Catalog

Search our Catalog

Fiction

Fiction books

Poetry-Fiction

Edgar Allan's official crime investigation notebook by Mary Amato — There's a thief at Wordsworth Elementary School and Edgar is determined to find out who it is! But this thief doesn't just stop with the classroom goldfish. Soon other classroom items disappear, and the culprit is leaving poems behind for clues. A fun mystery that will surprise readers at how much fun poetry can be.

Book Club Choices: December 2011

The perfect book for a book discussion is one that's not too easy, not too hard, that will hold the interest of a diverse group of readers and will also inspire a lively discussion. For additional book club resources check out CPL's Book Club in a Bag kits.

The true memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

The tiger's wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: April 25, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, April 25 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. Our book for April is:

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs — A heartfelt novel about female friendship and the experiences that knit us together — even when we least expect it.




Copies will be available at the March 28 Canton Seniors Book Discussion or ask for a copy following the March meeting at the Adult Department's Help Desk.

Jesmyn Ward Winner of National Book Award

Salvage the bones: a novel by Jesmyn Ward was announced on Wednesday as the winner of the National Book Award for fiction. The novel — about a poor, rural African American family living in Mississippi and facing obstacles no less then Hurricane Katrina — was considered "a long shot, at best" to win the prestigious award according to a CNN article. Ward, herself a Katrina survivior, was surprised and delighted. Now on the radar, critics are quickly praising it as a "classical tragedy."

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: February 22, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, February 22 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. February's selection is:

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson — In 1956, toward the end of Reverend John Ames's life, he begins a letter to his young son, an account of himself and his forebears, a pacifist father and an ardent abolitionist, his grandfather.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: January 25, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, January 25 from 2:00-3:00 PM in CPL Group Study Room A. This month we are reading:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón — Eleven year old Daniel’s quest through the secrets and shadows of postwar Barcelona for a mysterious author whose book has proved as dangerous to own as it is impossible to forget. He discovers that someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book this author has written.

Check at the Help Desk for an available copy of The Shadow of the Wind.

Smoke and Bone

Daughter of smoke & bone by Laini Taylor takes the paranormal romance genre and serves it up with a mad-cap creativity all its own. If I explained the plot it might sound ordinary: Tough as nails girl with unknown parents. Mysterious angel figure. Girl consorts with demons (or does she?). Forbidden romance ensues. But trust me, it's not ordinary. Scorpion mice, a wishmonger looking for teeth, castles inside of a cage. This is a fast paced read that is wholly original with a heroine that's easy to root for. My only complaint is that it ends just as it gets rolling, and the sequel's not out yet.

Book Club Choices: November 2011

Has your book group considered reading a book and watching the movie?

The good earth [videodisc] by A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture

The good earth [kit] by Pearl S. Buck; introduced and edited by Peter Conn

To kill a mockingbird [kit] by Harper Lee

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

National Book Awards 2011

The National Book Awards 2011 will be webcast live from New York City on Wednesday, November 16 at 8:00 PM. Actor, author, and musician John Lithgow will host this year's award ceremony. No registration necessary. Check the National Book Foundation's website for more information.

New Japanese Books

Come in and take a look at the great new Japanese books we've added to the collection in 2011. Recently received titles include:

Inemuri sensei by Ijūin Shizuka

Idai naru shurarabon by Makime Manabu

Banbatsuki by Miyabe Miyuki

Sanpi ryōron kasahara masahiro no gohan no tomo 110: Kantansugiru umasugiru by Kasahara Masahiro

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 16, 2011

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet one week earlier this month on Wednesday, November 16 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. This month's reading selection is:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett — In pitch perfect voices, Katheryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women — mothers, daughters, caregivers, and friends — view each other.

Reddit's Favorite Books

Reddit, a social sharing site that bills itself as "the front page of the internet," might be the last place you'd look for book suggestions. Then again, it might be the last place you'd look for random acts of pizza, daily learning, or help with "tip of my tongue" questions, but those are examples of vibrant niches (called subreddits) on the site. Some book-related subreddits include: r/books, r/bookclub, r/booksuggestions, and r/bookexchange. Check out the top 50 of reddit's favorite books, available here at CPL:

The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy by Douglas Adams

1984: a novel by George Orwell; with an afterword by Erich Fromm

Dune by Frank Herbert

Slaughterhouse-five, or, The children's crusade: a duty- dance with death by Kurt Vonnegut

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan

Thanksgiving Reads

Pick up some easy-to-read books to get in the spirit of giving thanks. Below are some suggested titles that can be found in the Readers section in our Children's Department. Happy Thanksgiving!

The first Thanksgiving by Linda Hayward ; illustrated by James Watling



Pardon that turkey : how thanksgiving became a holiday by Susan Sloate ; illustrated by Christian Slade

Once Upon a River

Once upon a river : a novel by Bonnie Jo Campbell — What if we were left to discover life, love and the world on our own at a very young age with no preconceived socially-defined rights and wrongs? This is one of the questions that Bonnie Jo Campbell will force you to ponder. The protagonist is 16-year-old Margo who sets out in a flat-bottomed teak rowboat on the Stark River in southwestern Michigan to find her mother, who has abandoned the family. Margo fashions herself after her hero, Annie Oakley, which adds a sense of timelessness to the novel — although unbelievably it is set in 1970. Margo sustains herself, and in fact thrives, in the face of every sort of adversity through a combination of courage, stubbornness and savvy. This novel is not, however, for the faint of heart.

New Books in Kannada

Our 2011 books in Kannada are on the shelf and waiting to be checked out. Titles include:

Citādanta : [rōcaka kādambari] by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya

Ivarellarū Bhārata ratna ru by Ji. Eṃ. Kr̥ṣṇamūrti

Kathā samaya : purāṇa jagattina beragina kathegaḷu by Jōgi

Nēhala : kathegaḷu by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya