Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

Murder Will Out: September 2014

As a mystery reader, have you noticed how often food is described in the story?  Someone is always sitting down to a meal or being called from a meal.  The following feature caterers, bakers, and recipes.

What We're Reading: September, 2014

This month is a mix of history, mystery, a book about books and reading, growing old, and second chances.

Can't we talk about something more pleasant? by Roz Chast

The Mountaintop School for Dogs and other second chances by Ellen Cooney

The 40s: the story of a decade by The New Yorker ; edited by Henry Finder with Giles Harvey ; introduction by David Remnick

The shelf: from LEQ to LES by Phyllis Rose

Buried in a bog by Sheila Connolly

Lunch and a Book September 2014

On Thursday, September 11 at noon, we will be discussing:

1984: a novel by George Orwell ; with an afterword by Erich Fromm — Written in 1948, George Orwell's classic novel created a chilling future where Big Brother and the Thought Police monitored every move. And while the year 1984 has come and gone, Orwell's haunting vision of the world remains timeless.

For more insight on this work, take a look at these interviews with Cory Doctorow or Christopher Hitchens.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: September 25, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, September 25 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing Mark Zusak THE BOOK THIEF.  Copies of the book can be requested at the Information Services Desk.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  1939. Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier and is going to become even more so.  Orphaned Liesel Meminger is living outside of Munich, scratching out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can't resist-books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, Liesel learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Murder Will Out: 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists Announced

The 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists were announced this past week.  The winners will be announced in December at the annual Black Orchid Banquet.

Ask Not by Max Allan Collins

Murder as a Fine Art by Charles Morrell

Three can keep a secret: a Joe Gunther novel by Archer Mayor

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell

A question of honor by Charles Todd

Look What's In Large Print: July 2014

The focus is on Mystery. The Agatha Christie Estate has authorized release of the complete Agatha Christie crime novels in Large Print. If you haven't read the Queen of Mystery start with her first book, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES which introduces Hercules Poirot. THE PAWNBROKER is the first Charlie Henry book in Aimee and David Thurlo's new series.

The mysterious affair at Styles [large print]: Poirot's first case by Agatha Christie

No man's nightingale [large print] by Ruth Rendell

Pursuit [large print] by Gene Hackman

The pawnbroker [large print] by David and Aimee Thurlo

That old black magic [large print] by Mary Jane Clark

Walter Dean Myers 1937-2014

 Walter Dean Myers, author of numerous young adult and children's books, died after a short illness at the age of 76.  His books mostly featured inner city youth and dealt with tough issues.  His career spanned nearly 46 years, and produced 100 books.

Wellness for Teens

Looking to be a healthier you by the end of the summer?  These books can help!

You: the owner's manual for teens: a guide to a healthy body and happy life by Michael F. Roizen, Mehmet C. Oz, and Ellen Rome ; with Ted Spiker ... [et al.] ; illustrations by Gary Hallgren

A girl's guide to fitting in fitness by Erin Whitehead and Jennipher Walters

Take a Trip with Kid's Graphic Novels

Graphic Novels are a great way to see the world this summer. We have some great titles that will help you earn your Around the World Badge in no time at all!

A bag of marbles by based on the memoir by Joseph Joffo ; adapted by Kris ; illustrated by Vincent Bailly ; translated by Edward Gauvin


The storm in the barn by Matt Phelan


Around the world: three remarkable journeys by Matt Phelan


Geronimo Stilton. Vol. 2. The secret of the Sphinx by Geronimo Stilton


The adventures of Tintin: Explorers on the moon by Hergé [i.e. G. Remy] ; [translated by Leslie Lonsdale-Cooper and Michael Turner]

Mysteries For Kids

Early Chapter Books

Nate the Great and the lost list by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat ; illustrated by Marc Simont

Cam Jansen and the mystery at the haunted house by David A. Adler ; illustrated by Susanna Natti

Princess mix-up mystery by Carolyn Keene ; illustrated by Macky Pamintuan

The deadly dungeon by Ron Roy ; illustrated by John Steven Gurney

The case of the double trouble detectives by James Preller ; illustrated by Jamie Smith ; cover illustration by R.W. Alley

Robot rumble by Franklin W. Dixon ; illustrated by Scott Burroughs

Middle Chapter Books