Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Bottomfeeder...you'll never look at fish the same way

If you, like many of us these days, are on a quest to learn more about the food you consume -- where it comes from, how it is produced, what is in it, and if it is sustainably obtained -- you may want to read Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood by Taras Grescoe. However, if you really love fish (and I do) be aware that it may change your fish consumption drastically. Shrimp is something I will now eat only on very special occasions.

August Tween Book & Pizza Registration

If you're going into 5th or 6th grade this fall, make sure to register for this month's Tween Book & Pizza Club! We're meeting on Saturday, August 29, from 1-2pm. This month we're reading Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan, a funny story about the most alternative school you've ever heard of. Registration begins Saturday, August 15, at 9am, so sign up and then stop by the library to pick up your copy of the book. See you soon!

Goosey Goodness

I finally got around to reading The Goose Girl -it came out way back in 2003- and I just have to say, 'Man, why did I wait so long?' If you haven't taken the plunge yet, Shannon Hale reworks an old, gruesome Grimm's fairy tale into a beautiful bit of adventure storytelling. I think the thing that sold it for me though is that she does such a good job of creating very original rules for her 'girl talks with animals' schtick that it makes all the fantasy somehow feel very realistic. I'm definitely picking up the next book in this series, and you should too...

Kay Scarpetta On Film

Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta mystery series is coming to the big screen. None other than Angelina Jolie will play Ms. Scarpetta. Producers Mark Gordon and Geyer Kosinski are hoping for a franchise out of Ms. Cornwell's books, though none of the films will necessarily follow the plotline of any particular tome. According to Variety,

This film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of "The Silence of the Lambs" and "Seven."

New Gujarati Books

Over 100 new Gujarati titles are being put on the shelves today. Fiction titles include: Nahīntara by Yogeśa Joshī and Ūḍatāṃ pataṅgiyāṃ by Bakula Dave. Nonfiction titles include: Mejīka opha vejīṭeriyana kūkarī : sampūrṇa śākāhārī vānagīo, sāndu bhojana hoya ke bhavya pārṭī ā rasasabhara pustaka potāno jādu karaśe by Nainā Ḍôkaṭar and Umbare pragaṭāvīe koḍiyuṃ by Suśīlā Mekavānaa.

Happy Birthday, Ann M. Martin!

Ann M. Martin, one of my all-time favorite authors, is celebrating her 54th birthday today. Stop by the CPL to check out one of her many awesome books. From the Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels, to the Main Street series, there's plenty to keep you busy. For further information on Ann, you can even check out her website. Happy reading!

Fantastic Fantasy!

August 16th marks the birth date of a fantastic fantasy author - Diana Wynne Jones. Her most recent book, The House of Many Ways (the sequel to Howl's Moving Castle) gives one a whole new perspective on housesitting. Charmain is ecstatic to get away from her parents and house-sit for her Great Uncle William, the Royal Wizard of Norland, but soon discovers the house has a mind of its own. The Game (2007) is an fascinating read for all fans of mythological fiction. Orphan Hayley is sent to a family gathering in Ireland.

The Book Whisperer

Donalyn Miller, a sixth-grade language arts teacher and the author of a blog and a book both titled The Book Whisperer, says she can turn any child into a book lover, no matter how reluctant a reader they may be. Students in Miller's class end the school year having read an average of forty to fifty books, no matter how far behind in their reading skills they may have been at the beginning of the year. In her book, she shares her teaching methods and offers a list of

Bedroom Makeover

Does your bedroom need a fresh look for the new school year? Have no fear, we have a interior decorating book just for you. For help with making over your bedroom, check out:

I wanna re-do my room by Clea Hantman; illustrated by Azadeh Houshyar

Bedroom makeover crafts by Kathy Ross; illustrated by Nicole in den Bosch

Room crafts: add some simple style to your space by from the editors of American Girl

New German Books

Our German language books are starting to arrive. There will be more, but the first three to get here are: Eine exklusive Liebe by Johanna Adorján, Macho man by  Moritz Netenjakob, and Mangelexemplar by Sarah Kuttner. They are going on the shelf today, so come in and check them out!

Give LibraryThing a Fling

LibraryThing is a great way to keep track of what you're reading as well as find out what others have enjoyed. LibraryThing helps you catalog your books, get connected to to others who share similar tastes and receive suggestions and book reviews for future reading pleasure. Especially of interest are "I See Dead Peoples Books" which are legacy libraries of famous dead people and the "Zeitgiest" page which lists top reviewed books, most popular authors, largest libraries, most translated texts and more. Sign up for library thing to catalog your reading interests or explore those of others. It's really fun!

MySpace and Facebook

Have you ever wished that you could do more with your MySpace or Facebook pages? Have you ever wondered how people customize their pages beyond the given capabilities or make those really cool apps? Well, we have a number of books that can help you do just that. Check out our selection of books for both MySpace and Facebook and get creative!

Organic Kitchen Garden

Organic Kitchen GardenOrganic Kitchen Garden by Juliet Roberts, photographs by Gavin Kingcome

This guide to growing your own food covers the basics for most edibles you can grow here in Canton. In addition to how to plant, grow, and harvest, recommended varieties are listed. Beautifully photographed, this is a handy guide all gardeners of edibles will want to check out.

Movies in Michigan

Did you hear that the movie of the book Flipped is being filmed here in Michigan? It's true. They are doing some shooting next to Thurston Elementary School in Ann Arbor! Take a look at this article if you haven't seen it.

Secondhand Prose to Sell Collectible Books In-house

Something old, something new... Beginning Tuesday, September 1st, Secondhand Prose Used Book Shop will sell all specialty and collectible books in-house, rather than on the Internet. All selections will be re-priced, so come in and grab some great bargains before they're gone!
(Tuesdays are Members Only Days at Secondhand Prose; you can purchase membership in advance or on the sale day.)

Michigan's Upper Peninsula by Josh Bishop

Travel writer and Michigan native Josh Bishop provides an insider’s view of the Upper Peninsula, from Mackinac Island’s horse-drawn carriages and historic Grand Hotel to the dense yet easily accessible Hiawatha National Forest. Moon Michigan's Upper Peninsula gives you all the points of interest and the finest attractions and the finest attractions and maps to help one plan a perfect trip to the Upper Peninsula.

Barack Obama's Birthday Today - August 4th!

Did you know that President Barack Obama turned 48 today? Do you know how many children he has? Do you know if he got the dog he promised his kids? Do you know what kind of dog they were hoping to get? Do you know ANYTHING important about our new president? If not, check out some of our biographies on him. You can learn about him, as well as other presidents, by visiting this social studies website also. Live and learn and learn to live!

African American Romance Authors

The following list highlights just a few of the great authors writing romances with African American characters. Each of these authors is currently publishing, so with one click you can find hot new titles.

Young people make our history great!

Have you heard of Kory Johnson? Kory was nine years old in 1988 when she started Children for a Safe Environment, an organization that helps to make sure water is safe for us to drink. Want to learn more about kids who made their mark on American history? Check out We Were There Too by Phillip Hoose. In this great history book you'll find true stories, photos and other primary documents to help you envision what it was like to be a young person and stand up for what you believe.

Sewing Green

Sewing Green: 25 Projects Made With Repurposed & Organic Materials Plus Tips & Resources for Earth-Friendly Stitching by Betz White, photographs by John Gruen

This slim paperback is packed with projects to wear and use, for grown-ups, children, and your home. The instructions for each project include information on how to reuse and upcycle materials you may already have on hand, and the results are simple and elegant.