May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

November is the time to recognize family caregivers who devote countless, unpaid hours to providing essential personal care to relatives and loved ones who cannot care for themselves. If you're a family caregiver, you are not alone. More than 65 million Americans are taking care of aging or disabled family members. The value of all that combined unpaid caregiving work adds up to an estimated $375 billion! Family caregivers balance the demand of jobs, careers, and raising children to provide care, comfort and compassion to their aging or disabled loved one. The cost of caregiving not only impacts a family's budget, but the stress can take its toll too. Thank you to all those family caregivers! Your community appreciates you. Need to learn more? Check out these resources on caregiving. 

Alzheimers books should help everyone involved through this incredibly difficult time. That's why Alzheimer's Through the Stages shows you what you can do for your loved one--and yourself--every step of the way. This book's detailed descriptions of all seven stages of the disease are both helpful and comforting. With each section divided into three parts--what to expect, what to say, and what to do--this is one of the easiest to use Alzheimers books for caregivers.

From cherished memories of weekends she spent as a child with her indulgent Nana to the reality of the year she spent "ladysitting" her now frail grandmother, Lorene Cary journeys through stories of their time together and five generations of their African American family. Brilliantly weaving a narrative of her complicated yet transformative relationship with Nana--a fierce, stubborn, and independent woman, who managed a business until she was 100--Cary looks at Nana's impulse to control people and fate, from the early death of her mother and oppression in the Jim Crow South to living on her own in her New Jersey home.

Cary knew there might be some reckonings to come. Nana was a force: Her obstinacy could come out in unanticipated ways--secretly getting a driver's license to show up her husband, carrying on a longtime feud with Cary's father. But Nana could also be devoted: to Nana's father, to black causes, and--Cary had thought--to her grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Facing the inevitable end raises tensions, with Cary drawing on her spirituality and Nana consoling herself with late-night sweets and the loyalty of caregivers. When Nana doubts Cary's dedication, Cary must go deeper into understanding this complicated woman. In Ladysitting, Cary captures the ruptures, love, and, perhaps, forgiveness that can occur in a family as she bears witness to her grandmother's 101 vibrant years of life.

 

Did you miss our Yeti Storytime this week? Don't worry, here's what you missed, plus a few more suggestions so you can create your own chilly storytime at home, complete with songs and stories.

Don't need a full storytime? Borrow a rhyme when you need a short distraction, or check out these materials and spend a few minutes reading together.

From Storytime

Henry and the yeti by Russell Ayto

Young Henry persuades his school principal and his father to let him go on an expedition to find a yeti, provided he brings back proof and does not stay up too late.

In 1990, President George H.W. Bush declared the month of November as "National American Indian Heritage Month", which has come to be commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month. By either name it is a time of "recognition for the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S." The Library's collection is a great place to look for materials about Native Americans and their place in our country's history.

Do you love cats? If so, then today's your day! It's National Cat Day on October 29! National Cat Day brings awareness to the countless number of cats in shelters who need a forever home. So if you're thinking of adding a fur baby to your family, check out these books from our pet collection! And consider adopting your four-legged friend from a local rescue like the Michigan Orphan Kitten Rescue!

For fans of Grumpy Cat and Cats on Instagram there's a new cat in town--Bailey, No Ordinary Cat--of the Facebook name, is a special cat with a growing fan base, garnering over 2 million views on Ellen's Instagram and videos that have been shared by Good Morning America, ABC News, CBS News, and more. What makes Bailey more addictive than catnip? In addition to his adorable expressions and his hilarious, heartfelt antics, Bailey has a penchant for doing things that are characteristically uncatlike--things like taking bubble baths (and enjoying them), sitting attentively in a chair and being read to (for hours), getting a pet -icure, and his unending patience while co-raising his human siblings Abby and Hannah (yes, there is photographic evidence that Bailey helped with potty-training). If you have a cat you know how independent they are. Bailey, No Ordinary Cat celebrates the unique quirky spirit of this unforgettable feline through four-color photographs and captions from the voice of Bailey himself. Cat lovers will be delighted to peek into the life of their favorite celebrity cat with the huge eyes, huge heart, and huge personality--and an ever-growing following.

