Pokémon Scarlet and Pokémon Violet

The latest adventure for Pokémon trainers will take you to the Paldea region. Pokémon Scarlet and Pokémon Violet are the very first open-world role-playing games in the series. The open world will be similar to Pokémon Legends: Arceus with wild Pokémon and trainers to battle. Players can explore the region and challenge gyms in any order. The choices players make will influence gameplay between three different stories. Lastly, Scarlet and Violet will support multiplayer gameplay with up to four players.

Version Differences

With every new Pokémon game, there are differences to each version of the game. A few are listed below. For the complete list, check out this great breakdown on Nintendolife.

Scarlet seems to focus on the past. Professor Sada wears prehistoric clothing and the legendary Pokémon Koraidon has feathers and scales. Your character will attend Naranja Academy with an orange fruit emblem and orange uniforms. Exclusive Pokémon for this version are: Larvitar, Pupitar, Tyranitar, Stonjourner and legendary Koraidon.

Violet looks towards the future. Professor Turo wears a futuristic bodysuit and the legendary Pokémon Miraidon has lights and metal. Your character will attend Uva Academy with a grape emblem and purple uniform. Exclusive Pokémon for this version are: Bagon, Shelgon, Salamance, Eiscue and legendary Miraidon.

New Pokémon

Scarlet and Violet will be the ninth generation of Pokémon games and will feature new Pokémon to catch. Visit the official Pokémon website for the complete list.

The three starter Pokémon are all brand new. Sprigatito is a grass cat, Fuecoco is a water crocodile and Quaxly is a water duck. The two box legendaries are also new—Koraidon and Miraidon. Lechonk is a normal hog Pokémon that instantly became a new favorite. There are also new regional Pokémon exclusive to Paldea like the Paldean Wooper.

New Pokémon Mechanic

New Pokémon games often feature a new game mechanic that is exclusive to that region. The new mechanic often shakes up the standard battling system. For example, Gigantamax was introduced in Pokémon Sword and Shield while Mega Evolution was introduced in Pokémon X and Y. In Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, the new mechanic is "Terastal Phenomenon."

When a Pokémon "terastallizes" in the Paldea region, their whole body will turn into a gemstone. Pokémon can terastallize once per battle and stay in gemstone form until the battle ends. A Pokémon’s "tera type" may be different than their normal type. Try new battle combinations and moves to take down your opponents. 

Reserve a Copy Today

With your Canton Public Library card, you can place holds on video games that are coming soonTip: If you click on the “Full Details” link under the "About" section, you can see what system the video game is for.

We have several Pokémon games available to check out or place a hold on. Below is a list of all the Pokémon games we have for the Nintendo Switch.

Pokémon Legends

New Pokémon Snap

Pokemon Brilliant Diamond

Pokemon Shining Pearl

Pokémon Shield

Pokémon Sword



Pokkén Tournament DX