Catalog

Search our Catalog

Blog

Small Business Saturday is November 30th

Between Black Friday and Cyber Monday is another day, one dedicated to the businesses that boost the economy and invigorate neighborhoods across the country. It's Small Business Saturday®, and this year it’s happening on November 30th. Remember that while shopping small can help boost the economy, shopping local can also help the environment.

Gettysburg Address Anniversary

On November 19, 1863, Abraham Lincoln delivered his now-famous address to the troops at the dedication of the Soldiers' National Cemetery at Gettysburg. It is thought to be one of the greatest speeches in American history. Lincoln repeated the principles of equality as set forth in the constitution as well as the ideal of representative government for all and praised those fighting for those principles. These are concepts that have made our country the envy of the world today, as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of this great speech with an exhibit in the east end of the library. Come see the beautiful silk panels depicting the Civil War and join us for some special programming.

New Documentaries on the Shelf

Manhunt— Boston bombers [videodisc] by a NOVA production ; produced and directed by Miles O'Brien

The search for Robert Johnson [videodisc]: the real story of the greatest folk blues guitar player that ever lived by produced and directed by Chris Hunt.

Treasures of New York [videodisc] by WLIW21 in association with WNET

Nureyev [videodisc]: a portrait by producer and director, Patricia Foy

Richard III [videodisc]: martyr or monster? by produced by Coda Publishing ; written and directed by Bob Carruthers

The waiting room [videodisc] by Docurama ; directed by Peter Nicks

Library Board Meeting Agenda — November 21, 2013

Thursday, November 21, 2013, 7:30 PM
  • Call the Meeting to Order
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of General Meeting Minutes
  • Communications
  • Director's Report
  • Committee Reports - None
  • Unfinished Business and General Orders
    • None
  • New Business
    • 2014 Board Officers
    • IT proposal for purchase of new servers
    • Statistic of the Month (Dashboard - S. Rzetelny)
    • Director's Evaluation (closed session)
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Adjourn

New Book Club in a Bag Kit

The Paris wife [kit]: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging

November is Picture Book Month

As in many other libraries, picture books are one of the highest circulating collections here at Canton Public Library. To celebrate that, November is Picture Book Month, an international literacy initiative supported by the Children's Book Council, the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, and other groups. Need some ideas of great picture books to share with your kids? You can sort our Kids Book Lists by Picture Books. And our helpful children librarians are always happy to suggest some of their very favorite books. The official website of Picture Book Month has lots of activities links and wonderful essays on the importance of Picture Books written by popular children's authors.

Job Search Toolkit

Whether you are looking for a new job or considering changing careers, the library can help!

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

 September, October and November titles coming soon!

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th


The housekeeper and the professor by Yoko Ogawa ; translated by Stephen Snyder — June 12th

Native American Biographies

In honor of Native American Heritage Month check out some of the biographies of notable First Americans from the Library's collection, or go to this list for more information.

Tecumseh: a life by John Sugden

Sacajawea by [by] Harold P. Howard

Chief Joseph & the flight of the Nez Perce: the untold story of an American tragedy by Kent Nerburn

Crazy Horse: a Lakota life by Kingsley M. Bray

Pocahontas by Grace Steele Woodward

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

New Books on the Biography Shelf

Daughter of empire: my life as a Mountbatten by Lady Pamela Hicks

Jim Henson: the biography by Brian Jay Jones

Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin

My story by Elizabeth Smart with Chris Stewart

Holiday Recipe Exchange

Looking for a new dish for your holiday table? Want to share the great potluck dish everyone raved about at the last party you attended? Share your favorite recipes, or discover new ones with our Holiday Recipe Exchange.

Bring in several copies of your favorite recipe (printed out on an 8 1/2 by 11 sheet of paper and paper clipped together) to put in the Holiday Recipe Exchange kiosk located by the Reception Desk from early November through late December. Look at the recipes others have left, and take home a new recipe or two.

If you prefer to share your recipe online, simply add the recipe in a comment to this blog post.

Bon Appetit!

eReader Users Group Meeting

Join library staff and other eReader users as we share eBook tips and tricks in an informal environment. Group will meet in Group Study Room A on Monday, November 18, 2013 at 7:00 PM.

eBook Basics

Bring your registered eBook reader, current Canton Library card and join us on Friday, November 15, from 10:00-11:30 AM to learn how to check-out free library eBooks and read them on an iPad, Kindle, Nook or other device.

Traditional Yoga Basics

On Tuesday, December 3 from 4:30-5:15 PM, Thirupu Siva will teach young people from 6-16 years of age the basic asanas, building up to various intermediate poses. Please wear dark, loose fitting clothing and bring a yoga mat to work on. If you have long hair, please tie it back. Registration for this program begins on November 19.

[Vrksasana – postura del árbol / Amineko Yoga by ((carola)) is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.