Realistic Fiction

Realistic Fiction for First Grade

Want stories about regular people like you? Try these suggestions.

Lulu and the rabbit next door by Hilary McKay — Lulu is an animal lover. Other Lulu books are available in the fiction shelves at JFICTION MCKAY.

Big bug surprise by Julia Gran —  Features a young lady with a
serious interest in bugs. For factual books about bugs, look in the nonfiction
shelves at J595.

Alexander and the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day by Judith Viorst —  A classic story about a terrible day. Look for more stories about Alexander in the Picture Book collection under VIO.

Look What's In Large Print January 2015

Check out recent bestsellers available in Large Print.

The burning room [large print]: a novel by Michael Connelly

Gray Mountain [large print]: a novel by John Grisham

Unbroken [large print]: a World War II story of survival, resilience, and redemption by Laura Hillenbrand

Gone girl [large print]: a novel by Gillian Flynn

Hope to die [large print] by James Patterson

Suggested Reads for Tenth Grade

Here are some suggested reads for tenth grade, with fiction, historical fiction, graphic novels and everything in between. make sure to also check out our other high school lists!

Fiction

The story of Owen: dragon slayer of Trondheim by E. K. Johnston

The midnight dress by Karen Foxlee

The summer prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

If I ever get out of here: a novel with paintings by Eric Gansworth

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Suggested Reads for 8th Grade

There are so many great books out there for eight graders! Below are some particularly good ones from recent years, spanning fiction, nonfiction, graphic novels, and everything in between.

Fiction

The earth, my butt, and other big, round things by Carolyn Mackler

Far far away by Tom McNeal, a sinister take on Hansel and Gretel

Akata witch by Nnedi Okorafor, essentially Harry Potter set in Nigeria

Eat, brains, love by Jeff Hart

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Realistic Fiction Suggestions by Grade

Kindergarten

Tulip loves Rex by Alyssa Satin Capucilli ; illustrated by Sarah Massini — A little girl who loves to dance finds a dog who shares her passion.

Bad bye, good bye by written by Deborah Underwood ; illustrated by Jonathan Bean — Moving is difficult!

Maple & Willow apart by Lori Nichols — Willow is off to school. What will her little sister do?

Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman ; pictures by Caroline Binch — For the theater lover or big dreamer in your life.

A perfect day for digging by Cari Best ; illustrated by Christine Davenier — Is digging ever too dirty?

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Realistic Fiction