These new middle-grade books are so good, we want to get up and dance! Enjoy one or more of these titles that are so good, you might want to read them twice. Check these out now before the word gets out! 

Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

Shouting at the rain by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Also available in: audiobook

Delsie loves tracking the weather--lately, though, it seems the squalls are in her own life. She's always lived with her kindhearted Grammy, but now she's looking at their life with new eyes and wishing she could have a "regular family." Delsie observes other changes in the air, too--the most painful being a friend who's outgrown her. Luckily, she has neighbors with strong shoulders to support her, and Ronan, a new friend who is caring and courageous but also troubled by the losses he's endured. As Ronan and Delsie traipse around Cape Cod on their adventures, they both learn what it means to be angry versus sad, broken versus whole, and abandoned versus loved. And that, together, they can weather any storm. For fans of Fish in a Tree and Wonder

All of these titles have one thing in common, space. Dive in to read about an adventure in outer space, books about the solar system, and much more! 

Nonfiction

Space travel by Jerry (Consultant) Stone

It doesn't matter if you are taking a long trip, or reading it chapter by chapter before bedtime, it is always great to enjoy a story together as a family. We have some fun suggestions below to read or listen to together this summer. 

Dragons in a bag by Zetta Elliott
A dash of trouble by Anna Meriano

Middle Grade

P.S. I miss you by Jen Petro-Roy
Zenobia July by Lisa Bunker

Experience To Go Kits are created to help you pursue your best life and try something new. The Summer STEM Kit includes My Book of Rocks and Minerals, activity sheets, ping pong ball, dull nail, compass, litmus paper, magnifying glass, chalk, pipette, balloons, measuring tape, and a dry erase marker. Can't make it in to check out the kit? Try one of the below suggestions to help you get your fix! 

Local Science Fix

CPL STEM Programming

CPL currently hosts two regular STEM programs and has other opportunities for science fun with the library. Visit our program calendar for a full list of what is coming up.

Free or reduced rates to science-themed attractions

By using your library card, you can get free admission or reduced rates to tons of science-y places this summer. Find out more by visiting our community offerings page

 

The YouPer (Young Person) Award recognizes and promotes quality literature for youth in chapter book format. This award was given for the first time in 2014 by the Michigan Library Association. The award is given annually to one children’s book originally published in the United States during the calendar year that has captured the attention of the youth librarians throughout the State of Michigan for its ability to communicate through literature to an intended audience. The books below are listed in random order as the winner has yet to be announced. 

City of ghosts by Victoria Schwab
Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook
Blended by Sharon M. (Sharon Mills) Draper
Also available in: audiobook

April is Autism Awareness Month. To celebrate, we have gathered some great titles in Nonfiction, Adult, Youth, and Teen for you to explore.

Nonfiction

Bubble Science

Patrons of all ages and abilities are invited to join us Saturday, June 8th from 2-3 PM for a Bubble Science program. We will be exploring different types of solutions and seeing how big, small, or strong we can make our bubbles using various household items. Feel free to wear a swimsuit or bring a towel if you want to get messy. Our program will be outdoors, weather permitting. 

Click here for reasonable accommodations requests

soap bubbles with forest background

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Pride Trivia Night

Come celebrate LGBTQ+ pride in a safe and relaxed environment with our Pride Trivia Night!  Compete for prizes as you test your knowledge of notable LGBTQ+ historical figures, celebrities, sports figures, works of literature, and more. You might be surprised by what you'll learn. Bring a team or drop in on your own and connect with others. Light refreshments will be provided.

 

No registration required.

gay pride flag

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

Pages