Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Christmas Romances

Romance authors love to pen novels and stories set in and around Christmas and we love to read them. This year there is a bumper crop of these seasonal tales, so grab your hot cocoa and enjoy.

Sleigh bells in the snow by Sarah Morgan

The Christmas he loved her by Juliana Stone

Carla Kelly's Christmas collection: four stories filled with romance and Christmas cheer by Carla Kelly

The cowboy's Christmas baby by Carolyn Brown

Lady Jenny's Christmas portrait by Grace Burrowes

Take me home for Christmas by Brenda Novak

Murder Will Out: December 2013

2013 Award Winning Mysteries you may have missed:

The beautiful mystery by Louise Penny — Best Novel: Anthony Award & Macavity Award

Don't ever get old by Daniel Friedman — Best First Novel: Macavity Award

The Blackhouse: a novel by Peter May — Best Novel: Barry Award

A killing in the hills by Julia Keller — Best First Novel: Barry Award

Taken by Robert Crais — Best Hardcover: Shamus Award

Black Fridays by Michael Sears — Best First P.I. Novel: Shamus Award

Author Joshilyn Jackson at Nicola's Books

Someone Else's Love Story by Jackson, Joshilyn — Meet New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson on Wednesday, December 4, 7:00PM at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor. A former actor, Jackson reads the audio versions of her novels.  She has been nominated for the Audie Award, was selected by AudioFile Magazine for their Best of the Year list, has made the 2012 Audible All-Star list for highest listener ranks/reviews, and garnered three Listen Up Awards from Publisher’s Weekly.

Babymouse Book Group

BabymouseHey, kids in the third and fourth grades! Come to the library during your winter break to enjoy a lively discussion on Babymouse, Vol. 10: The Musical. We'll talk about the book, do some Babymouse activities, and even enjoy a snack or two.

Register online beginning November 25, then come to the Children's Help Desk to pick up a copy of the book. The book discussion will take place on Saturday, December 28, 2:00 PM.

Tales of Kindness and Giving for 1st - 3rd Grade

Bagels from Benny by Aubrey Davis ; illustrated by Dusan Petricic

The legend of the bluebonnet: an old tale of Texas by retold and illustrated by Tomie dePaola

The giving tree by Shel Silverstein

Brother sun, sister moon: the life and stories of St. Francis by Margaret Mayo ; illustrated by Peter Malone

The velveteen rabbit by retold and Illustrated by Komako Sakai ; translated from the Japanese by Yuki Kaneko

Small gifts in God's hands by Max Lucado ; illustrated by Cheri Bladholm

If You Like Faye Kellerman

Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus balance jobs and family while solving crimes. Authors such as J. A. Jance, Mary Logue, Iris Johansen, J. D. Robb and Catherine Coulter couples trying to find balance in their lives between their relationship and their jobs.

Judgment call by J.A. Jance

Blood country: a Claire Watkins mystery by Mary Logue

The face of deception by Iris Johansen

Naked in death by J.D. Robb

The cove by Catherine Coulter

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Barbara Park, 1947-2013

Barbara Park, author of the best-selling Junie B. Jones series, has died at the age of 66.  Park was also the author of several stand-alone novels for middle grade-readers, including Skinnybones and The Kid In the Red Jacket, and picture books, such as Ma! There's Nothing To Do Here! Fans of Park's books will long remember her funny and realistic writing style.

New Adult Genre

The books in the New Adult Genre are designed to interest twenty-somethings. The main character will often be leaving home for the first time, going to college, or starting on their first steady job. While mostly written by twenty-somethings for twenty-somethings, these books do have crossover appeal for romance readers--even those who have left their twenties behind them.

Finding it by Cora Carmack

If you stay by Cole, Courtney

Rule: a Marked Men novel by Jay Crownover

Foreplay by The Ivy Chronicles Book 1 Sophie Jordan

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

One Week Girlfriend: a novel by Monica Murphy

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group January-June 2014

Looking for a lively book discussion? The Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group meets on the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00PM in Group Study Room A at Canton Public Library. 

January 23              Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family's Secret by Steve Luxenberg

February 27           The Closers by Michael Connelly

March 27                Detroit: An American Autopsy by Charlie LeDuff

April 24                   The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

May 22                     Crank by Ellen Hopkins

June 26                    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Lunch & a Book November 2013

On Thursday November 14 at noon, we will be discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain — Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness-until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in the fabled Lost Generation. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking and fast-living life of Jazz Age Paris. Surrounded by beautiful women and competing egos, Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history, pouring all the richness and intensity of his life with Hadley and their circle of friends into the novel that will become The Sun Also Rises. Hadley, meanwhile, strives to hold on to her sense of self as the demands of life with Ernest grow costly and her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging.

Adult Contemporary Book Discussion November 18

Please join the Adult Contemporary Book Discussion Group on Monday, November 18 at 7:00 PM in the Purple Room to discuss:

Caleb's crossing by Geraldine Brooks — Living in the isolated Puritan settlement of Great Harbor on Martha's Vineyard, Bethia Mayfield, the bright young daughter of the local minister, balances her strict religion with a passionate love of nature and a growing curiosity about the culture of the Wampanoag tribe that populates the island. When Bethia secretly strikes up a friendship with a young Wampanoag named Caleb, she unknowingly begins a journey that will shape her life.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: November 21, 2013

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Thursday, November 21 at 2:00-3:00 PM in Group Study Room A. (Note: We are meeting 1 week earlier. The library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, November 28.) Copies of the book are distributed at the meeting or request a copy at the Adult Help Desk. No registration required. This month we are discussing:

The Paris wife: a novel by Paula McLain.  Portrays the love affair and marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Hadley Mowrer from their Chicago meeting in 1920 to their lives during the Jazz Age in Paris, but as Ernest struggles to find his literary voice, Hadley tries to define her role in their relationship as wife, friend, and muse

YALSA's Teens' Top Ten

Celebrate Teen Read Week (Oct. 13-19) by voting now for your favorite books of 2013! Or, check out the top ten winners from last year.

K. A. Barson at Ann Arbor Bookstore Nicola's Books

45 pounds (more or less) by K.A. Barson — K. A. Barson will be at Nicola's Books on Tuesday, October 8 at 6:30PM to talk about her recent book, answer questions, and autograph her book.

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.