Second Grade

 

Ready for goosebumps and crazy creatures? Here's a collection of spooky stories featuring unexpected creatures and adventures. Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

What is hiding under the bed? What is scratching at the window? These five spine-chilling stories will have beginning readers everywhere begging to stay up late to read (with the light on!). For more Mister Shivers, try Shadow in the Woods.

The boy of a thousand faces by Brian Selznick

Obsessed with horror films, ten-year-old Alonzo dreams of transforming himself into "The Boy of a Thousand Faces" and gets his wish in an unexpected way.

 

Truth is sometimes stranger than fiction. Explore these fascinating stories about real people. Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

26 Fairmount Avenue by Tomie De Paola

Tomie dePaola's stories from the momentous year his family built their new house at 26 Fairmount Avenue highlight his wit, sense of humor, and strong family bonds. Continue the memoir with the rest of the 26 Fairmount Avenue series.

Recounts the life and accomplishments of Belva Lockwood, the first woman to practice law before the Supreme Court and to officially run for the presidency of the United States in 1884 and 1888.

 

Have you made your way through Dragon Masters and Last Firehawk, and need more series to read? Into fantasy and adventure? Give these titles a try.

A young dragon named Ella convinces her twin brother Owen to join her on a bold quest to find a wizard that will help cure Owen of his flaming cold. Part of the Ella and Owen series.

Grilled cheese and dragons by Nancy E Krulik

Princess Serena, who wants to be a knight instead of a princess, must perform good deeds on a Quest of Kindness to prove to her father that she deserves to go to knight school. Part of the Princess Pulverizer series.

 

Trying to satisfy a princess-obsessed reader? Look no further. The following titles are full of royalty and mythical creatures, and some ordinary characters with extraordinary flair. 

J READERS

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry--but health-conscious--witch!

Part of the Tadpoles Fairy Tale Twists series.

When you combine a love of animals with an appreciation for good humor, what do you get? A lot of great things to read! For readers who love Elephant and Piggie and Pig the Pug, here is a selection of fiction and nonfiction to keep you laughing.

Llama destroys the world by Jonathan Stutzman
Also available in: video

Eating too much pie causes Llama to rip his dancing pants, opening a black hole and threatening the entire universe. Check out more books by Jonathan Stutzman.

I'm Trying to Love Spiders will help you see these amazing arachnids in a whole new light, from their awesomely excessive eight eyes to the seventy-five pounds of bugs a spider can eat in a single year! Bethany Barton also tackles bees in a humorous and welcoming way.

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

 

Interested in reading a story that takes place in a different time period? Try checking out one of these historic tales. Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Aaron and the Green Mountain Boys by Patricia Lee Gauch

This story of the Revolutionary War is based on a real boy who lived in Bennington, Vermont, in 1777.

Again, Josefina! by Valerie Tripp

Nine-year-old Josefina wants to give up learning to play the piano until she sees how much joy her music gives to her baby nephew.

 

Put on your detective cap and get sleuthing with one of these mystery stories.  Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

While visiting Aunt Molly at a fancy downtown hotel, Cam uses her photographic memory to help one of the guests find her stolen luggage and pet cat, and to catch the thief.

The case of the buried bones by Lewis B Montgomery

When a puzzling note and a skeleton are found in place of the town's time capsule, sleuths-in-training Milo and Jazz race with Gordy Fletcher to solve a seventy-five-year-old mystery.

 

Looking for a good read in a comic book format? Try checking out one of these daring graphic novels. Books are suggested for Second Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Alerted to a global energy crisis, the President consults with the World's Best Scientist, who suggests sending a special group of astronauts to turn the Moon into a solar power plant.

Crabapple trouble by artist Kaeti Vandorn

Callaway just wants to help her friends but the pressure of an upcoming contest is giving her anxiety.

 

The following titles may be enjoyed by Second Graders. All readers are at different levels and have different interests, so not all titles will appeal to, or be appropriate for, all readers. For additional recommendations ask at the Children's Reference Desk.

Fiction

Fiction books for Second Grade can be found in a variety of locations, including J PICTURE BOOK, J READER, KIDS GRAPHIC NOVEL, and JFICTION. Click on each title for location and availability.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Second Grade