Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group

The Canton Seniors Book Group meets the fourth Thursday of the month from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Friends Activity Room.  In December members share their favorite titles.  No registration required.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: October 24, 2019

The atomic city girls by Janet Beard
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not only the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. And then imagine that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive… Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. But that letter is about to change everything—and not just for her. There are other women who barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they, too, are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, October 24 - 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM Friends' Activity Room

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: August 22, 2019

The husband's secret by Liane Moriarty
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not only the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. And then imagine that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive… Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. But that letter is about to change everything—and not just for her. There are other women who barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they, too, are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: May 23, 2019

Kindred by Octavia E Butler

Dana, a modern black woman, is celebrating her twenty-sixth birthday with her new husband when she is snatched abruptly from her home in California and transported to the antebellum South. Rufus, the white son of a plantation owner, is drowning, and Dana has been summoned to save him. Dana is drawn back repeatedly through time to the slave quarters, and each time the stays grow longer, more arduous, and more dangerous until it is uncertain whether or not Dana's life will end, long before it has a chance to begin.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: February 28, 2018

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series tells the story of the delightfully cunning and enormously engaging Precious Ramotswe, who is drawn to her profession to "help people with problems in their lives." Immediately upon setting up shop in a small storefront in Gaborone, she is hired to track down a missing husband, uncover a con man, and follow a wayward daughter. But the case that tugs at her heart, and lands her in danger, is a missing eleven-year-old boy, who may have been snatched by witchdoctors.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: December 27, 2018

Please join us for laughter, warm drinks, and treats for our end of the year recap of our most loved (and hated!) books of the year. As a group, we read a number of interesting titles in 2018--come enjoy an hour with us and tell us what you thought. Bring a dish to share, and we hope to see you there!

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: September 26, 2019

Saints for all occasions by J. Courtney Sullivan
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

A sweeping, unforgettable novel from The New York Times best-selling author of Maine, about the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters and the secret that drives them apart. Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their small village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the responsible sister; she's shy and serious and engaged to a man she isn't sure that she loves. Theresa is gregarious; she is thrilled by their new life in Boston and besotted with the fashionable dresses and dance halls on Dudley Street. But when Theresa ends up pregnant, Nora is forced to come up with a plan--a decision with repercussions they are both far too young to understand. Fifty years later, Nora is the matriarch of a big Catholic family with four grown children: John, a successful, if opportunistic, political consultant; Bridget, privately preparing to have a baby with her girlfriend; Brian, at loose ends after a failed baseball career; and Patrick, Nora's favorite, the beautiful boy who gives her no end of heartache. Estranged from her sister and cut off from the world, Theresa is a cloistered nun, living in an abbey in rural Vermont. Until, after decades of silence, a sudden death forces Nora and Theresa to confront the choices they made so long ago. A graceful, supremely moving novel from one of our most beloved writers, Saints for All Occasions explores the fascinating, funny, and sometimes achingly sad ways a secret at the heart of one family both breaks them and binds them together.

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, September 26 - 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM Friends' Activity Room

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: July 25, 2019

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

 

When Bee aces her report card she claims her reward, which is a trip to Antarctica, but her mother, Bernadette, disappears due to her intensifying allergy to Seattle and people in general, which has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands and Bee uses emails, invoices, school memos, private correspondence, and other evidence to try and understand why her mother has left.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: June 27, 2019

The Turner house by Angela Flournoy
Also available in: audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

A powerful, timely debut, The Turner House marks a major new contribution to the story of the American family. The Turners have lived on Yarrow Street for over fifty years. Their house has seen thirteen children grown and gone--and some returned; it has seen the arrival of grandchildren, the fall of Detroit's East Side, and the loss of a father. The house still stands despite abandoned lots, an embattled city, and the inevitable shift outward to the suburbs. But now, as ailing matriarch Viola finds herself forced to leave her home and move in with her eldest son, the family discovers that the house is worth just a tenth of its mortgage. The Turner children are called home to decide its fate and to reckon with how each of their pasts haunts--and shapes--their family's future. Already praised by Ayana Mathis as "utterly moving" and "un-putdownable," The Turner House brings us a colorful, complicated brood full of love and pride, sacrifice and unlikely inheritances. It's a striking examination of the price we pay for our dreams and futures, and the ways in which our families bring us home.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: March 28, 2019

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group: January 24, 2019

Little women by 1832-1888 Louisa May Alcott
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

Chronicles the joys and sorrows of the four March sisters as they grow into young ladies in nineteenth-century New England.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Subscribe to RSS - Canton Seniors Book Discussion Group