Adults

Genealogy @ Your Library: FamilySearch.org

FamilySearch.org is a free searchable genealogical resource sponsored by the Church of Latter Day Saints. In addition to having billions of searchable records, it also has a vast amount of educational information regarding genealogy.  Join us as we explore this free family history treasure trove.

No registration is necessary.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Some mostly modern fiction to enjoy during these questionable times. 

Boston's massacre by Eric Hinderaker

On the night of March 5, 1770, British soldiers fired into a crowd gathered in front of Boston's Custom House, killing five people. Denounced as an act of unprovoked violence and villainy, the event that came to be known as the Boston Massacre is one of the most familiar incidents in American history, yet one of the least understood. Eric Hinderaker revisits this dramatic episode, examining in forensic detail the facts of that fateful night, the competing narratives that molded public perceptions at the time, and the long campaign afterward to transform the tragedy into a touchstone of American identity.

July 1, 1867. The Constitution Act, 1867 is enacted,  uniting the three separate colonies of the Province of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into a single Dominion within the British Empire called Canada.

The Constitution : an introduction by Michael Stokes Paulsen

July 2, 1788. The United States Constitution was ratified.

July 2, 1881. President James A. Garfield was shot as he entered a railway station in Washington, D.C. He died on September 19.

Digital Escape Room: Adventures in Libraryland

A certain book is lost in the library and only you can find it by answering a series of riddles! Try our digital escape room online and test your wits. No registration necessary! Ages 11 & up.

Click if you are ready to begin.

This escape room will be accessible online ALL SUMMER from July 6 - August 15. Use it with 62 Days of Summer to fulfill your Play a Game square or the Construct an Obstacle Course square.

 

Photo by Tatiana Colhoun on Unsplash.

Upcoming sessions

There are no upcoming sessions available.

A selection of U.S. history eBooks on hoopla that cover the core values of the United States, the American Revolution, and the historical issues we are still reconciling today. 

The Foundation

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are the "Oscars" of the comics world. Check below to access eBook or borrow print copies of many award nominees. Visit the San Diego Comic-Con site for the complete list of nominees

Best Continuing Series

Make Your Own Journal with Fineberg Art Studio

Example of hand-made journal

This has definitely been an eventful year, and what a way to process everything that has happened than your own hand-made "junk journal"? Junk journals are perfect for recording memories and thoughts in a creative way. Make your own junk journal with papers and items you probably already have at home. We have invited Emily of Fineberg Art Studio to walk you through materials, simple binding techniques, and fun ideas that you can add to your pages. This is a fun and low-stress beginner bookbinding project, and once you make one, you will want to make more! 

Check back on Thursday, July 16 when our video goes live!

You will need: 

  • Variety of papers and paper ephemera, old magazines, pictures, envelopes, book pages, etc.
  • Thin cardboard for the cover (cereal box)
  • Pen or pencil
  • Ruler
  • Glue (glue stick recommended)
  • Scissors
  • Needle and thread (embroidery floss or thin yarn)
  • Awl or push pin
  • Any other art making supplies like paint, markers, washi tape, stickers, etc.

Optional:

  • Stretchy cord or elastic
  • A few clothespins or binder clips
  • Old hardcover book
  • X-Acto knife or box cutter
  • Wax paper

Once the video is released, no registration is required to complete the project; however, the first 15 people to register by 9AM on July 09 can also claim a special grab-n-go kit of recycled book pages and covers at the library through our contact-free holds pickup! Kit Pick Up for the Journal Program will begin July 9th and end July 16th. You will receive an email with instructions once your kit is available.

Looking for more inspiration? Check out the thousands of craft videos available on Creativebug to get started today!

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, July 16 (All day) Register for Kit Register

Kitchen gardening has been around since the early times. A small plot of land near the house can be used to grow a variety of fruits and vegetables for household use, according to the season. Growing your own food has many health benefits:

You eat more fresh fruits and vegetables,

You chose what pesticides and fertilizers to use
Harvest time is chosen by you.

It is good exercise and fun for the whole family.           

These books and other resources can help you get started on your kitchen garden today!  

For more ways to have the best possible summer head back to the 62 Ways to do 62 Days page!                      

 

Books

Subscribe to RSS - Adults