Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

If you like Rosamunde Pilcher...

you may also want to try

If you like Jacqueline Winspear...

and her Maisie Dobbs mystery series featuring a British woman-detective set between World Wars I and II then you might also enjoy these titles,

New Telugu Books

We are putting new Telugu books on the shelf today. Cookbooks are always popular, so you might like to take a look at Veraiṭī vaṇṭalu : najarānālu, ciṭkālu by Kūturu Nīrajādēvi. Or take a look at the new fiction titles, including: Ṭēkiṭ ījī by Embīyas Prasād and Kōrikalē gurrālaitē by Ḍi. Kāmēśvari.

Sisters in Crime Announce Davitt Awards

This year 39 crime books competed for the Davitt Awards which were set up by Sisters in Crime in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of Australian women crime writers. Justice Betty King presented the awards to a crowd of 140 at the Celtic Club. For the third year running, the awards were sponsored by the Victoria Police Museum.

Beautiful Place To Die (PanMacmillan), the debut novel by Sydney-based filmmaker turned crime writer, Malla Nunn, tonight won Sisters in Crime’s Davitt Awards for the best (adult) crime novel by an Australian woman in 2008.

Blue Mountains writer Catherine Jinks took out the Davitt (young adult) for Genius Squad (Allen & Unwin)

"Story of Image #1" by Teen Creative Writer Helen Zhou

25 talented Canton teens attended our Teen Creative Writing class this Summer. The class, graciously taught by Linda Papa, met five Saturdays from June to August. The end result was some wonderful writing, which we continue to share with you with the piece, "Story of Image #1," by Helen Zhou.

Fantasy With a Little Romance On the Side

Do you like fantasy fiction with a little love thrown in for fun? Try these suggestions for a different side to fantasy fiction:

Teens' Top Ten

Voting for the Teens' Top Ten is now open! Give your favorite book props by voting here anytime until September 18th.

"The After Thanksgiving Sale" by Teen Creative Writer Mona Patel

25 talented Canton teens attended our Teen Creative Writing class this Summer. The class, graciously taught by Linda Papa, met five Saturdays from June to August. The end result was some wonderful writing, which we have the pleasure of sharing with you. This first piece, "The After Thanksgiving Sale," is by Mona Patel.

Photo and other original work (in audio and print) courtesy of Mona Patel and licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License

Shamus Award Nominees Announced

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the nominees for the 28th. Annual Shamus Awards on Friday. Eleven of the fifteen novels nominated are available at our library. Which book(s) do you choose for the three categories: Best Hardcover, Best First PI Novel, and Best Paperbook?

To Be Read

I recently 'stumbled' upon Goodreads and added it to my list of websites for TBR [To Be Read] suggestions. Of course, that's the whole idea of this blog, so when a request for historical mysteries writers came up, these authors immediately came to mind: Alys Clare, Peter Tremayne, Margaret Frazer, Ariana Franklin, and Alan Gordon.

Pick Up Some Historical Fiction

Every August I look forward to the Ypsilanti Heritage Festival! There's lots of cool crafts for sale, yummy fair food, and a living history area where you can see how 19th century Michiganders lived. Whenever the festival comes, it always makes me want to pick up a good piece of Civil War historical fiction. My favorites are the ones by Ann Rinaldi. She even wrote one about a girl from Michigan who runs off to join the Union Army during the Civil War. There's a ton to choose from at the library, so stop by and give one a try. Happy reading!

Green Reads

Did you notice that a lot of new books feature stories about the environment? Even some of our favorite characters are "going green". Check out these titles to see what I mean:

SpongeBob goes green!: an earth-friendly adventure by Molly Reisner; illustrated by Stephen Reed

OK go by Carin Berger

Cam Jansen and the green school mystery by David A. Adler; illustrated by Joy Allen

Just Grace goes green by written and illustrated by Charise Mericle Harper

Enter the earth by Lee Welles; illustrated by Ann Hameister

Scat by Carl Hiaasen

My life in pink & green by Lisa Greenwald

New Tamil Books

Almost two dozen Tamil books are being put on the shelf this afternoon. Fiction titles include: Eṉṉuyirāy nīyirukka- by Ār. Makēsvari and Oṟṟaiyaṭip pātai by Kaṇṇaṉ Kiruṣṇaṉ. Nonfiction titles include: Kāṣmīr by Cantiraṉ and Jōtiṭam piṟanta katai by Vē. Laṭcumaṇaṉ. And there will be more coming soon!

New Arabic Books

We are starting to receive our new Arabic language books. Books being put on the shelf today include the fiction title Zaman al-khuyūl al-bayḍāʼ by Ibrāhīm Naṣrallāh and nonfiction such as al-Salaṭāt al-shahiyah by iʻdād Līnah Shbārū Bayḍūn, et al. Come in and check them out!

Daniel X returns

If you loved The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson, you have probably been waiting for the next book in the series. Daniel X: Watch The Skies is here! Don't forget to add your name to the hold list so you get it as soon as it is available.

Secret History Lessons

James Ellroy, the "Demon Dog of American Crime Fiction", is probably best known as the writer behind the novel "LA Confidential" which was turned into a 1997 Academy Award nominated film. While LA Confidential is a fantastic novel (even better than the stellar film), it's not Ellroy's strongest work, at least not in this writer's opinion.

Are You Geektastic?

Geekt.preview.jpgIf you've been waiting for a chance to celebrate your inner (or outer) geek, check out this collection of short stories and comics put together by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci. From Star Wars to Star Trek, gaming, T.V. shows, drama club, and more, a variety of your favorite authors tackle the geek world (and admit they are from it). As a former marching band geek who went through the TAG program, Geektastic is the book I didn't know I was waiting for.

2009 Michigan Reads book is....

The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen!

"Deep in the water
where the fish hang out
lives a glum, gloomy swimmer
with an ever-present pout."

Can anything cheer up this bummed out fish? Will he ever get over his case of the "blubs"?? For a rollicking good read be sure to check out "The Pout-Pout Fish"!

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."