May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Some mostly modern fiction to enjoy during these questionable times. 

Have you read all of the stories about a certain curious little monkey? Looking for some more fun reads? Check out this list of books that are like Curious George and even has some that are maybe a little different.

Secret pizza party by 1983- Adam Rubin
Boston's massacre by Eric Hinderaker

On the night of March 5, 1770, British soldiers fired into a crowd gathered in front of Boston's Custom House, killing five people. Denounced as an act of unprovoked violence and villainy, the event that came to be known as the Boston Massacre is one of the most familiar incidents in American history, yet one of the least understood. Eric Hinderaker revisits this dramatic episode, examining in forensic detail the facts of that fateful night, the competing narratives that molded public perceptions at the time, and the long campaign afterward to transform the tragedy into a touchstone of American identity.

Realistic fiction is just like it sounds, fiction that could actually happen or seems plausible. Wonder by R. J. Palacio is a prime example of this genre. Realistic fiction can take place in the current time, or from times past. This type of realistic fiction is referred to as historical. An example of a popular historical fiction novel is The War that Saved my Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. These days books written for Middle-Grade readers are better than ever now, with many authors touching on topics that are timely and could have been borrowed from headlines past and present. Below are some new novels in this genre, as well as some backlist bumps toward the bottom.  

Planet Earth is blue by Nicole Panteleakos

Autistic and nearly nonverbal, twelve-year-old Nova is happy in her new foster home and school, but eagerly anticipates the 1986 Challenger launch, for which her sister, Bridget, promised to return

Nowhere boy by Katherine Marsh

 

Fourteen-year-old Ahmed, a Syrian refugee living on his own in Brussels, Belgium, meets Max, a thirteen-year-old American boy, and the two form an important friendship

Young Adult dystopian books remain popular. Dystopian novels are set in an alternate setting that can have similarities to the world we know. Many of the books and seem to focus on female protagonists and give attention to intersections involving race, gender, power and empowerment, sexuality, class, and social justice issues. Though these novels are set in a fictional future, some of them seem eerily familiar and not too far fetched. We are going to start with newer titles below, and then there are some backlist bumps near the bottom. Enjoy! 

Newer Dystopian:

Leyla McQueen, who lives beneath the ruins of a submerged London in 2099, joins a prestigious submersible race in the hope of clearing her father's name before encountering government corruption and a hidden world. 

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are the "Oscars" of the comics world. Check below to access eBook or borrow print copies of many award nominees. Visit the San Diego Comic-Con site for the complete list of nominees

Best Continuing Series

Do you love bright, rainbow-hued clothes? Have you ever wanted to know how to create those bold patterns yourself? Yes? Oh good! Step right up to the Tie Dye square on your 62 Days 62 Ways map and let's get started.

 

When you finish, head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

By The Book

Dancer in Brazil by Diego Rosa on Unsplash.jpg

 

 

Looking for inspiration to start your next dance party? Maybe you just need a rest from an endless succession of dance breaks?

Try some of the dance-themed reads listed below. Those intended for older audiences are further down. Those at the beginning might be appreciated by all ages.

And of course, there are always more dance books to be found in our library catalog. Use the search options to browse our collections, you can use keywords and subject headings to find different lists of items to browse. You can also ask a librarian for assistance.

Flora and the peacocks by Molly Schaar Idle
Also available in: e-book

In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a little girl named Flora forms a friendship with two peacocks as the three learn to dance together. You can find Flora in many other books if you can't get enough. She's also on Hoopla.

Pages