Mystery

Murder Will Out: Hercule Poirot Returns

ITV in partnership with Agatha Christie, LTD has announced they will film 5 new Hercule Poirot stories for release in 2012.

Dead man's folly by Agatha Christie

The big four [Large print]: a Hercule Poirot mystery by Agatha Christie

Elephants can remember [by] Agatha Christie by Christie, Agatha, 1890-1976

Curtain by Agatha Christie

The Labors of Hercules —a Hercule Poirot mystery by Christie, Agatha

Murder Will Out: December 2011

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Vintner's Book Discussion Will Not Meet in December

Wine and Mysteries Book Discussion, which meets monthly at Vintners Winery, will not be meeting in the month of December. Have a festive, safe and fun Christmas holiday! A few recommended titles to help you enjoy this season are:

The Christmas cookie club: a novel by Ann Pearlman

Hot toddies: mulled wine, buttered rum, spiced cider, and other soul-warming winter drinks by Christopher O'Hara; photographs by William A. Nash

Poetry-Fiction

Edgar Allan's official crime investigation notebook by Mary Amato — There's a thief at Wordsworth Elementary School and Edgar is determined to find out who it is! But this thief doesn't just stop with the classroom goldfish. Soon other classroom items disappear, and the culprit is leaving poems behind for clues. A fun mystery that will surprise readers at how much fun poetry can be.

Book Club Choices: December 2011

The perfect book for a book discussion is one that's not too easy, not too hard, that will hold the interest of a diverse group of readers and will also inspire a lively discussion. For additional book club resources check out CPL's Book Club in a Bag kits.

The true memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

The tiger's wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Life itself: a memoir by Roger Ebert

A trick of the light by Louise Penny

The blind assassin by Margaret Atwood

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Holmes on the range [sound recording] by Steve Hockensmith

Death in lacquer red [sound recording] by Jeanne M. Dams

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

Catering to nobody [sound recording] by Diane Mott Davidson

The morning show murders [sound recording] by Al Roker and Dick Lochte

Murder and Mayhem in Michigan

Imagine this: unexplained deaths, mysterious suspects, murky alibis and suspenseful prose, all happening in — Ann Arbor, Michigan? Author Harry Dolan has written two books (below) featuring the mystery magazine editor, David Loogan, and his detective sidekick, Elizabeth Waishkey, set in the famous college town. As an extra, Stephen King has recommended them. Be forewarned: reading books set in local communities may lead to murder mystery roadtrips.

Bad things happen by Harry Dolan

Very bad men by Harry Dolan

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery