Catalog

Search our Catalog

British mystery

Murder Will Out October 2013

Aunt Agatha's Bookstore in Ann Arbor is hosting two author events in November.

Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 PM — Chris Grabenstein will be joining the Aunt Agatha Book Group. He'll talk about his New Jersey set series featuring John Ceepak, as well as his books for young adults. He's written two with James Patterson; two featuring Riley Mack and most recently, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

Friday, November 8 at 2:00 PM — Julia Spencer-Fleming & Tasha Alexander will participate in Aunt Agatha's Book Group's discussion moderated by Andrew Grant. Julia has a terrific new Clare & Russ mystery and Tasha has a new Lady Emily mystery.

Happy Birthday, P. D. James

P. D. James celebrated her 90th. birthday on August 3. The author of twenty books, most of which have been filmed and broadcast on television in the United States and other countries, Ms. James best known character is Adam Dagliesh, who has over the years risen to the status of Commander in the Metropolitan Police Service at New Scotland Yard. The first novel in the Dagliesh series, Cover Her Face, was published in 1962. Ms. James recently wrote Talking About Detective Fiction a history of the detective novel.
[Photo: © 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.]

Murder Will Out

If you are a fan of Dorothy L. Sayers and/or good British mystery television productions, you've probably watched the Lord Peter Wimsey series based on Ms. Sayer's books featuring English actor Ian Carmichael. The programs were broadcast during the 1970s on the BBC and later on PBS Mystery and are now available on DVD! Mr. Carmichael died this last week at age 89. The Guardian and BBC News both feature obituaries, and Kim Malo shares her memories of Carmichael in the blog Hey, There’s a Dead Guy in the Living Room.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Happy Birthday, Colin Dexter

Author Colin Dexter, the creator of British Detective Chief Inspector Endeavour Morse and his onetime “sidekick,” Robbie Lewis, who is now the star of his own excellent TV series (Inspector Lewis) celebrated his 79th birthday this week.