Comedy

Fiction books that made us laugh

Below are the results of a survey of CPL staff on the books that made them laugh. You might have to put some on hold, they are very popular!

"Anything by Erma Bombeck"
Wooster and Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse

Forrest Gump: a novel by Winston Groom

One for the money by Janet Evanovich and the rest of the Stephanie Plum series

The color of magic by Terry Pratchett

What We're Reading November 2012

Thanksgiving Day kicks off a month of celebrations. May we suggest a movie, tips from Martha Stewart on Thanksgiving prepartions, a history, music to sooth, and a story about family.

Planes, trains and automobiles [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures

Martha's classic Thanksgiving [videodisc] by [presented by] Marth Stewart Living Omnimedia

Mayflower: a story of courage, community, and war by Nathaniel Philbrick

Thanksgiving [sound recording]: a Windham Hill collection

Thanksgiving night: a novel by Richard Bausch

Great Book Adaptations on Turner Classic Movies

Read the book? See the movie. Throughout the month of November, Turner Classic Movies is featuring film adaptations of well-known novels. The films run 24 hours on Mondays and Wednesdays. A variety of themes are featured including Southern Novels, Adventure, American Literature, Westerns, Science Fiction and more. Stories for Children and Young Adults will be shown all day on Thanksgiving Day.

What We're Reading: April 2012

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Marcel the Shell with Shoes on: Things about me

Marcel the shell with shoes on : things about me by Jenny Slate & Dean Fleischer-Camp ; paintings by Amy Lind — Marcel is a shell. He also has shoes. And just how does that work? Check out this fun, new picture book created by writer, actress and SNL alum Jenny Slate and her partner Dean Fleischer-Camp. The book is based on a short film made by the duo in 2010 that went on to win the grand jury prize at the 2011 New York Int'l Children's Film Festival. Big accomplishments for such a little creature!

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Holmes on the range [sound recording] by Steve Hockensmith

Death in lacquer red [sound recording] by Jeanne M. Dams

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Read Alikes

If you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then try some of these titles:

Let's pretend this never happened: by Jamie Kelly by Jim Benton

Tales from a not-so-fabulous life by Rachel Renee Russell

Middle school is worse than meatloaf: a year told through stuff by Jennifer L. Holm; pictures by Elicia Castaldi

Prince of Underwhere by Bruce Hale; illustrated by Shane Hillman

Miss Daisy is crazy! by Dan Gutman; pictures by Jim Paillot

Rubber!

Do you enjoy keeping up with the films that play on the festival circuit? Do you like strange, art house thrillers? If so, you may just want to check out Rubber. Rubber, originating from France, featured prominently during 2010, playing Cannes, Fantastic Fest, AFI, and others, and is finally getting a U.S. release! The story centers around Robert, an inanimate tire, who discovers that he has destructive telepathic powers. He soon sets his sights on a desert town and a beautiful woman who becomes the focus of his obsession. Creating a path of destruction, Robert may just be the most interesting movie villain yet.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comedy