Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

Terry Pratchett's Nation Dramatized

In October the UK's Guardian hosted a contest for young readers to turn Terry Pratchett's Nation into a dramatization. The winners have just been announced. I couldn't help thinking that more books should be made into movies by fans... especially because these homemade films are amazing. Take a look at the winners and get the low down on this unusual contest.

The Christmas Penguin

Rollie the penguin has one Christmas wish: to be able to fly, just like a reindeer! But penguins can't fly - even though they're birds. On Christmas Eve, Santa Claus asks Rollie to help him deliver toys to all the children. Even though Rollie can't fly, there's something else he can do that most other birds can't.  Find out what that is when a bag of toys drops from Santa's sleigh and it's up to Rollie to save the day!

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Reading Rants! Top Ten In 2009

Christmas LOL

During the Christmas season, lots of people get so busy and stressed with everything that has to be done. Just a few minutes with a funny Christmas book, can really be a great break. The Christmas scrapbook: a harmony story by Philip Gulley can make you laugh out loud, which is always good. It will get you in shape for doing your ho, ho, ho's during the Christmas season.

   

Chicken Dance

Have you ever ho-hummed your way through the Chicken Dance at a wedding or birthday party? Do you prefer if people don't step on your blue suede shoes? If so, you will enjoy the book Chicken Dance. There is going to be a talent show in the barn. The winner will receive tickets to see Elvis Poultry live! Chickens Marge and Lola are besides themselves with desire to win, but how can they when the ducks win every year? The chickens discover that sometimes, just doing what you always do can really get you places. For a humourous read, curl up with Chicken Dance, and if it gets you all shook up, it might be a good time to introduce your kids to Elvis Presley and transform your living room into your very own dance party!

December: Tis the season for...

Holiday Romance Anthologies! Popular authors serve up frothy holiday fun in these seasonal short story collections. Mary Balogh, Nicola Cornick, and Courtney Milan penned stories for The heart of Christmas. That holiday feeling is written by perennial favorites Debbie Macomber, Sherryl Woods, and Robyn Carr. Find more tinsel-filled tales in a variety of genres under Christmas stories.

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Horse Sense

There's nothing better on cold, snowy days than curling up under a blanket with a mug of hot cocoa and a good book. If you're in need of any good reads to curl up with, keep in mind that Saturday, December 12, is National Day of the Horse. There's no shortage of horse books available at the library.

Where are the Puppet Kits?

puppet kit hedgie Just where did those puppet kits go? They are having their tags replaced but will be back out soon, and ready for checkout. Keep your eyes peeled and enjoy!

2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Elm Creek Quilts

If you like to listen to an audio book and quilt at the same time then Jennifer Chiaverini's Elm Creek quilt novels is your answer. The series has 14 books and in all the books the story and the art of quilting are neatly stiched. You can learn more about the quilts discussed in those stories by going into Jennifer Chiaverini's web site at http://elmcreek.net. The Winding Ways quilt pattern is easily explained in Nancy Elliott MacDonald's book Winding Ways Quilts A practically Pinless Approach.

January 21 and Dewey

Busy Moms Book Club has been canceled for the December 17th meeting. Please join us on Thursday, January 21st at 11:00AM in the Children's Library Purple Room for friendship and a fun discussion! Our selection is Dewey: the Small Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. A film adaptation of this best-seller starring Meryl Streep is heading to the big screen around Christmas 2010.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

May we suggest titles for those who enjoy Ken Follett

Follett writes on a wide range of subjects, from espionage suspense stories to chronicling the building of a medieval church. There are a assortment of appealing aspects to choose from with Follett's books:

2009 in Books

Rex SorgatzEvery year, hundreds of people and organizations put together lists of picks for the most notable happenings of the year. One man, Rex Sorgatz, has assembled a "meta-list," or list of lists, for the last 8 years. 2009 is no exception.

Aside from Rex's list, you may also be interested in Eat Me Daily's Best Cookbooks of 2009 Roundup. The "Best Horizon-Expander," Vefa's Kitchen, is available here at CPL.

Lastly, the history community lost a great cultural scholar, Ronald T. Takaki. Harry Allen has written a heartfelt obituary that mentions Dr. Takaki's book, A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America.

Comic X Novel = Malice

This book may be one of the craziest, most inventive things I've seen lately. Chris Wooding, author of Storm Thief, breaks some new gound with his book Malice. Half of the story is fiction and half is graphic novel, and the main characters travel between the two in a weird, fascinating mix. A few have tried this risky move and failed, but Wooding pulls it off with a story revolving around a comic book that you can go inside if you know the right ritual. Menacing things happen there, of course, once you do... This book is unique, and even has an eye-popping, raised cover image. Just, cool.

Year 2009 Top Fiction Picks

Benny and Shrimp by Kate Mazetti. Can two lonely middle-aged misfits, a widowed librarian and a bachelor milk farmer, find love in such a complicated relationship? Find out in this refreshingly fun and quirky Swedish bestseller.

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barberry

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Going Away Shoes: Stories by Jill McCorkle

Half-Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeanette Walls

Homeland by Barbara Hambly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.