May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Young Adult dystopian books remain popular. Dystopian novels are set in an alternate setting that can have similarities to the world we know. Many of the books and seem to focus on female protagonists and give attention to intersections involving race, gender, power and empowerment, sexuality, class, and social justice issues. Though these novels are set in a fictional future, some of them seem eerily familiar and not too far fetched. We are going to start with newer titles below, and then there are some backlist bumps near the bottom. Enjoy! 

Newer Dystopian:

Leyla McQueen, who lives beneath the ruins of a submerged London in 2099, joins a prestigious submersible race in the hope of clearing her father's name before encountering government corruption and a hidden world. 

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are the "Oscars" of the comics world. Check below to access eBook or borrow print copies of many award nominees. Visit the San Diego Comic-Con site for the complete list of nominees

Best Continuing Series

Dancer in Brazil by Diego Rosa on Unsplash.jpg

 

 

Looking for inspiration to start your next dance party? Maybe you just need a rest from an endless succession of dance breaks?

Try some of the dance-themed reads listed below. Those intended for older audiences are further down. Those at the beginning might be appreciated by all ages.

And of course, there are always more dance books to be found in our library catalog. Use the search options to browse our collections, you can use keywords and subject headings to find different lists of items to browse. You can also ask a librarian for assistance.

Flora and the peacocks by Molly Schaar Idle
Also available in: e-book

In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a little girl named Flora forms a friendship with two peacocks as the three learn to dance together. You can find Flora in many other books if you can't get enough. She's also on Hoopla.

 

Can't get enough stories about literature and people who create and distribute it? Explore the following titles that touch on topics like the importance of books and libraries, the hidden lives of authors and librarians, and more. Books at the top of list may appeal to a wide age range, books at the end of the list are geared more for an adult audience.

How to read a book by Kwame Alexander
Also available in: e-audiobook

A poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading. Begins with planting oneself beneath a tree and leads to a book party one hopes will never end.

Dreamers by Yuyi Morales
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | video | e-video

A celebration of making your home with the things you always carry: your resilience, your dreams, your hopes and history. It's the story of finding your way in a new place, where one beacon of hope and support is the local library.

Gardening comes in many shapes and sizes from the super elaborate outdoor garden maze that takes up acres of land and you can see from a helicopter to the simple succulent in a small pot on your windowsill. No matter what kind of gardener you are (or are striving to be), there are many resources available to help you complete this 62 Days square and Grow Green.

 

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

Photo by Michelle Neuwirth Gray

By The Book!

Thorndyke the Large Brown Bear Typing at the Computer

 

Complete this 62 Days activity by learning something you didn’t know before about the Canton Public Library, or by asking us your questions about how the library works. 

 

Exercise Your Curiosity about the Library

  • Write a letter to Thorndyke. Our resident bear loves seeing your faces and hearing about you. Thorndyke will respond to a selection of questions  and comments he receives weekly on his blog. Simply address your letter to
          Thorndyke the Bear  
          1200 S. Canton Center Road
          Canton, MI  48188
  • Use the “Ask a Librarian” option on our Contact Us form to ask a reference question remotely.
  • Use Social Media to ask us a question, tell us how we are doing, or learn more. Find and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

 

Meet the Staff

  • Learn more about Thorndyke, our library bear. You can find his life story on Flickr, or you can take a look at his family album.
  • Learn more about the folks who make the library tick. Explore a limited staff directory and meet a few of the people who keep CPL up and running.

 

Explore Hidden Gems of the Library

  • Have you noticed the art located in and around the library? For a full tour, take our art walk online. 
  • Get a quick look at our sorting room, our hub for all returning materials. This is where all the books that are returned via our outdoor Book Drop.

 

Learn about Library Beginnings

Take a Deeper Dive into Libraries

Explore these resources to learn even more about libraries beyond the Canton Public Library. We are just a small part of a larger tradition of community service.

Schomburg : the man who built a library by Carole Boston Weatherford
Also available in: e-audiobook | video | e-video

Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro-Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk's life's passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages.

Picture this--the breeze is gentle, the air is warm, but not muggy, the sun gently setting so it is not quite dark but not quite light, out pops a yellow dot of light. It catches your eye and you then see it again, and another, and another.  The magical glow from hundreds of tiny fireflies light up your yard and you run to catch one, just to see if you can.  Fireflies are amazing little creatures and we have some great ways for you to explore more about them in this 62 Days square.

 

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

By The Book!

Do you love bright, rainbow-hued clothes? Have you ever wanted to know how to create those bold patterns yourself? Yes? Oh good! Step right up to the Tie Dye square on your 62 Days 62 Ways map and let's get started.

 

When you finish, head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

By The Book

Pages