Comedy

LOL Audiobooks to check out/download

Good omens [sound recording] by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. .


A walk in the woods [sound recording]: [rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail] by Bill Bryson

 Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaing guide you'll find to the Appalachian Trail. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way-and a couple of bears. Already a classic, "A Walk in the Woods " will make you long for the great outdoors (or at least a comfortable chair to sit and read in).


Confessions of a shopaholic [sound recording] by Sophie Kinsella

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Look What's In Large Print: August, 2014

It's the dog days of summer and you may feel like reading, but nothing too taxing.  Short stories collections are a good choice.

The collected short stories of Louis L'amour [large print]. Volume 3. The frontier stories. Part 3 by Louis L'Amour

Full dark, no stars [large print] by Stephen King

Summer brides [large print] by Susan Wiggs, Sherryl Woods, and Susan Mallery

Coronado [large print]: stories by Dennis Lehane

Some days you get the bear [large print] by Lawrence Block

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production

Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production

Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet

You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

If you like P. G. Wodehouse, try...

Mapp and Lucia by E.F. Benson ; with a new introduction by Stephen Pile

Merry Hall by Beverley Nichols ; with a foreword by Ann Lovejoy

The pursuit of love ; &, Love in a cold climate: two novels by Nancy Mitford ; foreword by Jessica Mitford

Diary of a provincial lady by E.M. Delafield ; with a preface by Mary Borden ; with illustrations by Arthur Watts

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells by Faulks, Sebastian

What We're Reading: June 2013

We're not just reading, we're watching DVDs, listening to audio books and music.

Hustle. The complete season one [videodisc]: the con is on

The school of essential ingredients [sound recording] by Erica Bauermeister

The blue room [sound recording] by Madeleine Peyroux

The autistic brain: thinking across the spectrum by Temple Grandin and Richard Panek

Fatherhood: and other stories by Thomas H. Cook

Fiction books that made us laugh

Below are the results of a survey of CPL staff on the books that made them laugh. You might have to put some on hold, they are very popular!

"Anything by Erma Bombeck"
Wooster and Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse

Forrest Gump: a novel by Winston Groom

One for the money by Janet Evanovich and the rest of the Stephanie Plum series

The color of magic by Terry Pratchett

What We're Reading November 2012

Thanksgiving Day kicks off a month of celebrations. May we suggest a movie, tips from Martha Stewart on Thanksgiving prepartions, a history, music to sooth, and a story about family.

Planes, trains and automobiles [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures

Martha's classic Thanksgiving [videodisc] by [presented by] Marth Stewart Living Omnimedia

Mayflower: a story of courage, community, and war by Nathaniel Philbrick

Thanksgiving [sound recording]: a Windham Hill collection

Thanksgiving night: a novel by Richard Bausch

Great Book Adaptations on Turner Classic Movies

Read the book? See the movie. Throughout the month of November, Turner Classic Movies is featuring film adaptations of well-known novels. The films run 24 hours on Mondays and Wednesdays. A variety of themes are featured including Southern Novels, Adventure, American Literature, Westerns, Science Fiction and more. Stories for Children and Young Adults will be shown all day on Thanksgiving Day.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comedy