Catalog

Search our Catalog

Books

Lunch and a Book 2014 Reading List

Lunch and a Book meets the second Thursday of the month from 12:00-1:00PM.  No registration required, participation encouraged.

Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain — January 9th


Defending Jacob: a novel by William Landay — February 13th





Before you know kindness: a novel by Chris Bohjalian — March 13th

The dog stars by Peter Heller — April 10th


The round house by Louise Erdrich — May 8th

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Murder Will Out: Bill Morris at Nicola's Books

Author Talk:  Thursday, August 14 at 7:00PM

Detroit native Bill Morris will be at Nicola's Books in Ann Arbor for a reading and signing of his new novel, 'Motor City Burning'. Detroit comes alive in a powerful and thrilling novel set amidst the chaos of the race riots and the serenity of Tiger Baseball on Opening Day 1968.

Savvy Seniors

Wayne County Regional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's Brown Bag Book Club will meet Tuesday, August 12, Noon to 2 PM.

This month they are discussing The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman.

 Coffee will be served. Please bring your own lunch. Meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of each month at the Library for the Blind, 30555 Michigan Avenue in Westland.

Murder Will Out: August, 2014

A beleaguered NYPD detective, a housekeeper, a reformed hacker, a widowed FBI agent, a psychic tarot card reader, a forensic scientists, and a demoted Detective Inspector. What do they have in common?  Each is the lead character in one of these debut mysteries.

Never alone by C.J. Carpenter



Death comes to the village by Catherine Lloyd


The quantum breach by Denver Acey

Ice shear by M.P. Cooley

The White Magic Five and Dime by New York times bestselling author Steve Hockensmith with Lisa Falco

Everyone lies by A.D. Garrett

Murder Will Out: 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists Announced

The 2014 Nero Wolf Award Finalists were announced this past week.  The winners will be announced in December at the annual Black Orchid Banquet.

Ask Not by Max Allan Collins

Murder as a Fine Art by Charles Morrell

Three can keep a secret: a Joe Gunther novel by Archer Mayor

Murder as a fine art by David Morrell

A question of honor by Charles Todd

Look What's In Large Print: July 2014

The focus is on Mystery. The Agatha Christie Estate has authorized release of the complete Agatha Christie crime novels in Large Print. If you haven't read the Queen of Mystery start with her first book, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES which introduces Hercules Poirot. THE PAWNBROKER is the first Charlie Henry book in Aimee and David Thurlo's new series.

The mysterious affair at Styles [large print]: Poirot's first case by Agatha Christie

No man's nightingale [large print] by Ruth Rendell

Pursuit [large print] by Gene Hackman

The pawnbroker [large print] by David and Aimee Thurlo

That old black magic [large print] by Mary Jane Clark

Walter Dean Myers 1937-2014

 Walter Dean Myers, author of numerous young adult and children's books, died after a short illness at the age of 76.  His books mostly featured inner city youth and dealt with tough issues.  His career spanned nearly 46 years, and produced 100 books.

Wellness for Teens

Looking to be a healthier you by the end of the summer?  These books can help!

You: the owner's manual for teens: a guide to a healthy body and happy life by Michael F. Roizen, Mehmet C. Oz, and Ellen Rome ; with Ted Spiker ... [et al.] ; illustrations by Gary Hallgren

A girl's guide to fitting in fitness by Erin Whitehead and Jennipher Walters

Take a Trip with Kid's Graphic Novels

Graphic Novels are a great way to see the world this summer. We have some great titles that will help you earn your Around the World Badge in no time at all!

A bag of marbles by based on the memoir by Joseph Joffo ; adapted by Kris ; illustrated by Vincent Bailly ; translated by Edward Gauvin


The storm in the barn by Matt Phelan


Around the world: three remarkable journeys by Matt Phelan


Geronimo Stilton. Vol. 2. The secret of the Sphinx by Geronimo Stilton


The adventures of Tintin: Explorers on the moon by Hergé [i.e. G. Remy] ; [translated by Leslie Lonsdale-Cooper and Michael Turner]

Murder Will Out: If You Like Agatha Christie

If you enjoy Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple you should try...

Death with reservations by Kate Kingsbury

The man with a load of mischief by Martha Grimes

As if by magic by Dolores Gordon-Smith

Whose body? by Dorothy L. Sayers

Cocaine blues: a Phryne Fisher mystery by Kerry Greenwood

Agatha Raisin and the case of the curious curate by M.C. Beaton

A nice class of corpse: a Mrs. Pargeter mystery by Simon Brett

CYS 2014: Curtains Up!

Cutting for Stone by A. Verghese

Cutting for Stone is a sweeping, family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home. Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Yet it will be love, not politics--their passion for the same woman--that will tear them apart and force Marion, fresh out of medical school, to flee his homeland. He makes his way to America, finding refuge in his work as an intern at an underfunded, overcrowded New York City hospital. When the past catches up to him--nearly destroying him--Marion must entrust his life to the two men he thought he trusted least in the world: the surgeon father who abandoned him and the brother who betrayed him. An unforgettable journey into one man's remarkable life, and an epic story about the power, intimacy, and curious beauty of the work of healing others.

If You Enjoy Suspense

If you enjoy Christian Fiction filled with suspense...

Fatal judgment: a novel by Irene Hannon

Unspoken by Dee Henderson

What lies within: a novel by Karen Ball

Intervention: a novel by Terri Blackstock

When a secret kills: a novel by Lynette Eason

Endangered Animals

Some animals are in danger of becoming extinct.  If you are an animal lover that wants to learn more about these animals and how you can help, check out one of these books!

Extraordinary endangered animals by Sandrine Silhol and Gaëlle Guérive ; illustrations by Marie Doucedame

What's the difference?: an endangered animal subtraction story by Suzanne Slade ; illustrated by Joan Waites

Endangered animals by created and written by John Bonnett Wexo ; scientific consultant, Kurt Benirschke

Eyewitness endangered animals by written by Ben Hoare and Tom Jackson

My sister's keeper by Jodi Picoult

"My sister's keeper" is written by Jodi Picoult who is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness. Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate -- a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister -- and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you?