Romance

Look What's In Large Print: Holiday Reads

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

Look What's In Large Print: August, 2014

It's the dog days of summer and you may feel like reading, but nothing too taxing.  Short stories collections are a good choice.

The collected short stories of Louis L'amour [large print]. Volume 3. The frontier stories. Part 3 by Louis L'Amour

Full dark, no stars [large print] by Stephen King

Summer brides [large print] by Susan Wiggs, Sherryl Woods, and Susan Mallery

Coronado [large print]: stories by Dennis Lehane

Some days you get the bear [large print] by Lawrence Block

If You Like Amy Tan...

If you like strong female characters with a sense of adventure such as the women featured in Amy Tan's stories, may we suggest...

Beautiful ruins: a novel by Jess Walter

The inheritance of loss by Kiran Desai

Beside a burning sea by John Shors

Daughter's keeper by Ayelet Waldman

The round house by Louise Erdrich

The madonnas of Leningrad: a novel by Debra Dean

Sink Your Teeth In: Fiction Featuring WereBeasts

Be it a furry romance, or a spine-tingling horror novel, these part-human, part-beast creatures have taken hold of our literary imaginations!

Red moon: a novel by Benjamin Percy

Dead until dark by Charlaine Harris

Moon called by Patricia Briggs

Darkness devours by Keri Arthur

Beauty and the werewolf by Mercedes Lackey

Love Stories: Great Romantic Films

Penelope [videodisc] by Summit Entertainment and Stone Village Pictures present a Type A Films ; Tatira Active Film production in association with Grosvenor Park Productions

Miss Pettigrew lives for a day [videodisc] by Keylight Entertainment Group ; Kudos Productions Ltd.

I could never be your woman [videodisc] by I Could Never Ltd. ; Bauer Martinez Studios ; Scott Rudin Productions

Four weddings and a funeral [videodisc] by Polygram Filmed Entertainment and Channel Four Films [present] ; a Working Title production

The proposal [videodisc] by Touchstone Pictures presents a Mandeville Films production, an Anne Fletcher film

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production

Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production

Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet

You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Romance