Catalog

Search our Catalog

Audiobook

Murder Will Out: Ring Out the Dead

Here are a few mysteries set at the new year:

The queene's Christmas by Karen Harper

Full cry by Rita Mae Brown

New Year's Eve murder : a Lucy Stone mystery by Leslie Meier

Cat on a hyacinth hunt by Carole Nelson Douglas

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Elm Creek Quilts

If you like to listen to an audio book and quilt at the same time then Jennifer Chiaverini's Elm Creek quilt novels is your answer. The series has 14 books and in all the books the story and the art of quilting are neatly stiched. You can learn more about the quilts discussed in those stories by going into Jennifer Chiaverini's web site at http://elmcreek.net. The Winding Ways quilt pattern is easily explained in Nancy Elliott MacDonald's book Winding Ways Quilts A practically Pinless Approach.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

The African Experience: An Audiobook Selection

Here is where the landscape, the country, and the people all play a part in forming life-changing experiences in the real and fictional worlds of Africa!

Have You Eaten Your Frog Today?

Tend to procrastinate? Need to improve your time management skills? If so, take some advice from Brian Tracy, author of Eat That Frog! 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time. His secret to ending procrastination? Tackle the biggest, most challenging task of your day first thing. That's your "frog," says Tracy. If you're like many people, you'll instead try to complete several quick, easy and/or enjoyable tasks first thing in the morning. You'll learn why it's so important to "eat that frog" first, along with loads of other useful time management tips. No time to read a book, you say? No problem! Listen to the audiobook (on CDs) in your car while driving to work or running errands.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - April 28, 2010

April's reading selection is Forgetfulness by Ward Just. Copies of the book will be distributed at the March 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after March 24. Participants must register with the Canton Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - May 26, 2010

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger is the Canton Seniors Book Group May selection. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after May 26. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - February 24, 2010

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Group will discuss the Everyone's Reading 2010 selection, Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the January 27, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after January 27th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - January 27, 2010

The Canton Seniors Book Group will be discussing the 1994 ALA Black Caucus Award winning book A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the November 18, 2009 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after November 18th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Discussion of Stealing Buddha's Dinner on Facebook

From October 26-30, you are invited to participate in a unique, virtual dialogue on "Stealing Buddha's Dinner" with individuals from other Michigan communities, high schools, colleges, and others. Questions emanating from Bich's tour visit Oct 13-17, as well as from her memoir, will be posed to stimulate dialogue on immigration stories, cultural understanding, and contemporary history.

Discussion will occur on the Great Michigan Read Facebook Discussion Board, beginning October 26. We look forward to the conversation and your participation!

Bouchercon 2010

Bouchercon 2010 will be held in San Francisco this year, October 14 - 17.  Bouchercon is the World Mystery Convention. Every year readers, writers, publishers, editors, agents, booksellers and other lovers of crime fiction gather for a long weekend of both education and entertainment. Panel discussions, author signings, awards, and more are available throughout this four day conference. This year's Guests of Honor are Lee Childs, Denise Mina, Laurie R. King, Eddie Muller, and Maddy van Hertbruggen. 

For more information visit Bouchercon by the Bay 2010.

2010 Mystery Awards Announced @ Bouchercon by the Bay

Bouchercon 2010 is a memory now. Named in honor of the late Anthony Boucher — mystery writer, mystery critic and mystery fan — this largest world mystery convention met in San Francisco and has been dubbed "Bouchercon by the Bay." Bouchercon emphasizes the best in mystery fiction by providing the setting for the presentation the Macavity Awards, the Barry Awards, the Shamus Awards, Bouchercon’s own Anthony Awards, and the Crimespree and Derringer awards. Carol Thomas' Mystery Series Examiner column has a complete list of the nominees and awards.

Bouchercon 2011 — Spirits of St. Louis will meet September 15-18 in St. Louis, Missouri.

[Logo: Private Eye Writers of America 2010]

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - November 18, 2009

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Discussion group which is held at The Summit, will meet on the third Wednesday of the month, November 18th. at 2:00PM to discuss The Art of Mending by Elizabeth Berg. Ms. Berg's novel looks at the consequences of one family member's revelations at an annual family reunion. Copies of Ms. Berg's book are available at Canton Public Library at the Adult Reference Desk.

"Always Say Goodbye"

Stuart Kaminsky, a former Grandmaster of the Mystery Writers of America and author of many mystery series and stand-alone novels, died Friday, October 9, 2009 at the age of 75. His four series featuring Lew Fonesca, Abe Lieberman,Toby Peters,and Inspector Porfiry Rostnikov were extremely popular. Kaminsky's Inspector Rostnikov novel A Cold Red Sunrise received the 1989 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He earned six other Edgar nominations, most recently for the 2005 non-fiction book "Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed", which was also nominated for an Anthony Award, a Macavity Awards, and an Agatha Award.