Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Dark Avengers Assemble...

The Dark Avengers...Marvel's latest crossover event. Who are they? Villains dressed as heroes, taking their name, doing heroic things...sort of. See all the twisted fallout. Do some rise to the challenge? Do some villains change heart? What dark things are they realy up to, and what about the real heroes? Look for all the answers in Dark Reign, and, on its way in September, Dark Avengers Vol. 1.

Make Friends With The Alphabet

I just discovered this beginning-reader series called Alphabet Friends. There are twenty-six books in all (one for each letter, of course!). Each book in the series features different kids doing different things, all connected in some way to a letter in the alphabet. The first book, called Anna and the Letter A, is about different things that Anna and her friend Angelica like to do. Jumping ahead a bit in the series we have Leila at the Library and the Letter L, where Leila goes to...you guessed it, the library! You know what? You should take a trip to the library, too, and check out some of these cool books! See you soon!

Hawaii's Statehood Birthday - August 21st!

On August 21, 1959 Hawaii was granted statehood, making the grand total of states in the United States 50.  Celebrate its statehood by enjoying some great stories that take place in this awesome island paradise. 
Calvin Coconut in Trouble Magnet (Salisbury) is about a nine-year-old boy who catches the attention of the school bully on the day before he starts fourth grade, while at home, the unfriendly, fifteen-year-old daughter of his mother's best friend has taken over his room.

Get Instant Gratification with the Espresso Book Print Machine

woman working on book machineA new machine at the University of Michigan Shapiro Library turns downloaded digitized books into bound, printed copies which you can buy and take home with you. Mainly for out-of-print or copyright-expired books, here is a synopsis: "With the installation of a state-of-the-art book-printing machine at one of its libraries, the University of Michigan stands at the new frontier of 21st-century publishing, offering printed and bound reprints of out-of-copyright books from its digitized collection of nearly 2 million books, as well as thousands of books from the Open Content Alliance and other digital sources." You can find out more from the U of M video.

Pick Up Some Historical Fiction

Every August I look forward to the Ypsilanti Heritage Festival! There's lots of cool crafts for sale, yummy fair food, and a living history area where you can see how 19th century Michiganders lived. Whenever the festival comes, it always makes me want to pick up a good piece of Civil War historical fiction. My favorites are the ones by Ann Rinaldi. She even wrote one about a girl from Michigan who runs off to join the Union Army during the Civil War. There's a ton to choose from at the library, so stop by and give one a try. Happy reading!

Green Reads

Did you notice that a lot of new books feature stories about the environment? Even some of our favorite characters are "going green". Check out these titles to see what I mean:

SpongeBob goes green!: an earth-friendly adventure by Molly Reisner; illustrated by Stephen Reed

OK go by Carin Berger

Cam Jansen and the green school mystery by David A. Adler; illustrated by Joy Allen

Just Grace goes green by written and illustrated by Charise Mericle Harper

Enter the earth by Lee Welles; illustrated by Ann Hameister

Scat by Carl Hiaasen

My life in pink & green by Lisa Greenwald

Reading together

Everyone knows that reading aloud is good for children, but did you know that it also has significant benefits for grown-ups and families as well? The connection that is created when people read together can't be overstated. Take some time to read with your family today.

New Tamil Books

Almost two dozen Tamil books are being put on the shelf this afternoon. Fiction titles include: Eṉṉuyirāy nīyirukka- by Ār. Makēsvari and Oṟṟaiyaṭip pātai by Kaṇṇaṉ Kiruṣṇaṉ. Nonfiction titles include: Kāṣmīr by Cantiraṉ and Jōtiṭam piṟanta katai by Vē. Laṭcumaṇaṉ. And there will be more coming soon!

New Arabic Books

We are starting to receive our new Arabic language books. Books being put on the shelf today include the fiction title Zaman al-khuyūl al-bayḍāʼ by Ibrāhīm Naṣrallāh and nonfiction such as al-Salaṭāt al-shahiyah by iʻdād Līnah Shbārū Bayḍūn, et al. Come in and check them out!

Green Flowers

Green FlowersGreen Flowers: Unexpected Beauty for the Garden, Container or Vase by Alison Hoblyn, photographs by Marie O'Hara

This book is a terrific inspiration for a tone-on-tone garden bed. Some of my favorites include Hacquetia epipactis, Euphorbia lathyris (mole plant), and Bupleurum rotundifolium (hare's ear).

Daniel X returns

If you loved The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson, you have probably been waiting for the next book in the series. Daniel X: Watch The Skies is here! Don't forget to add your name to the hold list so you get it as soon as it is available.

2009 Michigan Reads book is....

The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen!

"Deep in the water
where the fish hang out
lives a glum, gloomy swimmer
with an ever-present pout."

Can anything cheer up this bummed out fish? Will he ever get over his case of the "blubs"?? For a rollicking good read be sure to check out "The Pout-Pout Fish"!

Bottomfeeder...you'll never look at fish the same way

If you, like many of us these days, are on a quest to learn more about the food you consume -- where it comes from, how it is produced, what is in it, and if it is sustainably obtained -- you may want to read Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood by Taras Grescoe. However, if you really love fish (and I do) be aware that it may change your fish consumption drastically. Shrimp is something I will now eat only on very special occasions.

August Tween Book & Pizza Registration

If you're going into 5th or 6th grade this fall, make sure to register for this month's Tween Book & Pizza Club! We're meeting on Saturday, August 29, from 1-2pm. This month we're reading Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a funny story about the most alternative school you've ever heard of. Registration begins Saturday, August 15, at 9am, so sign up and then stop by the library to pick up your copy of the book. See you soon!

Goosey Goodness

I finally got around to reading The Goose Girl -it came out way back in 2003- and I just have to say, 'Man, why did I wait so long?' If you haven't taken the plunge yet, Shannon Hale reworks an old, gruesome Grimm's fairy tale into a beautiful bit of adventure storytelling. I think the thing that sold it for me though is that she does such a good job of creating very original rules for her 'girl talks with animals' schtick that it makes all the fantasy somehow feel very realistic. I'm definitely picking up the next book in this series, and you should too...

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

New Gujarati Books

Over 100 new Gujarati titles are being put on the shelves today. Fiction titles include: Nahīntara by Yogeśa Joshī and Ūḍatāṃ pataṅgiyāṃ by Bakula Dave. Nonfiction titles include: Mejīka opha vejīṭeriyana kūkarī : sampūrṇa śākāhārī vānagīo, sāndu bhojana hoya ke bhavya pārṭī ā rasasabhara pustaka potāno jādu karaśe by Nainā Ḍôkaṭar and Umbare pragaṭāvīe koḍiyuṃ by Suśīlā Mekavānaa.

Happy Birthday, Ann M. Martin!

Ann M. Martin, one of my all-time favorite authors, is celebrating her 54th birthday today. Stop by the CPL to check out one of her many awesome books. From the Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels, to the Main Street series, there's plenty to keep you busy. For further information on Ann, you can even check out her website. Happy reading!

Fantastic Fantasy!

August 16th marks the birth date of a fantastic fantasy author - Diana Wynne Jones. Her most recent book, The House of Many Ways (the sequel to Howl's Moving Castle) gives one a whole new perspective on housesitting. Charmain is ecstatic to get away from her parents and house-sit for her Great Uncle William, the Royal Wizard of Norland, but soon discovers the house has a mind of its own. The Game (2007) is an fascinating read for all fans of mythological fiction. Orphan Hayley is sent to a family gathering in Ireland.