May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Fourth Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Introduces Suzy Wright, a Quaker who helped settle the Pennsylvania frontier, defended the rights of Native Americans, and provided legal counsel to her neighbors.

A biography of librarian Mary Lemist Titcomb describes her concern that the library was not reaching as many people as it could she devised the first bookmobile.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

John Roy Lynch spent most of his childhood as a slave in Mississippi, but all of that changed with the Emancipation Proclamation. Suddenly people like John Roy could have paying jobs and attend school. While many people in the South were unhappy with the social change, John Roy thrived in the new era.

The story of Black Elk brings to life what it was like to be Native American in the mid-to-late 19th century and early 20th century. The Native people found their land overrun by the Wha-shi-choos, or White Man, the buffalo slaughtered for sport and to purposely eliminate their main food source, and their people gathered onto reservations. Through it all, Black Elk clung to his childhood visions that planted the seeds to help people understand their place in the circle of life.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

26 Fairmount Avenue by Tomie De Paola

Tomie dePaola's stories from the momentous year his family built their new house at 26 Fairmount Avenue highlight his wit, sense of humor, and strong family bonds. Continue the memoir with the rest of the 26 Fairmount Avenue series.

Recounts the life and accomplishments of Belva Lockwood, the first woman to practice law before the Supreme Court and to officially run for the presidency of the United States in 1884 and 1888.

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for First Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Learn about the pioneer of children's books--John Newbery himself. Most children's books in the 18th century contained lessons and rules, but Newbery imagined them with entertaining stories and games. He believed that every book should be made for the reader's enjoyment. 

Celebrating the inventor of the Crayola crayon! This gloriously illustrated picture book biography tells the inspiring story of Edwin Binney, the inventor of one of the world's most beloved toys.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Kindergarten, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Aretha Franklin by Ma Isabel (María Isabel) Sánchez Vegara

Discover the life of Aretha Franklin, The Queen of Soul. The fourth of five children, Aretha was born in Tennessee and took the stage at an early age in her fathers church choir. She went on to become the bestselling rhythm and blues singer of all time, and the first woman to be installed in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. 

Tells the story of puppeteer Tony Sarg, the man who first invented the helium balloons that have become the trademark of the annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

 

The following titles may be enjoyed by First Graders. All readers are at different levels and have different interests, so not all titles will appeal to, or be appropriate for, all readers. For additional recommendations ask at the Children's Reference Desk or try our May We Suggest service.

Fiction

Fiction books for First Grade can be found in a variety of locations, including J PICTURE BOOK, J READER, and KIDS GRAPHIC NOVEL. Click on each title for location and availability.

 

Fans of Goddess Girls, Whatever After, and Harry Potter can look here for more magical, mythical, and fairytale style adventures.

Possessing an ability to talk with magical creatures, including griffins, unicorns, and Fuzzles, Pip uses her talent to update a magic reference book and investigate a fuzzles invasion in spite of her friend Tomas' allergies. Part of the Pip Bartlett series.

The fairy-tale detectives by Michael Buckley

Orphans Sabrina and Daphne Grimm are sent to live with an eccentric grandmother that they have always believed to be dead. Mystery, adventure, and a daring rescue ensue. Part of the Sisters Grimm series.

 

Have you made your way through Dragon Masters and Last Firehawk, and need more series to read? Into fantasy and adventure? Give these titles a try.

A young dragon named Ella convinces her twin brother Owen to join her on a bold quest to find a wizard that will help cure Owen of his flaming cold. Part of the Ella and Owen series.

Grilled cheese and dragons by Nancy E Krulik

Princess Serena, who wants to be a knight instead of a princess, must perform good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to prove to her father that she deserves to go to knight school. Part of the Princess Pulverizer series.

Watchmen and Schitt$ Creek slayed all the competition and rightfully so. But Baby Yoda definitely got robbed. Check out these shows and all the other great series' nominated for the 2020 Emmys!

2020 Emmy Winners

 

The following titles focus on sports and active play for your beginning reader.

Best friends by Margery Cuyler

When his best friend Sue finds a new friend at school, Pete feels dejected until Sue invites everyone to play together.

Baseball buzz by C. C. Joven

Jackson loves baseball, but a bee in the outfield causes him to miss a fly ball, and the game is stopped until the bee finally departs.

Part of the Starting Line Readers series.

 

Pages