Catalog

Search our Catalog

daviscrl's Blog

Writers' Group

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet on Saturday, January 28 from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room.

Holiday Readings

Take a delightful holiday romance, a creamy glass of eggnog, and one crackling fire (roasting chestnuts optional). Settle down into a comfy chair and you have the recipe for a perfect snowy evening.

Holly Lane: a destiny novel by Toni Blake

A Texas Christmas by Jody Thomas ... [et. al.]

New Japanese Books

Come in and take a look at the great new Japanese books we've added to the collection in 2011. Recently received titles include:

Inemuri sensei by Ijūin Shizuka

Idai naru shurarabon by Makime Manabu

Banbatsuki by Miyabe Miyuki

Sanpi ryōron kasahara masahiro no gohan no tomo 110: Kantansugiru umasugiru by Kasahara Masahiro

New Books in Kannada

Our 2011 books in Kannada are on the shelf and waiting to be checked out. Titles include:

Citādanta : [rōcaka kādambari] by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya

Ivarellarū Bhārata ratna ru by Ji. Eṃ. Kr̥ṣṇamūrti

Kathā samaya : purāṇa jagattina beragina kathegaḷu by Jōgi

Nēhala : kathegaḷu by Ke. En. Gaṇēśayya

Book Gems: Nonfiction

On September 29, the librarians of CPL presented the hidden 'gems' in the stacks; books you might never have heard of but that you won't want to miss. In the video below, Lisa tells us about several good nonfiction titles:

Did you miss the program the first time around? Did we miss some hidden gems? Tell us if you'd like us to do this program again in the comments. Also, enjoy the full list of nonfiction books below:

Devil in the details: scenes from an obsessive girlhood by Jennifer Traig — As a teenager in California during the eighties, Traig's obsessive compulsive disorder made her disinfect everything around her. She looks back with an unflinching eye — sharing even the most painful details — but she does it with humor and compassion. If you like memoirs/essays of David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs, or Rhoda Janzen’s Mennonite in a little black dress this is for you.


Truck: a love story
by Michael Perry — In this delightful memoir Michael Perry describes a year of his life in rural Wisconsin with the understated writing style typical of a northerner. The truck in the title is a decrepit 1951 L-120 International pickup and its history and repairs are woven in to Perry’s life as he muses on a variety of topics including: growing vegetables, writing, and falling in love. For readers of Garrison Keillor’s books or Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

New Bengali Books

Looking for books in Bengali? We have them. New Bengali books received in 2011 include:

Ādhunika ramaṇīdera ādhunika rānnā by Sādiẏā Rahamāna Munnī

Bandha darajā kholā darajā by Sunīla Gaṅgopādhyāẏa

Karporeṭa bhālobāsā by Śahīdula Haka Khāna

Saṃsiddha: galpagrantha = Sangshiddha = Accomplished by Runu Haka, Śabanama Āmīra, Sāherā Āphajā, Phārajānā Āhmeda, Pheradausa Jesamīna

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, November 17th from 6:00-7:00 PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.

Adults Writing Childrens' Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, November 19th from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.

Adults Writing Children's Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, October 22nd from 2:00-3:00 PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, October 27th from 6:00-7:00 PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.

Book Gems: Fiction

If you missed our Book Gems program last night, you can still take a peek at the titles we highlighted:

Not all tarts are apple by Pip Granger — This charming book set in 1953 London focuses on Rosie, the 7-year-old narrator, and the colorful characters in her Soho neighborhood. Try this if you like cozy British mysteries — especially if you care more about the setting and characters than the mystery itself.

Then she found me by Elinor Lipman — Restrained high school Latin teacher April Epner is dismayed when her extroverted birth mother finds her in this wry, unsentimental comedy of manners. A good choice for readers of Anne Tyler or Elizabeth Berg.

Book Gems

Join us Thursday, September 29, from 7:00-8:00 PM for Book Gems. Our staff will explore some great hidden-in-plain-sight reads in Canton Public Library's fiction and nonfiction collections. Discover new and interesting titles for your book group or reading stack.

Adult Writers' Group

Interested in writing fiction, all types of media or genres? Join us on Thursday, September 22nd from 6:00-7:00PM for our Adult Writers' Group. Dave Richards, a library assistant and a freelance writer for the Eisner Award winning website, Comic Book Resources, moderates. Dave has completed an unpublished science fiction mystery novel and is currently writing a horror novel.

Adults Writing Children's Lit Group

The Adults Writing Children's Lit Group will meet on Saturday, September 24th from 2:00-3:00PM in the Purple Room. If you are interested in writing for children, join us as we share our work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing.