third grade

Ready to hide under the covers to avoid the bumps and spooks outside your window? Here's a collection of spine-tingling stories. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

The bad beginning by Lemony Snicket

After the sudden death of their parents, the three Baudelaire children must depend on each other and their wits when it turns out that the distant relative who is appointed their guardian is determined to use any means necessary to get their fortune. Kicks off The Series of Unfortunate Events.

Anastasia, nearly eleven, is snatched from her elementary school and sent to live at a former insane asylum with two great aunts she had never met after being told that her parents died in a tragic vacuum cleaner accident.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

John Roy Lynch spent most of his childhood as a slave in Mississippi, but all of that changed with the Emancipation Proclamation. Suddenly people like John Roy could have paying jobs and attend school. While many people in the South were unhappy with the social change, John Roy thrived in the new era.

The story of Black Elk brings to life what it was like to be Native American in the mid-to-late 19th century and early 20th century. The Native people found their land overrun by the Wha-shi-choos, or White Man, the buffalo slaughtered for sport and to purposely eliminate their main food source, and their people gathered onto reservations. Through it all, Black Elk clung to his childhood visions that planted the seeds to help people understand their place in the circle of life.

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

 

Interested in reading a story that takes place in a different time period? Try checking out one of these historic tales. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

All-of-a-kind family by Sydney Taylor

Follow the adventures of five sisters growing up in a Jewish family in New York in the early twentieth century.

Bo-Bo's cave of gold by Pamela Berkman

In 1852 California, stray mutt Bo-Bo and his friend, ten-year-old gold prospector Sheng, must risk great danger seeking a rumored treasure after Bo-bo's kindness leads Sheng into debt.

 

Put on your detective cap and get sleuthing with one of these mystery stories.  Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Edward "Egg" Garrison and his friends are on a field trip to watch the local minor league baseball team, but a theft at the concession stand is delaying the game, so the four sixth-grade detectives decide to investigate.

Though scoffed at by Harold the dog, Chester the cat tries to warn his human family that their foundling baby bunny must be a vampire.

 

Looking for a good read in a comic book format? Try checking out one of these daring graphic novels. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

At last, Jedi by artist Jarrett Krosoczka

When an unexpected meeting on Coruscant gives Christina Starspeeder a chance to return back to her old school, she soon discover there was a giant prison break and Goonga the Hutt, her dad, is free.

Bad Kitty joins the team by illustrator Nick Bruel

Kitty is terribly out of shape and when Kitty's owner catches her wheezing, she is told that it is time to exercise, but it will take a lot of convincing and a bit of trickery to get Kitty into the competitive spirit.

 

Looking for action, adventure, or survival? Try checking out one of these daring tales. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Balto of the Blue Dawn by Mary Pope Osborne

Jack and Annie travel back in time to 1925 Nome, Alaska, where they meet Balto, the famous sled dog, and help save the town from illness.

Breakout by Tracey West

Ninja of Earth, Cole, and Zane the titanium ninja help the other captured Elemental Masters break out of Chen's palace, where they've been stripped of their powers and have been forced to work in a noodle factory.

 

Looking for something to read that will tickle your funny bone?  Try one of these humorous books.  Some titles will give you a chuckle, while others will make you burst out with laughter.  Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Anyone but me by Nancy E Krulik

Third-grader Katie Carew gains insight into the mind of the class bully when she is magically transformed into a hamster--an animal the bully fears.

Over the summer, Andrea and A.J. are sent to Camp Ockatollyquay, a camp to get kids ready for school! But not to worry—Andrea and A.J. rally the Ella Mentry School gang to end their summer on a note they'll never forget.

 

Looking for superheroes like Wonder Woman and Spider-Man? Try checking out one of these super-powered stories. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Attack of the cheetah by Jane B. Mason

When a cheetah exhibit opens at the National Zoo in Washington, D.C., Princess Diana (alias Wonder Woman) arrives to witness the event. When the rare cats suddenly escape, it's up to Diana to capture the cats and figure out why they are behaving strangely.

Battle of the Blue Lanterns by Michael Vincent Acampora

After helping Green Lantern Hal Jordan against the Manhunters, members of the Blue Lantern Corps want him to give up his green ring and join the Blue Lanterns...or suffer the consequences.

 

Explore this selection of books either about Michigan or written by authors with ties to Michigan. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Catastrophe in Caseville by Johnathan Rand

When Shelby McConnell and her family travel to Caseville, Michigan, for the annual cheeseburger festival, she knows she's going to have to have a great time. After all, thousands of people travel to Caseville for this special annual event every year.  But this year, the first day of the festival is marred by the appearance of a mysterious, giant cheeseburger that sets out to destroy the festival and the entire town!

An eleven-year-old New York farm girl travels with her parents to the Michigan Territory in 1836 by way of the Erie Canal, encountering unknown dangers and incredible hardships.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - third grade