Catalog

Search our Catalog

Audiobook

Val McDermid wins CWA Diamond Award

Britain’s Crime Writers’ Association has announced that Scottish novelist Val McDermid is “the recipient of this year’s prestigious CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger Award, which honours outstanding achievement in the field of crime writing." Ms. McDermid began writing in 1987 when Report for Murder was released and over the years has won numerous writing awards for her mystery stories.

Year 2009 Top Audiobook Picks

All the Living by C.E. Morgan. Aloma moves to her boyfriend Orren's Kentucky farm when his family dies in a car accident. And as a bereaved Orren withdraws, Aloma's chances of becoming a concert pianist diminish. Read by Julia Gibson

Closing Time: a Memoir by Joe Queenan. Queenan's deeply funny and affecting memoir about his great escape from a childhood of poverty in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. Read by Johnny Heller

Author Steve Hamilton to Speak on January 14

Steve Hamilton, author of the Alex McKnight mysteries and graduate of Lakeland High School (MI) will discuss his latest book, The Lock Artist on Thursday, January 14 at 6:30PM at White Lake Township Library. For more information contact Denise E. Harris, Adult Services Librarian at (248) 698-4942.

Murder Will Out: Ring Out the Dead

Here are a few mysteries set at the new year:

The queene's Christmas by Karen Harper

Full cry by Rita Mae Brown

New Year's Eve murder : a Lucy Stone mystery by Leslie Meier

Cat on a hyacinth hunt by Carole Nelson Douglas

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Elm Creek Quilts

If you like to listen to an audio book and quilt at the same time then Jennifer Chiaverini's Elm Creek quilt novels is your answer. The series has 14 books and in all the books the story and the art of quilting are neatly stiched. You can learn more about the quilts discussed in those stories by going into Jennifer Chiaverini's web site at http://elmcreek.net. The Winding Ways quilt pattern is easily explained in Nancy Elliott MacDonald's book Winding Ways Quilts A practically Pinless Approach.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

The African Experience: An Audiobook Selection

Here is where the landscape, the country, and the people all play a part in forming life-changing experiences in the real and fictional worlds of Africa!

Have You Eaten Your Frog Today?

Tend to procrastinate? Need to improve your time management skills? If so, take some advice from Brian Tracy, author of Eat That Frog! 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time. His secret to ending procrastination? Tackle the biggest, most challenging task of your day first thing. That's your "frog," says Tracy. If you're like many people, you'll instead try to complete several quick, easy and/or enjoyable tasks first thing in the morning. You'll learn why it's so important to "eat that frog" first, along with loads of other useful time management tips. No time to read a book, you say? No problem! Listen to the audiobook (on CDs) in your car while driving to work or running errands.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - April 28, 2010

April's reading selection is Forgetfulness by Ward Just. Copies of the book will be distributed at the March 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after March 24. Participants must register with the Canton Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - May 26, 2010

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger is the Canton Seniors Book Group May selection. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after May 26. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - February 24, 2010

This month, the Canton Seniors Book Group will discuss the Everyone's Reading 2010 selection, Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the January 27, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after January 27th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - January 27, 2010

The Canton Seniors Book Group will be discussing the 1994 ALA Black Caucus Award winning book A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines.  Copies of the book will be distributed at the November 18, 2009 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after November 18th.  Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling 734-394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734-397-0999).

Discussion of Stealing Buddha's Dinner on Facebook

From October 26-30, you are invited to participate in a unique, virtual dialogue on "Stealing Buddha's Dinner" with individuals from other Michigan communities, high schools, colleges, and others. Questions emanating from Bich's tour visit Oct 13-17, as well as from her memoir, will be posed to stimulate dialogue on immigration stories, cultural understanding, and contemporary history.

Discussion will occur on the Great Michigan Read Facebook Discussion Board, beginning October 26. We look forward to the conversation and your participation!