Enrollment for a 2020 health insurance plan starts on November 1st. Individuals can renew their insurance plan or sign up for a new one until December 15th at healthcare.gov/

Need a computer to sign up? No problem! We have many computers with internet access that are free to use.

 

Note: Library staff can help get you started but we are unable to assist you in selecting an appropriate health care plan that fits your needs. 

Did you binge watch Looking For Alaska on Hulu? Already read the book it's based on? Try a book similar to John Green's novel below. 

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

For your convenience, here is a printable list of our November programs. Please note the library's closure on November 28 and 29. 

This weekend we fall back to Eastern Standard Time, EST, as Daylight Saving Time, DST, ends on Sunday, November 3rd at 2:00 AM. Move your clocks back one hour to gain an extra hour. In addition, take time to change those smoke detector batteries and check carbon monoxide detectors to protect your family and home.

Today is the perfect day for some chocolate. Canton Public Library has you covered with books on many aspects of the cacao bean from its history to recipes. We even have fiction in which chocolate plays an important role. Check out these offerings: 

Beans to chocolate by 1963- Sarah Ridley

Everyone loves chocolate, but do you know where it comes from and how it ends up on supermarket shelves? Follow the story of chocolate through the farming process to manufacturing. 

Chocolate hits all the right sweet--and bitter--notes: cutting-edge genetic science whisked in with a strong social conscience, history, and culture yield one thought-provoking look into one of the world's most popular foods. Readers who savored Chew on This and Food, Inc. and lovers of chocolate will relish this fascinating read.

Do you love cats? If so, then today's your day! It's National Cat Day on October 29! National Cat Day brings awareness to the countless number of cats in shelters who need a forever home. So if you're thinking of adding a fur baby to your family, check out these books from our pet collection! And consider adopting your four-legged friend from a local rescue like the Michigan Orphan Kitten Rescue!

For fans of Grumpy Cat and Cats on Instagram there's a new cat in town--Bailey, No Ordinary Cat--of the Facebook name, is a special cat with a growing fan base, garnering over 2 million views on Ellen's Instagram and videos that have been shared by Good Morning America, ABC News, CBS News, and more. What makes Bailey more addictive than catnip? In addition to his adorable expressions and his hilarious, heartfelt antics, Bailey has a penchant for doing things that are characteristically uncatlike--things like taking bubble baths (and enjoying them), sitting attentively in a chair and being read to (for hours), getting a pet -icure, and his unending patience while co-raising his human siblings Abby and Hannah (yes, there is photographic evidence that Bailey helped with potty-training). If you have a cat you know how independent they are. Bailey, No Ordinary Cat celebrates the unique quirky spirit of this unforgettable feline through four-color photographs and captions from the voice of Bailey himself. Cat lovers will be delighted to peek into the life of their favorite celebrity cat with the huge eyes, huge heart, and huge personality--and an ever-growing following.

We learn so much from our feline friends, and along the way they keep us company, provide unconditional love, and share in the ups and downs of our lives. What do we learn from our cats? Everything. Our cats make us better people. If we rescued them, they rescue us back. If we're sad, they comfort us. If we need to have more fun, they show us how. They are our therapists, our role models, and our best friends. You'll laugh a lot, tear up at times, and nod your head in recognition as you read these tales about the wonderful experience of sharing life with a cat. Life lessons from our cats come in many forms, from the hilarious to the heroic. You'll enjoy a wide variety in these 101 entertaining stories.

Recycling Raccoons

Confused about what you can recycle and how? Meet the Recycling Raccoon Squad! Their mission is to help Michigan "recycle better, smarter, more efficiently and more adorably." On their website you will find a clear set of simple recycling rules for you to follow that will help you become a better recycler including a handy reference sheet.

Family Storytime Battle

Who will win? Dinosaurs or Unicorns in this Storytime Battle! Come join us for a special edition of family storytime and cheer for your favorite! Participants of all ages and abilities, along with their caregivers, will listen to stories, sing songs, dance to music, and create a craft that matches the theme. 

  • No Registration Required
  • Craft supplies while last

Upcoming sessions

Saturday, December 28 - 10:00 AM to 11:00 AM Community Room Dinosaurs VS. Unicorns

Pages