Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Amulet

You need to check out the Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi, the legendary creator of the Flight Anthologies, if you haven't yet. The 2nd book just came out. It's amazing how Kibuishi can convey so much action with just a few scenes. And, the storytelling is top notch. I get the same chills of excitement reading this as when I, say, first started reading Bone. It's that good, and I can't wait for the next one. Take a peek at this all-ages fantasy romp about a girl with a magical amulet and a very unique destiny and you won't be disappointed.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Holiday Handiwork

Wondering what gifts to buy for this gift-giving season? Well, why not make your own gifts like some celebrants of Kwanzaa do. You could make ornaments, dolls, treasure boxes or candle out of old jewelry, marbles, yarn, string or other small pieces you already have around. Here are some craft books to help you along.

All new crafts for Kwanzaa by Kathy Ross; illustrated by Sharon Lane Holm

Chinese New Year crafts by Karen E. Bledsoe

Storytime @ Home!

With colder weather coming fast and more holiday vacations in sight, it's always great to think about activites you can do indoors with young children. One easy and economical idea is creating your own at-home storytimes. I've gotten some great ideas from Pam Schiller and the library has many of her books and CDs available for check-out. My favorite is The Complete Book of Activities, Games, Stories, Props, Recipes, and Dances for Preschoolers!

2009 in Books

Rex SorgatzEvery year, hundreds of people and organizations put together lists of picks for the most notable happenings of the year. One man, Rex Sorgatz, has assembled a "meta-list," or list of lists, for the last 8 years. 2009 is no exception.

Aside from Rex's list, you may also be interested in Eat Me Daily's Best Cookbooks of 2009 Roundup. The "Best Horizon-Expander," Vefa's Kitchen, is available here at CPL.

Lastly, the history community lost a great cultural scholar, Ronald T. Takaki. Harry Allen has written a heartfelt obituary that mentions Dr. Takaki's book, A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America.

Holiday Decorating

'Tis the season for holiday decorating. Get some great ideas from our selection of holiday decorating books.

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting: Celebrating the Gift of Knitting with 24 Beautiful Patterns by Lorna Miser
This book of patterns by the founder of Lorna's Laces (drool-worthy fibers available locally at the Old Village Yarn Shoppe) includes patterns for socks, mittens, sweaters, stuffies, and even how to make your own decorative knitting needles. Interspersed with the patterns are brief stories explaining how Miser came up with the pattern and how it connects to her life.

Omen of the Stars #1 is Here...

and will soon be ready for check-out for all the Warriors series fans.

Jayfeather and Lionblaze are prophesied to be two of three cats who hold the power of the stars in their paws. Now they must wait for a sign from StarClan to tell them which of their Clanmates will complete the prophecy. Soon, a StarClan warrior will visit a new ThunderClan apprentice - and the lives of the three chosen cats will be forever linked.

While waiting for The Fourth Apprentice, visit the Warriors website or find out if Erin Hunter really writes this multi-volume series all on her own by visiting the Wikipedia entry for her.

Comic X Novel = Malice

This book may be one of the craziest, most inventive things I've seen lately. Chris Wooding, author of Storm Thief, breaks some new gound with his book Malice. Half of the story is fiction and half is graphic novel, and the main characters travel between the two in a weird, fascinating mix. A few have tried this risky move and failed, but Wooding pulls it off with a story revolving around a comic book that you can go inside if you know the right ritual. Menacing things happen there, of course, once you do... This book is unique, and even has an eye-popping, raised cover image. Just, cool.

Holiday Reads

Hey kids, did you spend the day doing holiday shopping with the grown-ups? You probably need some down time after navigating through all those crowds at the stores! Come to the library and grab something (free!) to read and wind down. I'm feeling Christmas-y, so here are some of my favorite easy-to-read Christmas tales to get you in the spirit:

Arthur's Christmas cookies by words and pictures by Lillian Hoban

Aunt Eater's mystery Christmas by story and pictures by Doug Cushman

Year 2009 Top Fiction Picks

Benny and Shrimp by Kate Mazetti. Can two lonely middle-aged misfits, a widowed librarian and a bachelor milk farmer, find love in such a complicated relationship? Find out in this refreshingly fun and quirky Swedish bestseller.

Blindman's Bluff by Faye Kellerman

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barberry

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Going Away Shoes: Stories by Jill McCorkle

Half-Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeanette Walls

Homeland by Barbara Hambly

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Gentle Romances

Want books with plenty of romance, but no hanky-panky? Try the Regency romances of Georgette Heyer, Shirley Marks or Barbara Metzger. If you like historicals set in America, check out Carolyn Brown or Nancy J. Parra. Hate historicals, but love contemporaries? Take a look at Holly Jacobs or Elisabeth Rose.

That's No Leopard, That's My Operating System

Whether you need to learn more about your computer's current operating system or if you are interested in learning about a different one, the library carries a wide variety of books to help you. Materials cover older systems like Windows 98, as well as newer ones like Vista and Snow Leopard. Also covered are open source systems such as Linux.

PostSecret

PostSecret: Confessions on Life, Death, and God by Frank Warren

Frank Warren collects postcards sent in by people all over the world. These postcards contain secrets, admissions, proclamations and whatever other content the anonymous submitters wish to share. Warren then posts images of these cards on the PostSecret website and in this, his second book. Warren will be at the University of Michigan on December 4 to speak about this project and this book.

In Honor of the Indians of North America

With Thanksgiving upon us, it is time to reflect on and honor the Native Americans and their rich culture, traditions, and wisdom. Check out some of the fictional works on them, or read some of the delightful and sage folklore tales from America's first peoples. Let's truly be thankful for all they have given us.

Authors Meet Technology

Technology can be a writer's best friend. More and more authors are establishing their presence beyond their websites on Twitter, Facebook, etc. In a recent article by Rege Behe of the TRIBUNE-REVIEW interviewed Ann Rice, Gregg Hurwitz, Alafair Burke and others about their decision to blog.

Claudette Colvin takes the prize

Claudette ColvinClaudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose has been named the winner of the 2009 National Book Award for Young People's Literature. Don't miss the chance to read more about this courageous teenager and the role she played in the Civil Rights Movement.