Catalog

Search our Catalog

Seniors

Adult Writers' Group December 2013

Interested in writing? Join other adults to share your work, get feedback and discuss the craft of writing. We will meet at 2:00 PM on Saturday, December 7.

Knit Night

Join other handcrafters for an evening of sharing and learning. All ages and stages are welcome at this informal gathering of Monday, December 9 at 7 PM in the library Purple Room. Bring your own project, yarn and needles.

A Holiday in the Islands Concert

Looking forward to the holidays, but already weary of the cold? We have the solution and something for everyone. Enjoy the amazing Gratitude Steel Band as they present "A Holiday in the Islands Concert" on Sunday, December 15 at 2 PM. Chaz and his band, a product of Trinidad and Tobago, will perform fun music celebrating Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanza. You won't be able to sit still through this upbeat performance.

If You Like Legal Thrillers

Prime witness by Steve Martini

The Lincoln lawyer: a novel by Michael Connelly

Running from the law by Lisa Scottoline

The fifth assassin by Brad Meltzer

The cheater by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

Flu Clinic + Medicare Part D Answers

Our partners at Walgreens are giving us all one last chance to get our flu shots before we gather with family and friends for the holidays. Let's all be healthy and enjoy our time with loved ones. Also, the Medicare deadline looms on December 7 and you still may have a few questions. The trained professionals at Walgreens have the answers. So, bring your family for flu shots (free with most insurance cards) and your questions regarding Medicare Part D on Wednesday, December 4 at 2:30 in the library Purple Room.

Savvy Seniors: November is National Family Caregivers Month

November is National Family Caregiving Month and a great time to think about how you can fit exercise into your busy schedule! Being active has many benefits for caregivers including increasing your energy level; maintaining and improving your physical strength and fitness; and managing and preventing chronic diseases and conditions like diabetes, heart disease, and osteoporosis. Check out these resources for caregivers on Go4Life:

Caregivers and Exercise--Take Time for Yourself

Helping Older Family Members Become More Active

Helping People with Alzheimer's Disease Stay Physically Active


(Source: National Institute of Health)

John F. Kennedy Assassination 50th Anniversary

 John F. Kennedy, the 36th president of the United States was assassinated in Dallas, Texas 50 years ago this year. It was an unforgettable day for most Americans who grew up in the 1960s, leaving a lasting impression on many of them. "Where were you when you heard about President Kennedy's assassination?" would become a recurring question of the time.

John F. Kennedy on Film

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the death of President John F. Kennedy.  Check out some of the following documentaries for some historical perspective:

The Kennedy inauguration [videodisc]: January 20, 1961 by Films for the Humanities & Sciences ; NBC News ; NBC Universal, Inc

A tour of the White House with Mrs. John F. Kennedy [videodisc]: 1962 televised tour by created and produced by CBS News ; proudly presented by Marshall Fields, the Field Museum

Cuban missile crisis [videodisc]: three men go to war

American Experience: JFK by Kennedy, John F

The Kennedy Half-Century by Kennedy, John F

JFK Remembered: 50 Years Later by Kennedy, John Fitzgerald

The Day Kennedy Died by Spacey, Kevin

New Documentaries on the Shelf

Manhunt— Boston bombers [videodisc] by a NOVA production ; produced and directed by Miles O'Brien

The search for Robert Johnson [videodisc]: the real story of the greatest folk blues guitar player that ever lived by produced and directed by Chris Hunt.

Treasures of New York [videodisc] by WLIW21 in association with WNET

Nureyev [videodisc]: a portrait by producer and director, Patricia Foy

Richard III [videodisc]: martyr or monster? by produced by Coda Publishing ; written and directed by Bob Carruthers

The waiting room [videodisc] by Docurama ; directed by Peter Nicks

Job Search Toolkit

Whether you are looking for a new job or considering changing careers, the library can help!

Native American Biographies

In honor of Native American Heritage Month check out some of the biographies of notable First Americans from the Library's collection, or go to this list for more information.

Tecumseh: a life by John Sugden

Sacajawea by [by] Harold P. Howard

Chief Joseph & the flight of the Nez Perce: the untold story of an American tragedy by Kent Nerburn

Crazy Horse: a Lakota life by Kingsley M. Bray

Pocahontas by Grace Steele Woodward

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

New Books on the Biography Shelf

Daughter of empire: my life as a Mountbatten by Lady Pamela Hicks

Jim Henson: the biography by Brian Jay Jones

Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin

My story by Elizabeth Smart with Chris Stewart

Author Talk: Mark Binelli at Nicola's Book

Detroit City is the Place to Be: The Afterlife of an American City. Author and former Detroiter Mark Binelli will discuss his recent book on Wednesday, November 6 at Nicola's Books at 7:00 PM. Binelli's book is a realistic assessment of Detroit and its' future.

Native American Heritage Month

birdIn 1990, President George H.W. Bush declared the month of November as "National American Indian Heritage Month", which has come to be commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month. By either name it is a time of "recognition for the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S." The Library's collection is a great place to look for materials about Native Americans and their place in our country's history.

500 nations: an illustrated history of North American Indians by Alvin M. Josephy, Jr. ; based on a documentary filmscript by Jack Leustig, Roberta Grossman, Lee Miller, and William Morgan with contributions by John M.D. Pohl

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas

Daily life of Native Americans from post-Columbian through nineteenth-century America by Alice Nash and Christoph Strobel

It's Medicare Enrollment Time - We've Got Answers

It's Medicare enrollment time and we all have questions. Walgreens will be here to answer those questions, ease your mind and save you money when possible. Please join us on November 12 at 3:00 PM and bring your questions. The enrollment period ends in December.