Check out these new titles recently added to the Library's Biography shelves.

This Is NOT A Book Club*- TINA Take-Out

Graphic novel cover Awkward, a boy and a girl sitting calmly with kids yelling behind them.

New from the creators of This is NOT a Book Club (TINA): TINA Take-Out! Check out our menu for this month's tasty book and side treat. Patrons aged 10-13 are invited to register for this month's special and choose your own side! 

Pick-up your free book and craft kit by October 15 and then join us on October 22 where we will hangout and talk about the book, create your side craft, and compete for prizes in our live trivia event! 

Note: please schedule your pickup appointment AFTER you receive an email noting your kit is ready. Kits take time to make and place on the hold shelf. 

Main Course

This month's TINA Take-Out menu features the tangy read, Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova. This graphic novel is great for fans of Real Friends, Sunny Side Up, Smile, and more! 

Side Dish

The choices for your side this month are below. Please indicate which side you would like by entering the letter in the Note Field when you register.

A- DIY Constellation Cube kit

B- DIY Rocket Cup

 

Can't decide or want to be surprised? Leave the note field blank and we will pick for you! 

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, October 22 - 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM Online Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova

One hundred years ago, women won the right to vote with the passage of the 19th Amendment. It was a long and grueling fight to get to that point, but now it is a right we share not just across genders, but races, nationalities, and more.

For almost a century, American women took to the streets to march, lobbied Congress, and picketed the White House. What were they fighting for? The right to vote. And on August 18, 1920, the 19th Amendment was ratified, granting all women that right.

On the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment's ratification, we're celebrating all things women's suffrage at CPL! Check out the resources we've gathered below and register for a Grab and Go Kit of fun take homes starting August 18th.

Image "Suffragette Banner - Votes For Women, 1910-1920" by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Experience the Roaring '20s with Jazz hits, classical music, and standards that helped define the decade. Music is available on Hoopla or Alexander Street Press for immediate enjoyment, or available by request on CD. We've also created a Spotify playlist of twenties tunes to stream now!

The Jazz Age

On June 4, 1919, the United States Senate passed the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, granting American women the right to vote. It was ratified on August 18, 1920 when Tennessee cast the deciding vote. Learn about the historic struggle for women's suffrage from the following resources found in the Library's collection.

Nonfiction may sound like school, but check out these reads that are not just informational, but fun, too!

While time is quickly moving us toward the fall and all that entails, be sure to take time to curl up with these great new YA Fiction titles.

Deeplight by Frances Hardinge

Pages