new... Beginning Tuesday, September 1st, Secondhand Prose Used Book Shop will sell all specialty and collectible books in-house, rather than on the Internet. All selections will be re-priced, so come in and grab some great bargains before they're gone!
(Tuesdays are Members Only Days at Secondhand Prose; you can purchase membership in advance or on the sale day.)

Summer Reading? check!

2009-08-05%20%2834%29%20Book%20Fair.prevToday is the first day to claim your Summer Reading book prize! Patrons of all ages found some great picks to take home. If you finished Summer Reading this year, bring your book certificate to the Community Room now through August 12. We cannot replace lost certificates.

If you haven't checked Summer Reading off your list yet, remember that August 12 is the last day to turn in logs for prizes. There's still time to get the reading done and earn the ultimate Summer Reading prize!

Thank you to the Friends of the Library for making the book fair possible.