Comedy

What We're Reading: April 2012

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Marcel the Shell with Shoes on: Things about me

Marcel the shell with shoes on : things about me by Jenny Slate & Dean Fleischer-Camp ; paintings by Amy Lind — Marcel is a shell. He also has shoes. And just how does that work? Check out this fun, new picture book created by writer, actress and SNL alum Jenny Slate and her partner Dean Fleischer-Camp. The book is based on a short film made by the duo in 2010 that went on to win the grand jury prize at the 2011 New York Int'l Children's Film Festival. Big accomplishments for such a little creature!

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Holmes on the range [sound recording] by Steve Hockensmith

Death in lacquer red [sound recording] by Jeanne M. Dams

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Read Alikes

If you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then try some of these titles:

Let's pretend this never happened: by Jamie Kelly by Jim Benton

Tales from a not-so-fabulous life by Rachel Renee Russell

Middle school is worse than meatloaf: a year told through stuff by Jennifer L. Holm; pictures by Elicia Castaldi

Prince of Underwhere by Bruce Hale; illustrated by Shane Hillman

Miss Daisy is crazy! by Dan Gutman; pictures by Jim Paillot

Rubber!

Do you enjoy keeping up with the films that play on the festival circuit? Do you like strange, art house thrillers? If so, you may just want to check out Rubber. Rubber, originating from France, featured prominently during 2010, playing Cannes, Fantastic Fest, AFI, and others, and is finally getting a U.S. release! The story centers around Robert, an inanimate tire, who discovers that he has destructive telepathic powers. He soon sets his sights on a desert town and a beautiful woman who becomes the focus of his obsession. Creating a path of destruction, Robert may just be the most interesting movie villain yet.

Funny and Fighting

Enjoy humor? Enjoy Action? If you've read 39 clues, Percy Jackson, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and you're looking for more books that will either make you gasp, or make you laugh, check these out:

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull; illustrated by Brandon Dorman

The day my butt went psycho by Andy Griffiths

Beyond the Deepwoods by Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell

Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo

Louise Rennison Fans!

Are you a fan of Louise Rennison's book series that began with Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging? If you are, you may have been disappointed when she published her last book in the series in 2009. That is why I was so excited to hear that she is beginning a new series revolving around the misadventures of Georgia's younger cousin, Tallulah Casey! Withering Tights is due to be released on June 28, 2011 and promises to be just as fun and hilarious as the previous books. And if you haven't read any of the books, and want to feel good and laugh out loud, give them a try!

Romance on Ice

Isn't it exciting when two perfectly unrelated, but equally beloved, things mash together? I love reading romances and I love watching ice hockey. Apparently, I am not the only one. Rachel Gibson and Deirdre Martin are just two of the authors who have written fiction with hockey players as the heroes. Grab one today and get in a little reading before the Wings take on the Blackhawks tomorrow.

Body check by Deirdre Martin

Simply irresistible by Rachel Gibson

Fair play by Deirdre Martin

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comedy