Catalog

Search our Catalog

Comedy

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production


Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production


Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet


You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production


The Philadelphia story [videodisc] by produced by Joseph L. Mankiewicz ; directed by George Cukor ; screenplay by Donald Ogden Stewart

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

If you like P. G. Wodehouse, try...

Mapp and Lucia by E.F. Benson ; with a new introduction by Stephen Pile

Merry Hall by Beverley Nichols ; with a foreword by Ann Lovejoy

The pursuit of love ; &, Love in a cold climate: two novels by Nancy Mitford ; foreword by Jessica Mitford

Diary of a provincial lady by E.M. Delafield ; with a preface by Mary Borden ; with illustrations by Arthur Watts

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells by Faulks, Sebastian

Fiction books that made us laugh

Below are the results of a survey of CPL staff on the books that made them laugh. You might have to put some on hold, they are very popular!



"Anything by Erma Bombeck"
Wooster and Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse

Forrest Gump: a novel by Winston Groom

One for the money by Janet Evanovich and the rest of the Stephanie Plum series

The color of magic by Terry Pratchett

What We're Reading November 2012

Thanksgiving Day kicks off a month of celebrations. May we suggest a movie, tips from Martha Stewart on Thanksgiving prepartions, a history, music to sooth, and a story about family.

Planes, trains and automobiles [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures

Martha's classic Thanksgiving [videodisc] by [presented by] Marth Stewart Living Omnimedia

Mayflower: a story of courage, community, and war by Nathaniel Philbrick

Thanksgiving [sound recording]: a Windham Hill collection

Thanksgiving night: a novel by Richard Bausch

Great Book Adaptations on Turner Classic Movies

Read the book? See the movie. Throughout the month of November, Turner Classic Movies is featuring film adaptations of well-known novels. The films run 24 hours on Mondays and Wednesdays. A variety of themes are featured including Southern Novels, Adventure, American Literature, Westerns, Science Fiction and more. Stories for Children and Young Adults will be shown all day on Thanksgiving Day.

Murder Will Out: Alexander McCall Smith

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith — Fans of Alexander McCall Smith, author of several series, including The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, 44 Scotland Street, and Isabel Dalhousie's novels will enjoy this recent interview by Connie Fletcher in BookList Online (12/01/2011).

Marcel the Shell with Shoes on: Things about me

Marcel the shell with shoes on : things about me by Jenny Slate & Dean Fleischer-Camp ; paintings by Amy Lind — Marcel is a shell. He also has shoes. And just how does that work? Check out this fun, new picture book created by writer, actress and SNL alum Jenny Slate and her partner Dean Fleischer-Camp. The book is based on a short film made by the duo in 2010 that went on to win the grand jury prize at the 2011 New York Int'l Children's Film Festival. Big accomplishments for such a little creature!

Murder Will Out: More Read-Alikes for Janet Evanovich

With the much anticipated movie release of Janet Evanovich's One For the Money in January, 2012 fans of Stephanie Plum may enjoy listening to these authors.

Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death [sound recording] by M.C. Beaton

Merry Wives of Maggody [sound recording] by Joan Hess

Murder on a girls' night out [sound recording] by Anne George

Library Jokes

Do you love jokes? How about jokes specifically related to libraries? Well, here's a great website that is full of library jokes and cartoons.

Rubber!

Do you enjoy keeping up with the films that play on the festival circuit? Do you like strange, art house thrillers? If so, you may just want to check out Rubber. Rubber, originating from France, featured prominently during 2010, playing Cannes, Fantastic Fest, AFI, and others, and is finally getting a U.S. release! The story centers around Robert, an inanimate tire, who discovers that he has destructive telepathic powers. He soon sets his sights on a desert town and a beautiful woman who becomes the focus of his obsession. Creating a path of destruction, Robert may just be the most interesting movie villain yet.

Funny and Fighting

Enjoy humor? Enjoy Action? If you've read 39 clues, Percy Jackson, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and you're looking for more books that will either make you gasp, or make you laugh, check these out:

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull; illustrated by Brandon Dorman

The day my butt went psycho by Andy Griffiths

Beyond the Deepwoods by Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell

Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo

Zombiekins by Kevin Bolger; illustrated by Aaron Blecha

Louise Rennison Fans!

Are you a fan of Louise Rennison's book series that began with Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging? If you are, you may have been disappointed when she published her last book in the series in 2009. That is why I was so excited to hear that she is beginning a new series revolving around the misadventures of Georgia's younger cousin, Tallulah Casey! Withering Tights is due to be released on June 28, 2011 and promises to be just as fun and hilarious as the previous books. And if you haven't read any of the books, and want to feel good and laugh out loud, give them a try!

Book Club in a Bag Kit

Mennonite in a little black dress: a memoir of going home by Rhoda Janzen. Full of wit and humor, this book is a charming story of moving home to heal from both a broken marriage and an injury. An eccentric, Mennonite family welcomes the author.

Romance on Ice

Isn't it exciting when two perfectly unrelated, but equally beloved, things mash together? I love reading romances and I love watching ice hockey. Apparently, I am not the only one. Rachel Gibson and Deirdre Martin are just two of the authors who have written fiction with hockey players as the heroes. Grab one today and get in a little reading before the Wings take on the Blackhawks tomorrow.

Body check by Deirdre Martin

What Should I Read?

In what order should you read a series? Read everything written by Sue Grafton or Malcolm Gladwell and would like to try a similar author? Books & Authors, available in Canton Public Library's databases, allows you to search by title and/or author, subject, keyword, time period, geographic location, or character. Follow the series links for additional titles, or take advantage of the Expert Picks & Librarian's Favorites for recommendations based on some of your favorite titles or topics.

Mark Twain (1835-1910)

Mark Twain, one of America's best-known and well-loved authors, was born on November 30, 1835. His works have been translated into hundreds of languages, and Hollywood continues to produce film adaptations of his books. The following Special Collection focuses on his life and work.