Romantically Involved: Holiday Romances

The holidays are a cozy time of year—colder temperatures, yummy food, fun decorations and a chance to cuddle up with someone special or a good romance book make it a favorite for many. CPL has some great holiday romance titles and many more are added throughout the year. Do you look for festive romances every December? If so, some authors love to write about the holidays and have annual selections. Be sure to give these writers a try.

Debbie Macomber – Macomber is the unofficial queen of holiday romance. Her light and sweet books are perfect if you like Hallmark holiday movies and happily ever after endings. Although she has authored many series, her Mrs. Miracle and Cedar Cove books are known for including holly jolly love stories. Try her newest holiday romance, The Christmas Spirit.

Brenda Novak – Novak’s contemporary romances are place-oriented and heartwarming. Some of her best-known series are Silver Springs and Whiskey Creek, which both include holiday titles.

Jill Shalvis – Shalvis is another contemporary romance author whose characters and settings are perfect for a reader to visit over and over again. Try the Heartbreaker Bay series for some holiday fun.

RaeAnne Thayne – Thayne’s Haven Point series includes several holiday romances featuring characters with the need to heal who find themselves in the atmospheric Idaho town of the same name. Her latest book, All Is Bright, is part of the Hope’s Crossing series, set in lovely Colorado.

Lori Wilde – Wilde’s best-known series, Twilight, Texas, draws readers into its southern charm and endearing characters. Celebrate the holidays in the Lone Star state with Wilde each year. 

Maisey Yates – Cowboys and Christmas—what could be better? Yates brings back readers year after year with her tales of rugged cowboys and landscapes that make the perfect backdrop for festive love. Try her Gold Valley series.


Maybe you’re in the mood for something new or different in your holiday reads. If so, give these books a look. 

So This Is Christmas – Jenny Holiday concludes her beloved royal Christmas series with an unforgettable romance about a confident American woman and the strait-laced royal advisor who falls hopelessly in love with her.

You're A Mean One, Matthew Prince – An "effervescent" Christmas LGBTQIA+ new adult romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Schitt's Creek and Red White & Royal Blue.

The Holiday Swap – A feel-good, holiday-themed romantic comedy about identical twins who switch lives in the days leading up to Christmas—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren's In a Holidaze and Josie Silver's One Day in December

The Holiday Trap – Greta Russakoff needs some space from her overbearing family. Truman Belvedere needs a place to heal after a devastating heartbreak. The solution is obvious: Truman and Greta decide to swap houses for the month of December. Can a change of scenery be the start of something new?

In the Event of Love – Offering a steamy, queer spin on the feel-good tropes of a Hallmark movie, this sweet, funny rom-com is perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Alexandria Bellefleur.

A Holly Jolly Diwali – One type-A data analyst discovers her free-spirited side on an impulsive journey from bustling Mumbai to the gorgeous beaches of Goa and finds love waiting for her on Christmas morning. 

Falling Stars – In this special seasonal tale, a ski instructor finds her skills—and her heart—put to the test courtesy of a visiting movie star. 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Canton Public Library