May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Do you love cats? If so, then today's your day! It's National Cat Day on October 29! National Cat Day brings awareness to the countless number of cats in shelters who need a forever home. So if you're thinking of adding a fur baby to your family, check out these books from our pet collection! And consider adopting your four-legged friend from a local rescue like the Michigan Orphan Kitten Rescue!

For fans of Grumpy Cat and Cats on Instagram there's a new cat in town--Bailey, No Ordinary Cat--of the Facebook name, is a special cat with a growing fan base, garnering over 2 million views on Ellen's Instagram and videos that have been shared by Good Morning America, ABC News, CBS News, and more. What makes Bailey more addictive than catnip? In addition to his adorable expressions and his hilarious, heartfelt antics, Bailey has a penchant for doing things that are characteristically uncatlike--things like taking bubble baths (and enjoying them), sitting attentively in a chair and being read to (for hours), getting a pet -icure, and his unending patience while co-raising his human siblings Abby and Hannah (yes, there is photographic evidence that Bailey helped with potty-training). If you have a cat you know how independent they are. Bailey, No Ordinary Cat celebrates the unique quirky spirit of this unforgettable feline through four-color photographs and captions from the voice of Bailey himself. Cat lovers will be delighted to peek into the life of their favorite celebrity cat with the huge eyes, huge heart, and huge personality--and an ever-growing following.

We learn so much from our feline friends, and along the way they keep us company, provide unconditional love, and share in the ups and downs of our lives. What do we learn from our cats? Everything. Our cats make us better people. If we rescued them, they rescue us back. If we're sad, they comfort us. If we need to have more fun, they show us how. They are our therapists, our role models, and our best friends. You'll laugh a lot, tear up at times, and nod your head in recognition as you read these tales about the wonderful experience of sharing life with a cat. Life lessons from our cats come in many forms, from the hilarious to the heroic. You'll enjoy a wide variety in these 101 entertaining stories.

If you enjoyed reading about Blaire Wilson, the American Girl of the Year 2019, you might enjoy these other books about local farming and food, and community service.

Fiction

Gabriela Rivera is a sixth-grader with a serious peanut allergy, lots of artistic talent, one friend at her school, and a total lack of self-confidence--but when she meets Daisy, the owner and baker at Daisy's Desserts, who makes allergy free treats, she finally starts to gain some confidence in her own considerable abilities.

Even though Halloween can be a scary time, storytime is a great place to explore Spooky but not Scary stories. There are so many great options out there. Be sure to check them out and watch out for ghosts!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

Sometimes we can't just travel to another place instantly. However, thanks to Storytime, we can travel to many other places just by turning the page and reading a book. Enjoy taking your next trip with these great books!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

 

The eighties were a time of patience and not one of instant gratification. Take the 80s TV shows. You actually had to wait a whole week and watch the next episode of Dallas to find out who shot J.R.?!  There was no such thing as binging on a TV series. Start binging on our collection of 80s TV shows for free.

School is in full swing and so is the pressure to do get good grades. A recent study by Pew Research Center found 60% of students are stressed out. While parents and schools want students to achieve academic excellence, getting to that goal can lead to anxiety and apprehension. Check out some of these books that can offer solutions to managing school stress.

Get ready for the best years of your life! From the experts behind Her Campus, this completely updated college guide is bursting with insider tips to help you navigate classes, relationships, and all your extracurriculars--including parties and Greek life, of course. Whether you're just starting freshman year or a seasoned pro as an upperclassman, you'll learn tips and tricks for how to survive: Bonding with your roommate--while setting ground rules for your new space at the same time, Beating the dreaded Freshman 15 without having to give up dessert
--Snagging a date with the cutie from class, Coping with stress and anxiety--even during the insanity of finals week! Navigating student loans and finding the best financial aid, scholarships, and post-graduate loan forgiveness programs, Scoring awesome jobs and internships and transitioning into post-collegiate life, Staying safe on campus so you can enjoy all college has to offer--without horror stories. Complete with fun checklists and helpful worksheets, The Her Campus Guide to College Life, Updated and Expanded Edition shows you how to make the most out of your undergrad experience--in and outside the classroom.

As a student in college--you're dealing with a lot. At times this can be physically, mentally, and emotionally draining between classes, homework, activities, and building a new social life for yourself. But the secret to making sure these are the best years of your life is making time for self-care. If you've been working for hours on your latest paper, take a walk around campus to get moving. If you're feeling tired after a long week of classes and activities, give yourself permission to say no to those Friday night plans and take a relaxing evening for yourself. Self-Care for College Students offers suggestions that help you tackle every aspect of taking care of yourself from the simplest tasks to rewarding activities that might require more planning. Whether it is making sure you eat a healthy meal to utilizing your school's support services, there is advice for any situation. In this book, find realistic and practical self-care activities that you can try right away to maximize your college experience. Each activity is designed to help you refuel, such as making sure you get enough sleep to developing an exercise routine. Start making time for you and make your college years the best of your life--all while building lifelong habits for success and happiness for years to come.

 

Did you miss our Hooray Storytime this week? Don't worry, here's what you missed, plus a few more suggestions so you can create your own celebration storytime at home, complete with songs and stories.

Don't need a full storytime? Borrow a rhyme when you need a short distraction, or check out these materials and spend a few minutes reading together.

From Storytime

Hooray for today! by Brian Won

When the moon is up, Owl is wide awake and ready for fun: "Hooray for today! Would you like to play?" Who will be ready for some fun?

Check out Brian Won's other Hooray books.

Anne Frank was 15 years old when her family was discovered hiding from the German Nazi's in 1944. Sadly, her whole family perished in concentration camps with the exception of her father, Otto, who later had her diary published.  She was a bright, effervescent teenager and I often wonder what she would have been like as an adult. I imagine she would have continued writing and making an impact on the world.

The cat who lived with Anne Frank by 1955- David Lee Miller
Anne Frank by Stephen Krensky

A Biography is a book that tells the true story of a person's life.  Storytime is great place to explore beginning Biographies as a way to introduce young readers to non-fiction.  Enjoy!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

If you're one of the 40 million women over 45, you might be having a hot flash now. Menopause is a natural part of the aging process. There are some things to celebrate during the "change," and World Menopause Month's goal is to help you embrace it. Here some books in our health collection to that will hopefully provide the best ways to find balance and well-being.

As women approach menopause, many start to experience the physical and emotional indignities of hormonal fluctuation: metabolic stall and weight gain, hot flashes and night sweats, insomnia, memory loss or brain fog, irritability, low libido, and painful sex. Too often, doctors tell us that these discomforts are to be expected and that we will have to wait them out during "the change"; some of us even agree to be unnecessarily medicated. But Dr. Anna Cabeca's research and experience with thousands of her patients show that there is a fast-acting and nonpharmaceutical way to dramatically and permanently alleviate these symptoms.

Liz Earle, MBE, is one of the world's most respected and trusted authorities on wellbeing. Following up on her bestselling books, Skin and The Good Gut Guide, this beautifully illustrated guide shares all of the information, tips and advice you need for a healthy menopause. She provides guidance on how to balance your hormones, the importance of a nourishing diet, the myths and facts about HRT, osteoporosis, how to optimize bone health, and how to boost energy and self-esteem. An expert on beauty, Liz Earle also provides advice on how to take special care of skin, hair and nails, and how to combat aging with supplements. She also shares 60 nutritious recipes - including many suitable for vegetarians - to help you feel and look your best

Pages