Catalog

Search our Catalog

Audiobook

Great Michigan Read: Stealing Buddha's Dinner

The Great Michigan Read program selection is Stealing Buddha’s Dinner by Bich Minh Nguyen and this month the University of Michigan Library is hosting the Michigan Humanities Council’s traveling exhibit, Their Journey: Vietnamese in Michigan, which is on display February 1-24, 2010 (University of Michigan Hatcher Graduate Library, Ann Arbor) as well as a live webcast conversation on February 10 with Professor Peter Ho Davies and

Howard Zinn, Historian, Civil Rights Activist, Educator, Dead at 87

Howard Zinn (1922 – 2010) an American historian and Professor of Political Science at Boston University from 1964 to 1988, died on Wednesday, January 27, 2010. He was the author of more than 20 books. Zinn was active in and wrote extensively about the African-American Civil Rights Movement 1955-1968, civil rights and civil liberties and peace movements. In his best-selling A People's History of the United States, "he concentrated on what he saw as the genocidal depredations of Christopher Columbus, the blood lust of Theodore Roosevelt and the racial failings of Abraham Lincoln.

"Love means never having to say you're sorry." Erich Segal

Author Erich Segal died last week (January 17) at the age of 72. He was teaching Greek and Roman literature at Yale University, when his collaboration with the Beatles in 1968 on their movie Yellow Submarine and the production of a screenplay he wrote about the doomed romance of a Radcliffe scholarship girl and a Harvard old-money boy entitled Love Story brought Segal fame. Released in 1970, "Love Story" was a huge box-office hit. "Love Story", when released in paperback, had the largest print order in publishing history at the time, with 4,325,000 copies. Reaction to the book was strong and surprisingly controversial.

Mystery Writers of America Announces 2010 Nominees

Mystery Writers of America announced the Nominees for the 2010 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2009. Best Novel Nominees are:

Creator of 'Spenser' Robert B. Parker Died

Bestselling American crime novelist, Robert B. Parker, creator of the wisecracking Boston private eye Spenser, died on Monday, January 18 at the age of 77. Robert B Parker, the American crime novelist, who has died aged 77, helped revive and modernize the hard-boiled private eye genre through his Spenser series of novels. In 2002, he was named Grand Master at the Edgar awards by the Mystery Writers of America. More than four million copies of his books have been sold around the world.

Historical Romances on CD

Put these in your CD player and let the stories, ranging from sweeping epics to romantic suspense, carry you into the past.

Val McDermid wins CWA Diamond Award

Britain’s Crime Writers’ Association has announced that Scottish novelist Val McDermid is “the recipient of this year’s prestigious CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger Award, which honours outstanding achievement in the field of crime writing." Ms. McDermid began writing in 1987 when Report for Murder was released and over the years has won numerous writing awards for her mystery stories.

Year 2009 Top Audiobook Picks

All the Living by C.E. Morgan. Aloma moves to her boyfriend Orren's Kentucky farm when his family dies in a car accident. And as a bereaved Orren withdraws, Aloma's chances of becoming a concert pianist diminish. Read by Julia Gibson

Closing Time: a Memoir by Joe Queenan. Queenan's deeply funny and affecting memoir about his great escape from a childhood of poverty in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. Read by Johnny Heller

Author Steve Hamilton to Speak on January 14

Steve Hamilton, author of the Alex McKnight mysteries and graduate of Lakeland High School (MI) will discuss his latest book, The Lock Artist on Thursday, January 14 at 6:30PM at White Lake Township Library. For more information contact Denise E. Harris, Adult Services Librarian at (248) 698-4942.

Murder Will Out: Ring Out the Dead

Here are a few mysteries set at the new year:

The queene's Christmas by Karen Harper

Full cry by Rita Mae Brown

New Year's Eve murder : a Lucy Stone mystery by Leslie Meier

Cat on a hyacinth hunt by Carole Nelson Douglas

Best Mysteries of 2009

Janet Rudolph of Mystery Fanfare announced her picks for Best Mysteries of 2009. Her number one choice: Dog On It by Stephen Quinn.

Dorothy Gilman Grand Master at MWA 2010 Conference

On Thursday, December 10, the Mystery Writers of America announced that Dorothy Gilman, the 86-year-old American author of the long-running Emily Pollifax (aka Mrs. Pollifax) spy novel series, has been chosen as the group’s 2010 Grand Master. She follows in the footsteps of last year’s prize recipients, James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

Elm Creek Quilts

If you like to listen to an audio book and quilt at the same time then Jennifer Chiaverini's Elm Creek quilt novels is your answer. The series has 14 books and in all the books the story and the art of quilting are neatly stiched. You can learn more about the quilts discussed in those stories by going into Jennifer Chiaverini's web site at http://elmcreek.net. The Winding Ways quilt pattern is easily explained in Nancy Elliott MacDonald's book Winding Ways Quilts A practically Pinless Approach.

Suspense, Mystery, Murder

Fans of Denise Mina or Minette Walters should try:

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - June 23, 2010

The Pearl Diver by Jeff Talarigo is the Canton Seniors Book Group final selection for this year. Copies of the book will be distributed at the May 26, 2010 meeting. After May 26  copies ask for a copy at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

Canton Seniors Book Discussion - March 24, 2010

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver is the selected book in March. Copies of the book will be distributed at the February 24, 2010 meeting or can be picked up at the Canton Public Library's Adult Reference Desk after February. Participants must register with the Senior Adult Department at the Summit by calling (734) 394-5485. If you have questions, contact Joyce Simowski or Elaine Skrzynski at the Canton Public Library (734) 397-0999.

The African Experience: An Audiobook Selection

Here is where the landscape, the country, and the people all play a part in forming life-changing experiences in the real and fictional worlds of Africa!