Catalog

Search our Catalog

Audiobook

National Book Awards 2011 Announced

Videos and images from the November 15 award ceremony are now available on the National Book Foundation website. John Lithgow, actor, writer, and musician was NBA Dinner and Ceremony host.

Salvage the bones: a novel by Jesmyn Ward

The swerve: how the world became modern by Stephen Greenblatt

Inside out & back again by Thanhha Lai

In Memoriam: Anne McCaffrey (1926-2011)

Anne Inez McCaffrey (1 April 1926-21 November 2011) award-winning author of the "Dragonriders of Pern" series, has died of a stroke at her Ireland home. She was 85 years old. Ms. McCaffrey, the first woman to receive a Hugo Award for fiction and the Nebula Award, was named 22nd Grand Master of the Science Fiction Writers of America in 2005 and inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2006. She was the first science fiction writer to make the New York Times Bestsellers List.

Book Club Choices: December 2011

The perfect book for a book discussion is one that's not too easy, not too hard, that will hold the interest of a diverse group of readers and will also inspire a lively discussion. For additional book club resources check out CPL's Book Club in a Bag kits.

The true memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

The tiger's wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: April 25, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, April 25 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. Our book for April is:

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs — A heartfelt novel about female friendship and the experiences that knit us together — even when we least expect it.




Copies will be available at the March 28 Canton Seniors Book Discussion or ask for a copy following the March meeting at the Adult Department's Help Desk.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: February 22, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, February 22 from 2:00-3:00 PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. February's selection is:

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson — In 1956, toward the end of Reverend John Ames's life, he begins a letter to his young son, an account of himself and his forebears, a pacifist father and an ardent abolitionist, his grandfather.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: January 25, 2012

Canton Seniors Book Discussion group will meet on Wednesday, January 25 from 2:00-3:00 PM in CPL Group Study Room A. This month we are reading:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón — Eleven year old Daniel’s quest through the secrets and shadows of postwar Barcelona for a mysterious author whose book has proved as dangerous to own as it is impossible to forget. He discovers that someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book this author has written.

Check at the Help Desk for an available copy of The Shadow of the Wind.

Book Club Choices: November 2011

Has your book group considered reading a book and watching the movie?

The good earth [videodisc] by A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture

The good earth [kit] by Pearl S. Buck; introduced and edited by Peter Conn

To kill a mockingbird [kit] by Harper Lee

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

National Book Awards 2011

The National Book Awards 2011 will be webcast live from New York City on Wednesday, November 16 at 8:00 PM. Actor, author, and musician John Lithgow will host this year's award ceremony. No registration necessary. Check the National Book Foundation's website for more information.

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Michigan Humanities Council, in conjunction with Michigan Roundtable for Diversity & Inclusion, has selected nine host sites for the Great Michigan Read traveling exhibit: We Don’t Want Them. The exhibit places the events documented in Kevin Boyle's Arc of Justice in a broader context of policies and practices that limited where some could live, thus impacting their past and present quality of life. We Don't Want Them opened in Flint and will travel around the state to the following cities:

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue