Storytime

Preschool Storytime

Preschool storytimes feature longer books, flannel board and rhymes designed for children ages 3 1/2 - 5. These activities help develop pre-reading and school-readiness skills.  Children must be able to sit independently and be attentive for 30 minutes. Parents may attend, if needed, to help transition their child to this program. All parents must remain in the children's department. Storytimes will be held in the Friends Activity Room starting Monday, September 11 through Friday, October 20. Please pick a Monday OR a Friday session. Registration begins August 25.

Mondays, 10:00 - 10:30 a.m., Register for Mondays

Fridays, 1:00 - 1:30 p.m., Register for Fridays

Upcoming sessions

Monday, September 25 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Friday, September 29 - 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Monday, October 2 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Friday, October 6 - 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Friday, October 13 - 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Monday, October 16 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Friday, October 20 - 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.
Monday, October 23 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room Registration required.

Special Needs Storytime

Please join us for Special Needs Storytime: Count Me In! This is a sensory-friendly storytime filled with stories, songs and sign language especially designed for young children with developmental delays and disabilities. This program has been funded through the Dollar General Literacy Foundation grant.

Upcoming sessions

Saturday, October 21 - 4:00 PM to 4:30 PM Community Room
Saturday, November 18 - 4:00 PM to 4:30 PM Community Room
Saturday, December 16 - 4:00 PM to 4:30 PM Community Room

Family Storytime

Storytime

Family Storytime provides an opportunity for caregivers to actively engage with their children under age 5. Together with a Youth Librarian, you can build early literacy skills in a welcoming environment through meaningful stories, songs, and play. Encourage a love of language and reading while practicing listening and cooperative tasks. We look forward to sharing this experience with you. Every Family Storytime is followed by a half hour of ABC Activity Time. No registration required.

**NOTE: The library is closed on Monday, October 9. There will be no programming on that day.

**NOTE: The Family Music Fest will take place on Saturday, October 14. Regular storytime attendees are invited to attend the 10:00AM musical act, Beverly Meyers - The Music Lady, instead of the Saturday Storytime.

Upcoming sessions

Monday, September 25 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room
Tuesday, September 26 - 7:00 PM to 7:30 PM Friends' Activity Room
Wednesday, September 27 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room
Thursday, September 28 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room
Thursday, September 28 - 7:00 PM to 7:30 PM Community Room
Saturday, September 30 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room
Monday, October 2 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room
Tuesday, October 3 - 7:00 PM to 7:30 PM Friends' Activity Room
Wednesday, October 4 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room
Thursday, October 5 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Community Room

Pages

Baby Storytime

Designed for babies 18 months and younger with a loving adult, Baby Storytime features simple stories, songs, and rhymes carefully chosen to build awareness of language and vocabulary, foster a love of books, and provide a fun, interactive experience for babies and parents/caregivers.

Registration opens August 25.

Upcoming sessions

Tuesday, September 26 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room
Tuesday, October 3 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room
Tuesday, October 10 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room
Tuesday, October 17 - 10:00 AM to 10:30 AM Friends' Activity Room
Subscribe to RSS - Storytime