Nonfiction Book Group August 2021

Join us Saturday, August 21 2021 at 10:00 AM via Zoom video conference as the Nonfiction Book Group discusses: 

Also available in: e-book

Black has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. She recounts her first dissection; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster. In doing so, she reveals how forensic science has developed-- and what her work has taught her about human nature. 

Upcoming sessions

Saturday, August 21 - 10:00 AM to 11:00 AM Online

The library would like to sincerely thank the Tamil Aarvalargal Group for their generous donation of over 200 Tamil language books for the adult international language collection, including both fiction and nonfiction titles.  Tamil Aavalargal Group's dedication to literacy is both admirable and much appreciated!

Following someone's journey through life can be inspiring, powerful and heartbreaking all at the same time.  Walk a mile in someone else's shoes by reading these memoirs.  

When breath becomes air by Paul Kalanithi
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. 

The glass castle : a memoir by Jeannette Walls
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Books Set in South America

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Books Set in Asia

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

 

 

 

Complete a READ square by reading or listening to a book,  or by doing something bookish!  

If you are in need of some help with your reading journey, here are some suggestions:

  • Go on an adventure without leaving your chair! You can Read Around the World with international book suggestions for both adults and children.   
  • Looking to go on a journey through Michigan?  Try these suggestions for adults and children.
  • Reading about the personal journeys of others can be both inspiring and riveting. We also have amazing personal journeys for the kids to enjoy!
  • Looking to try a different book format?  The library has a great selection of graphic novels for both adults and children.  
  • Explore the art of making your own book by trying book sewing and book binding crafts on Creativebug (Canton Public library card required). We also have some fantastic crafting books to read and enjoy for adults and kids!
  • Check out the 2021 Summer Big Library Read!
  • Besides just searching our catalog, you can explore our May We Suggest page, full of searchable booklists by topic and age. You can even request personalized recommendations from the comfort of your own home.

How do you really get to know someone? 

  • Asking people questions about their life is one way to find out about them.   StoryCorps has an app  that you can download to record conversations and even upload them to their story archive.
  • If you are interested in family history, MyHeritage has 117 questions that you can ask your family member.  
  • The library has hundreds of biographies to read for both adults and children!  Find out more about someone through the written (or spoken) word!

 

Books Set in Africa

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

If you're interested in researching your family history, there are many online resources available to begin your search (and a lot of them are free!).  Use the attached worksheet to document your progress!

Essentials

Books Set in Oceania

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

 

 

Pages