Catalog

Search our Catalog

Audiobook

Book Club Choices: November 2011

Has your book group considered reading a book and watching the movie?

The good earth [videodisc] by A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Picture

The good earth [kit] by Pearl S. Buck; introduced and edited by Peter Conn

To kill a mockingbird [kit] by Harper Lee

Best of 2011

Lists, lists, and more lists. As 2011 draws to an end everyone seems to be creating "Best of" lists. For readers of all ages and tastes, holiday gift suggestions:

National Book Awards 2011

The National Book Awards 2011 will be webcast live from New York City on Wednesday, November 16 at 8:00 PM. Actor, author, and musician John Lithgow will host this year's award ceremony. No registration necessary. Check the National Book Foundation's website for more information.

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Michigan Humanities Council, in conjunction with Michigan Roundtable for Diversity & Inclusion, has selected nine host sites for the Great Michigan Read traveling exhibit: We Don’t Want Them. The exhibit places the events documented in Kevin Boyle's Arc of Justice in a broader context of policies and practices that limited where some could live, thus impacting their past and present quality of life. We Don't Want Them opened in Flint and will travel around the state to the following cities:

Books & Authors

Have you tried Canton Public Library's online resources to find information about books, authors, reviews and read-alikes 24/7? Our database Books & Authors is a reader’s advisory tool available to Canton Public Library users via the library's databases. Canton library cardholders can create a free account in Books & Authors to create and save reading lists, access reviews or write a review for books in the database and much more. You can browse by titles, authors and genres; plus the Who? What? When? and Where? search allows users to get really specific in terms of finding just the right read.

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Murder Will Out: If you read Joanna Fluke

If you're a foodie who enjoys listening to audiobooks and a fan of Joanna Fluke's Hannah Swenson's mysteries you might enjoy:

Death in paradise [sound recording] by Carolyn Hart

The merlot murders [sound recording]: a wine country mystery by Ellen Crosby

A dilly of a death [sound recording] by Susan Wittig Albert

What We're Reading: October 2011

The Canton Public Library staff is reading:

The dovekeepers: a novel by Alice Hoffman

The marriage plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Motor City shakedown by D.E. Johnson

Room: a novel by Emma Donoghue

National Book Festival

If you weren't able to attend the National Book Festival in Washington D.C. on September 24-25, videos of the event including authors' talks are now available. Historian and author David McCullough appeared at the 2011 National Book Festival, as did Sylvia Nasar, Cassandra Clare, Wally Amos, Sara Paretsky, and more.

Creative Writing Short Stories

This Summer, Teen Creative Writing students were asked to write a story based on a selected list of genres. Each story developed over the course of the six week class, beginning with gathering ideas, a rough draft, and the final product represented in the audio recordings of the finished products below.

The Mirror World

by Arsh Kaiser

Synopsis: When his parents purchase a strange mirror as a gift for his sister, Sam discovers that there's more to a reflection than he ever imagined.


Download MP3

The Normal Ghost Tracer

by Kriya Shah

Synopsis: A young girl befriends an interesting boy who teaches her how to understand ghosts. Together they begin a quest to help the dead and the living understand and accept each other.


Download MP3

Clown Mania

by Nabeel Baig

Synopsis: Imagine a world run exclusively by clowns. This funny account of a world gone crazy offers a silly overview of a year in the life of President Daffy the Clown.


Download MP3

They Wouldn't Believe Me

by Abdulhafeez Peracha

Synopsis: An out-of-this-world visit to Canton Public Library


Download MP3

Ghost Keeper

by Sravya Emmadi

Synopsis: A teenage girl alone in an old house discovers the unexpected and goes on an adventure.


Download MP3

Murder Will Out: Carol Higgins Clark

Willard Library in Battle Creek is pleased to present An Evening with Carol Higgins Clark, Thursday, October 13th at 7:00 PM (doors open at 6:00 PM) at the Burnham Brook Community Center.

Mobbed: a Regan Reilly Mystery by Carol Higgins Clark — Best-selling mystery author Carol Higgins Clark will talk about her Regan Reilly detective series, take questions, and sign books. The program is free of charge and all are welcome! Burhnam Brook Community Center is located at 200 W. Michigan Avenue, Battle Creek, MI 49017. Please call 269-968-8166 with any questions.

Great Michigan Read 2011-2012

Arc of Justice: a Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age by Kevin Boyle is this year's Great Michigan Read 2011-2012. To kick off the Great Michigan Read, Mr. Boyle will tour six cities throughout Michigan in late October. At each site, Boyle will host a presentation, question-and-answer session, and book signing. All events are free and open to the public.

Mystery Series Week

The Purple Moon Press has declared October 2-11 Mystery Series Week-2011. Of course, every mystery fan is familiar with the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dame Agatha Christie's Hercules Poiroit, Miss Marple, or Tommy and Tuppence. If you are looking for something new, there are dozen of series such as Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus, or Janet Evanovich's comic Stephanie Plum. For more reading suggestions, check Canton Public Library's mystery posts and May We Suggest.

[Image Source: Google/Purple Moon Press]

Murder Will Out: Meet William Kent Krueger

Northwest Angle: a novel by William Kent Krueger — Meet William Kent Krueger, author of the Cork O'Connor mystery series on Thursday, October 6 at 7:00 PM at Aunt Agatha's in Ann Arbor. Mr. Krueger will discuss and sign his new Cork O'Connor novel, Northwest Angle.