Realistic fiction is just like it sounds, fiction that could actually happen or seems plausible. Wonder by R. J. Palacio is a prime example of this genre. Realistic fiction can take place in the current time, or from times past. This type of realistic fiction is referred to as historical. An example of a popular historical fiction novel is The War that Saved my Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. These days books written for Middle-Grade readers are better than ever now, with many authors touching on topics that are timely and could have been borrowed from headlines past and present. Below are some new novels in this genre, as well as some backlist bumps toward the bottom.  

Planet Earth is blue by Nicole Panteleakos

Autistic and nearly nonverbal, twelve-year-old Nova is happy in her new foster home and school, but eagerly anticipates the 1986 Challenger launch, for which her sister, Bridget, promised to return

Nowhere boy by Katherine Marsh

 

Fourteen-year-old Ahmed, a Syrian refugee living on his own in Brussels, Belgium, meets Max, a thirteen-year-old American boy, and the two form an important friendship

July 1, 1867. The Constitution Act, 1867 is enacted,  uniting the three separate colonies of the Province of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into a single Dominion within the British Empire called Canada.

The Constitution : an introduction by Michael Stokes Paulsen

July 2, 1788. The United States Constitution was ratified.

July 2, 1881. President James A. Garfield was shot as he entered a railway station in Washington, D.C. He died on September 19.

Young Adult dystopian books remain popular. Dystopian novels are set in an alternate setting that can have similarities to the world we know. Many of the books and seem to focus on female protagonists and give attention to intersections involving race, gender, power and empowerment, sexuality, class, and social justice issues. Though these novels are set in a fictional future, some of them seem eerily familiar and not too far fetched. We are going to start with newer titles below, and then there are some backlist bumps near the bottom. Enjoy! 

Newer Dystopian:

Leyla McQueen, who lives beneath the ruins of a submerged London in 2099, joins a prestigious submersible race in the hope of clearing her father's name before encountering government corruption and a hidden world. 

  • Call the Meeting to Order
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of General Meeting Minutes
  • Communications
  • Report of the Library Director
  • Trustee Comments
  • Unfinished Business & General Orders
    • Update on Phased Reopening
  • New Business
    • 2nd Quarter Budget Amendment
    • 2021 Budget — 1st Draft & 2022-2023 projections
  • Call to Audience (5 min. maximum)
  • Adjourn

Please note that the July meeting of the Canton Public Library Board will be held remotely, in accordance with the Governor's Executive Order 2020-75. Members of the public who wish to participate in this meeting may join the Zoom meeting at 7:30 PM on Thursday, July 16. Attendees will be muted automatically except for the Call To Audience portions of the agenda, where members of the public may use the "raise hand" function within the Zoom meeting application, at which point they will be unmuted for up to 5 minutes of public comment per person.

The meeting packet is available below. The meeting will be recorded and posted following the meeting. Members of the public needing accommodation due to a disability should contact the library director, Eva Davis, at davise@cantonpl.org.

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Digital Escape Room: Adventures in Libraryland

A certain book is lost in the library and only you can find it by answering a series of riddles! Try our digital escape room online and test your wits. No registration necessary! Ages 11 & up.

Click if you are ready to begin.

This escape room will be accessible online ALL SUMMER from July 6 - August 15. Use it with 62 Days of Summer to fulfill your Play a Game square or the Construct an Obstacle Course square.

 

Photo by Tatiana Colhoun on Unsplash.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

Wayne County Commissioners Terry Marecki, Melissa Daub and David Knezek are hosting a virtual town hall with the Wayne County Department of Public Services on Thursday, July 9, 7:00-8:00 PM. The event will focus on roads, bridges, drains, and water infrastructure. To submit a question to be asked, email district10@waynecounty.com .

To join the Town Hall, use this Zoom link or call 1-646-876-9923 and enter 5485243984# .
 

A selection of U.S. history eBooks on hoopla that cover the core values of the United States, the American Revolution, and the historical issues we are still reconciling today. 

The Foundation

The phrase "Black Boy Joy" emerged a few years ago as a way to challenge the way we view black masculinity in society. Rather than simply seeing black males as angry or tough, Black Boy Joy allows us to see them through a wide variety of lenses. These picture books cover many topics, but all feature phenomenal black boys!

For picture books with black girls, check out our Black Girl Magic booklist. 

Jabari jumps by illustrator Gaia Cornwall
Also available in: e-video

Pages