Catalog

Search our Catalog

Adults

Free Online Classes to Start Soon

The free Gale Courses that the library offers to its cardholders are set to begin on August 20. You can register for any number of classes and in any subject area that appeals to you. The goal is to provide lifelong learning opportunities for you to learn, at your own pace, new skills or improve existing ones. Take advantage of the vast array of instructor-led courses soon.

Three Days of Peace and Music

"By the time we got to Woodstock, we were half a million strong." Those words, written by Joni Mitchell in her famous song about the event, perfectly captured the feelings about the music festival for those who were there. It was forty five years ago on August 15, 1969, that thousands of people gathered in rural Bethel, New York to attend what would become an historic outdoor concert. For those who attended - and even like Mitchell - those who could not, Woodstock became a defining moment. Richie Havens, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Santana, Neil Young, Jefferson Airplane, the Who and Crosby, Stills & Nash were just some of the musicians who performed that weekend.

Special Needs Storytime: Folktale Fridays

Please join us on Friday, September 5 at 4:00 PM in the Community Room for Folktale Fridays. This is an interactive, sensory-friendly storytime filled with folktales and fairytales especially designed for older children (ages 13 and over) and adults with developmental delays and/or other special needs. Families and caregivers are welcome after completing the registration process. Registration begins August 22. This program has been funded through the Dollar General Literacy Foundation grant.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

World War I: the Campaigns

The battles of World War I were fought in Europe, the  Middle East, and the Pacific. In memory of the war's 100th anniversary, check out some of the library's many resources on this global event whose repercussions are still being felt today:

To conquer hell: the Meuse-Argonne, 1918 by Edward G. Lengel


Verdun: the longest battle of the Great War by Paul Jankowski


Castles of steel: Britain, Germany, and the winning of the Great War at sea by Robert K. Massie


Yanks: the epic story of the American Army in World War I by John S.D. Eisenhower with Joanne Thompson Eisenhower


Setting the desert on fire: T.E. Lawrence and Britain's secret war in Arabia, 1916/1918 by James Barr

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Shark Week

Duh Dun, Duh Dun...

It's that time of year again: Shark Week is here! Get in on all of the fintastic action with some of these great books and DVDs all about these mysterious and amazing animals. Whether you are a Shark Week veteran or a first timer these reads will leave you hungry for more.


The blacktip reef shark
by Sara Green

Bluntnose sixgill sharks and other strange sharks by Rachel Lynette

A daredevil's guide to swimming with sharks by Amie Jane Leavitt

Sharks by Kris Hirschmann

Whale shark by Anders Hanson ; consulting editor, Diane Craig, M.A./Reading Specialist

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

New Features for OverDrive eBooks

OverDrive has just released two new features to help with the ease of reserving popular eBook titles.  

The first, automatic borrowing, allows eBooks and eAudio titles to be automatically checked out when a book becomes available.  While placing a title on hold, click the 'Automatically borrow this title when it becomes available' option.  For more information, be sure to read the OverDrive article.  

The second feature, suspending a hold, ensures the reader that they won't lose their place in the holds queue if they want to temporarily suspend a hold on a title.  This is helpful if the reader is in on a waiting list for a title and is currently reading another. The reader will continue to move up the wait list but the hold will not be filled for an amount of time specified by them.  More information on this can be found in the OverDrive blog.  

World War I at the Movies

World War I began one hundred years ago this year, on August 1, 1914.

The African Queen [videodisc] by a Romulus-Horizon production


All quiet on the western front [videodisc] by a Universal -International presentation


The big parade [videodisc] by a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture ; a Turner Entertainment Co. and Thames Television presentation ; story by Laurence Stallings ; director, King Vidor


Darling Lili [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents


The dawn patrol [videodisc] by Warner Bros. Pictures presents


A farewell to arms [videodisc] by Paramount


Four sons [videodisc] by William Fox presents a John Ford production ; adapted by Philip Klein

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Savvy Seniors: August, 2014

10 Movie Favorites of baby boomers according to a recent blog posted on Next Avenue's Route 360 by Linda Bernstein. Best part of the survey?  The memorable lines included. 


The sound of music [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox

The graduate [videodisc] by an Embassy Pictures release

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [videodisc] by Twentieth Century Fox


Love story [videodisc]
by Paramount Pictures

The Godfather [videodisc] by [by] Mario Puzo ; Paramount Pictures presents an Albert S. Ruddy production

The paper chase [videodisc] by a Thompson-Paul production

World War I: Biographies

In memory of the 100th anniversary of the Great War check out one of these biographies of the people who lived through it:

Ace of aces: the life of captain Eddie Rickenbacker by H. Paul Jeffers


Suddenly we didn't want to die: memoirs of a World War I marine by Elton E. Mackin ; with an introduction and annotation by George B. Clark ; foreword by Victor H. Krulak


Archduke of Sarajevo: The romance and tragedy of Franz Ferdinand of Austria by Gordon Brook-Shepherd


Femme fatale: love, lies, and the unknown life of Mata Hari by Pat Shipman


Hero: the life and legend of Lawrence of Arabia by Michael Korda


Richthofen: beyond the legend of the Red Baron by Peter Kilduff

eBook Basics

Bring your registered eBook reader along with a current Canton Library card and join us on Friday, November 7, 2014 from 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM to learn the basics of how to check-out free library eBooks and read them on an iPad, Kindle, Nook or other device.

First World War 100th Anniversary

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I which engulfed the globe from 1914 to 1919. It has been estimated that 10 million died and another 20 million were wounded in the conflict. Austria-Hungary declared war on Serbia on July 28, 1914 in response to the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the Austro-Hungarian Empire, on June 29. The "domino effect" of alliance obligations that ensued let to the inevitability of a global conflict, with Serbian ally Russia first declaring war on Austria-Hungary, and then Germany declaring war on Russia. Battles also took place in the Middle East. The United States eventually entered the war in 1917. Called the "war to end all wars" in reality, the peace treaty is believed by many historians to have set the stage for World War II.