Catalog

Search our Catalog

Mystery

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Vintner's Book Discussion Will Not Meet in December

Wine and Mysteries Book Discussion, which meets monthly at Vintners Winery, will not be meeting in the month of December. Have a festive, safe and fun Christmas holiday! A few recommended titles to help you enjoy this season are:

The Christmas cookie club: a novel by Ann Pearlman

Hot toddies: mulled wine, buttered rum, spiced cider, and other soul-warming winter drinks by Christopher O'Hara; photographs by William A. Nash

Murder Will Out: More Mystery Book Awards

The End of the Wasp Season: a novel by Denise Mina — has received the Martin Beck Award for best translation. Romantic Times Book Reviewers Awards for Mystery, Suspense, and Crime were recently announced in Orlando, Florida.

Poetry-Fiction

Edgar Allan's official crime investigation notebook by Mary Amato — There's a thief at Wordsworth Elementary School and Edgar is determined to find out who it is! But this thief doesn't just stop with the classroom goldfish. Soon other classroom items disappear, and the culprit is leaving poems behind for clues. A fun mystery that will surprise readers at how much fun poetry can be.

Book Club Choices: December 2011

The perfect book for a book discussion is one that's not too easy, not too hard, that will hold the interest of a diverse group of readers and will also inspire a lively discussion. For additional book club resources check out CPL's Book Club in a Bag kits.

The true memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

The tiger's wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan

El Día de los Muertos

When the Spanish Conquistadors first came to America, they found the Native Americans performed a ritual that seemed to mock death. Skulls were displayed as trophies and used to honor the dead during a month long ceremony. Today, in Mexico and the Southwest U.S., people don wooden skull masks called calacas and dance in honor of their deceased relatives. The wooden skulls are also placed on altars that are dedicated to the dead. Sugar skulls, made with the names of the dead person on the forehead, are eaten by a relative or friend. For books about this holiday, see:

Skulls to the living, bread to the dead: celebrations of death in Mexico and beyond by Stanley Brandes

Day of the Dead [Large print] by J.A. Jance — or regular print copy.

Books and DVDs on this topic can also be found in our Youth Department as well.

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue

Join Us For The Billionaire's Vinegar

The billionaire's vinegar: the mystery of the world's most expensive bottle of wine by Benjamin Wallace — Come join us for a discussion this book, which concerns the fraudulent auction of an extremely expensive bottle of wine reputed to belong to Thomas Jefferson. Learn a lot about the history of wine in Europe and America as well! Our discussion runs from 7:00-8:00 PM on Tuesday, November 15th. Register online, and don't forget to ask for the book at Adult Reference.

National Book Festival

If you weren't able to attend the National Book Festival in Washington D.C. on September 24-25, videos of the event including authors' talks are now available. Historian and author David McCullough appeared at the 2011 National Book Festival, as did Sylvia Nasar, Cassandra Clare, Wally Amos, Sara Paretsky, and more.

Murder Will Out: Carol Higgins Clark

Willard Library in Battle Creek is pleased to present An Evening with Carol Higgins Clark, Thursday, October 13th at 7:00 PM (doors open at 6:00 PM) at the Burnham Brook Community Center.

Mobbed: a Regan Reilly Mystery by Carol Higgins Clark — Best-selling mystery author Carol Higgins Clark will talk about her Regan Reilly detective series, take questions, and sign books. The program is free of charge and all are welcome! Burhnam Brook Community Center is located at 200 W. Michigan Avenue, Battle Creek, MI 49017. Please call 269-968-8166 with any questions.

Murder Will Out: Meet William Kent Krueger

Northwest Angle: a novel by William Kent Krueger — Meet William Kent Krueger, author of the Cork O'Connor mystery series on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM at Aunt Agatha's in Ann Arbor. Mr. Krueger will discuss and sign his new Cork O'Connor novel, Northwest Angle.