Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Brixton Brothers Challenge Hardy Boys?

Meet Steve Brixton, a fan of the Hardy Boys series and The Bailey Brothers' Detective Handbook. He is an aspiring detective who stumbles into a mystery involving the Maguffin quilt, a priceless artifact hidden by its last guardian before his death and is still missing. Steve must elude librarians, police, and the mysterious Mr. E as he tries to track down this elusive quilt containing secret coded information. Action, adventure, and laugh-out-load situations are all contained with the pages of this promising start for the Brixton Brothers series. Jeff Kinney, author of The Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, claims it is "a book kids will devour." Partake of The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity by Mac Barnett.

Read Before Seeing!

The movie adaptation of Michael Lewis' 2006 best-seller Blind Side: Evolution of a Game is in theatres now. Sandra Bullock, Quinton Aaron and Tim McGraw star in the true story of a homeless teen offered a second chance in life when he is taken in by an affluent family.

Horse Sense

There's nothing better on cold, snowy days than curling up under a blanket with a mug of hot cocoa and a good book. If you're in need of any good reads to curl up with, keep in mind that Saturday, December 12, is National Day of the Horse. There's no shortage of horse books available at the library.

Christmas Miracles - Book Suggestion of the Week

Christmas Miracles by Cecil Murphey
Celebrate the season of hope and miracles with these inspiring true stories that will warm the heart and touch the soul! From hearing invisible angels sing to miraculous healings, faith in the impossible will swell to bursting with this recent 2009 publication. Cecil Murphey is the co-author of the New York Times bestseller 90 Minutes in Heaven. He has published 108 books and lectures widely.

Human Rights Day

Human Rights Day

When : Always December 10

Human Rights Day, created by the United Nations, promotes awareness of the importance of Human Rights issues around the world. On this day in 1948, the UN General Assembly adopted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Participate in this day by learning more about human rights issues around the globe. This is a day to think about what we can do to make a difference.  In our own best interest: how defending human rights benefits us all in just one of the books on this subject to be found at the library.


2009 Nero Award Announced

New York lawyer-turned-novelist Joseph Teller has won the 2009 Nero Award for his novel The Tenth Case (Mira). That announcement came during the annual Black Orchid Weekend, hosted in New York City by the Nero Wolfe fan organization, The Wolfe Pack. The other two crime novels in contention were The Dark Tide, by Andrew Gross (HarperCollins), and The Fault Tree, by Louise Ure (Minotaur Books).

Waiting For Snow

Well, we didn't get very much snow last night like the weather people kept predicting. I woke up this morning and it was all gone! Looks like it all turned into rain. Are you waiting impatiently for a big snow so that you can go out and play in it (and maybe have a snow day off from school)? Read some books about snow while you wait. I like Oliver And Amanda And The Big Snow, Sam's Snowy Day, and The Snowball.  Hopefully, we won't have to wait too much longer to see those snowflakes coming down again!

Material Obsession

Material Obsession Material Obsession: Modern Quilts with Traditional Roots by Kathy Doughty and Sarah Fielke
I haven't made a quilt yet myself but have always admired the technique and art of those made by others. As the weather turns colder I find myself ready to tackle a project that will, in the making, drape fabrics over my lap and keep my hands occupied while watching movies and enjoying the company of my family.

The True Saint Nicholas by William J. Bennett

True Saint NicholasIf you've ever been asked, "Who is Saint Nicholas?"...

If you've ever wondered if he is just a commercial invention...

If you've ever thought there is no such person...

You may be surprised to know the true Saint Nicholas.

You'll never again think of Santa Claus in quite the same way.

Great Nordic Fantasy

If you enjoyed Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods you should give the Norse Gods and Jack a try. The Nancy Farmer triology which began with the Sea of Trolls is now complete with The Islands of the Blessed which was just published. (Books #2 is The Land of the Silver Apples, in case you are wondering!) It is high fantasy at it best, with bards and apprentice bards, trolls and elves, captures and narrow escapes, trials and learning, humor and wisdome, lads and lasses.

Cookies!

Starting your holiday baking? You'll find some excellent books under Christmas cookery. But so many are already checked out! Try Joy of Cooking. It has one of the two recipes I am asked for every year — Angel Slices. The other recipe is for Double Chocolate Walnut Biscotti, which you can find on epicurious. An extra bonus: both recipes are incredibly easy.

January 21 and Dewey

Busy Moms Book Club has been canceled for the December 17th meeting. Please join us on Thursday, January 21st at 11:00AM in the Children's Library Purple Room for friendship and a fun discussion! Our selection is Dewey: the Small Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. A film adaptation of this best-seller starring Meryl Streep is heading to the big screen around Christmas 2010.

Amulet

You need to check out the Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi, the legendary creator of the Flight Anthologies, if you haven't yet. The 2nd book just came out. It's amazing how Kibuishi can convey so much action with just a few scenes. And, the storytelling is top notch. I get the same chills of excitement reading this as when I, say, first started reading Bone. It's that good, and I can't wait for the next one. Take a peek at this all-ages fantasy romp about a girl with a magical amulet and a very unique destiny and you won't be disappointed.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Holiday Handiwork

Wondering what gifts to buy for this gift-giving season? Well, why not make your own gifts like some celebrants of Kwanzaa do. You could make ornaments, dolls, treasure boxes or candle out of old jewelry, marbles, yarn, string or other small pieces you already have around. Here are some craft books to help you along.

All new crafts for Kwanzaa by Kathy Ross; illustrated by Sharon Lane Holm

Chinese New Year crafts by Karen E. Bledsoe

Storytime @ Home!

With colder weather coming fast and more holiday vacations in sight, it's always great to think about activites you can do indoors with young children. One easy and economical idea is creating your own at-home storytimes. I've gotten some great ideas from Pam Schiller and the library has many of her books and CDs available for check-out. My favorite is The Complete Book of Activities, Games, Stories, Props, Recipes, and Dances for Preschoolers!

2009 in Books

Rex SorgatzEvery year, hundreds of people and organizations put together lists of picks for the most notable happenings of the year. One man, Rex Sorgatz, has assembled a "meta-list," or list of lists, for the last 8 years. 2009 is no exception.

Aside from Rex's list, you may also be interested in Eat Me Daily's Best Cookbooks of 2009 Roundup. The "Best Horizon-Expander," Vefa's Kitchen, is available here at CPL.

Lastly, the history community lost a great cultural scholar, Ronald T. Takaki. Harry Allen has written a heartfelt obituary that mentions Dr. Takaki's book, A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America.

Holiday Decorating

'Tis the season for holiday decorating. Get some great ideas from our selection of holiday decorating books.

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting

Faith, Hope, Love, Knitting: Celebrating the Gift of Knitting with 24 Beautiful Patterns by Lorna Miser
This book of patterns by the founder of Lorna's Laces (drool-worthy fibers available locally at the Old Village Yarn Shoppe) includes patterns for socks, mittens, sweaters, stuffies, and even how to make your own decorative knitting needles. Interspersed with the patterns are brief stories explaining how Miser came up with the pattern and how it connects to her life.