We learn so much from our feline friends, and along the way they keep us company, provide unconditional love, and share in the ups and downs of our lives. What do we learn from our cats? Everything. Our cats make us better people. If we rescued them, they rescue us back. If we're sad, they comfort us. If we need to have more fun, they show us how. They are our therapists, our role models, and our best friends. You'll laugh a lot, tear up at times, and nod your head in recognition as you read these tales about the wonderful experience of sharing life with a cat. Life lessons from our cats come in many forms, from the hilarious to the heroic. You'll enjoy a wide variety in these 101 entertaining stories.

If you enjoyed reading about Blaire Wilson, the American Girl of the Year 2019, you might enjoy these other books about local farming and food, and community service.

Fiction

Gabriela Rivera is a sixth-grader with a serious peanut allergy, lots of artistic talent, one friend at her school, and a total lack of self-confidence--but when she meets Daisy, the owner and baker at Daisy's Desserts, who makes allergy free treats, she finally starts to gain some confidence in her own considerable abilities.

Even though Halloween can be a scary time, storytime is a great place to explore Spooky but not Scary stories. There are so many great options out there. Be sure to check them out and watch out for ghosts!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

Sometimes we can't just travel to another place instantly. However, thanks to Storytime, we can travel to many other places just by turning the page and reading a book. Enjoy taking your next trip with these great books!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

 

The eighties were a time of patience and not one of instant gratification. Take the 80s TV shows. You actually had to wait a whole week and watch the next episode of Dallas to find out who shot J.R.?!  There was no such thing as binging on a TV series. Start binging on our collection of 80s TV shows for free.

School is in full swing and so is the pressure to do get good grades. A recent study by Pew Research Center found 60% of students are stressed out. While parents and schools want students to achieve academic excellence, getting to that goal can lead to anxiety and apprehension. Check out some of these books that can offer solutions to managing school stress.

Get ready for the best years of your life! From the experts behind Her Campus, this completely updated college guide is bursting with insider tips to help you navigate classes, relationships, and all your extracurriculars--including parties and Greek life, of course. Whether you're just starting freshman year or a seasoned pro as an upperclassman, you'll learn tips and tricks for how to survive: Bonding with your roommate--while setting ground rules for your new space at the same time, Beating the dreaded Freshman 15 without having to give up dessert
--Snagging a date with the cutie from class, Coping with stress and anxiety--even during the insanity of finals week! Navigating student loans and finding the best financial aid, scholarships, and post-graduate loan forgiveness programs, Scoring awesome jobs and internships and transitioning into post-collegiate life, Staying safe on campus so you can enjoy all college has to offer--without horror stories. Complete with fun checklists and helpful worksheets, The Her Campus Guide to College Life, Updated and Expanded Edition shows you how to make the most out of your undergrad experience--in and outside the classroom.

As a student in college--you're dealing with a lot. At times this can be physically, mentally, and emotionally draining between classes, homework, activities, and building a new social life for yourself. But the secret to making sure these are the best years of your life is making time for self-care. If you've been working for hours on your latest paper, take a walk around campus to get moving. If you're feeling tired after a long week of classes and activities, give yourself permission to say no to those Friday night plans and take a relaxing evening for yourself. Self-Care for College Students offers suggestions that help you tackle every aspect of taking care of yourself from the simplest tasks to rewarding activities that might require more planning. Whether it is making sure you eat a healthy meal to utilizing your school's support services, there is advice for any situation. In this book, find realistic and practical self-care activities that you can try right away to maximize your college experience. Each activity is designed to help you refuel, such as making sure you get enough sleep to developing an exercise routine. Start making time for you and make your college years the best of your life--all while building lifelong habits for success and happiness for years to come.

Pages