Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

Daniel X returns

If you loved The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson, you have probably been waiting for the next book in the series. Daniel X: Watch The Skies is here! Don't forget to add your name to the hold list so you get it as soon as it is available.

Secret History Lessons

James Ellroy, the "Demon Dog of American Crime Fiction", is probably best known as the writer behind the novel "LA Confidential" which was turned into a 1997 Academy Award nominated film. While LA Confidential is a fantastic novel (even better than the stellar film), it's not Ellroy's strongest work, at least not in this writer's opinion.

Are You Geektastic?

Geekt.preview.jpgIf you've been waiting for a chance to celebrate your inner (or outer) geek, check out this collection of short stories and comics put together by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci. From Star Wars to Star Trek, gaming, T.V. shows, drama club, and more, a variety of your favorite authors tackle the geek world (and admit they are from it). As a former marching band geek who went through the TAG program, Geektastic is the book I didn't know I was waiting for.

2009 Michigan Reads book is....

The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen!

"Deep in the water
where the fish hang out
lives a glum, gloomy swimmer
with an ever-present pout."

Can anything cheer up this bummed out fish? Will he ever get over his case of the "blubs"?? For a rollicking good read be sure to check out "The Pout-Pout Fish"!

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

New Gujarati Books

Over 100 new Gujarati titles are being put on the shelves today. Fiction titles include: Nahīntara by Yogeśa Joshī and Ūḍatāṃ pataṅgiyāṃ by Bakula Dave. Nonfiction titles include: Mejīka opha vejīṭeriyana kūkarī : sampūrṇa śākāhārī vānagīo, sāndu bhojana hoya ke bhavya pārṭī ā rasasabhara pustaka potāno jādu karaśe by Nainā Ḍôkaṭar and Umbare pragaṭāvīe koḍiyuṃ by Suśīlā Mekavānaa.

Happy Birthday, Ann M. Martin!

Ann M. Martin, one of my all-time favorite authors, is celebrating her 54th birthday today. Stop by the CPL to check out one of her many awesome books. From the Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels, to the Main Street series, there's plenty to keep you busy. For further information on Ann, you can even check out her website. Happy reading!

New German Books

Our German language books are starting to arrive. There will be more, but the first three to get here are: Eine exklusive Liebe by Johanna Adorján, Macho man by  Moritz Netenjakob, and Mangelexemplar by Sarah Kuttner. They are going on the shelf today, so come in and check them out!

Wacky Festival Alert!

August 7-9 marks the 34th Annual Twins Day Festival, held in Twinsburg, OH. This yearly festival is the world's largest gathering of twins according to the Guinness Book of World Records. Even if you aren't a twin and won't be attending this festival, why not enjoy your own Twins Day celebration with some of our fabulous fictional stories about twins. My favorite is Avi and Rachel Vail's Never Mind! A Twin Novel. Happy Reading!

African American Romance Authors

The following list highlights just a few of the great authors writing romances with African American characters. Each of these authors is currently publishing, so with one click you can find hot new titles.

Stinky Fun!

Is your little listener finishing up their reading log for the summer? Need one more book to read? I Stink! by Kate and Jim McMullan is sure to entice your child to sit and listen to this fun and stinky story! Told by the ruff and gruff garbage truck himself, the story follows the garbage truck's important job while also reinforcing the alphabet - the garbage truck loves to eat Apple cores, Banana peels, Candy wrappers...Parents will also love to read it because the creative wording will let them have fun reading in their very best garbage truck voice!

Third Strike

William G. Tapply, author of the Boston lawyer-turned crime-solver Brady Coyne mystery series, died of leukemia Tuesday, July 28 at his Hancock, NH home. He was 69. He was known also for his collected essays, a book about his father, and his articles and columns in "Field & Stream" and other magazines. Mr. Tapply had also introduced a new series featuring Stoney Calhoun in 2004. The third book in this series will be published posthumously, this fall.

Suspense, Drama and Fantasy

Looking for suspenseful books like the Da Vinci Code? Do you also like the drama and fantasy in Twilight or the Harry Potter series--and think they are great books for adults as well? Here's a list of Adult and Young Adult titles for you to try. Most of them are nice, long reads because once you find a good book, you don't want it to end too soon! Also take a look at our Teen Librarian's suggestions.

In the Shadow of Gotham

In the Shadow of Gotham, Stefanie Pintoff's debut, won the first Minotaur Books/MWA Best First Crime Novel award. It's the Twentieth Century and crime detection has begun to take advantage of the new sciences available: fingerprints, profiling. Detective Simon Ziele has moved to Dobson, a small town in New York's Westchester county, a train-ride from New York City, following the tragic death of his fiance in the wreck of the steamship General Slocum in 1904. Ziele had been one of the NYC detectives called to scene to rescue survivors, but he was unable to save Rachel, his fiance.

Popular Author E. Lynn Harris Dies at 54

Born in Flint, Michigan, Harris was a New York Times bestselling author. He was best known for his novels portraying African American men.

New Vietnamese Books

New titles in Vietnamese are coming in to the library. Out on the shelf today are two books by the ever popular Quynh Dao: n b̀ơ quạnh hiu and Ch´ơp b̂̉e mưa ngûòn. And more titles are on the way!

From Page to Stage

I always enjoy movie adaptations of favorite books. Even when I don't agree with the director's interpretation of the work (the end of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince had me downright angry!) there is a special magic in seeing beloved characters come to life on screen. If you also enjoy books and their film adapations, here's a list for you.

Atonement: Book / DVD

If you like Tami Hoag...

with strong female characters and edge-of-your-seat suspense, try these titles and authors:    

Blackest Night

Green Lantern has gotten a huge revitalization from Geoff Johns as it takes on an epic, action charged quality where heroes clash and sometimes die on a grand scale. Take a look at the Sinestro Corps Wars books and the newly recieved Rage of the Red Lanterns. It's all building up to the mega event Blackest Night, and it's got the DC fan base in a frenzy of anticipation. Check it out.

Riveting Medical Thrillers

Medical thrillers come in all genres!  If you like Dean Koontz and Michael Chrichton, give these books a try: