Catalog

Search our Catalog

Australia

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Canton Seniors Book Discussion: August 28, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Group will meet on Thursday, August 28 from 2:00-3:00pm in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A. We will be discussing M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS. Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

Year 2012 Top Fiction Picks

Our favorite reads this year from the Adult and Children/Tweens/Teens Librarians:

The age of miracles: a novel by Karen Thompson Walker

The art forger: a novel by B.A. Shapiro

The dog stars by Peter Heller

Before I go to sleep: a novel by S.J. Watson

City of thieves: a novel by David Benioff

Every day by David Levithan

The expats: a novel by Chris Pavone

30 Best Films You've Never Seen…

…but I have because co-workers and library patrons have recommended them.

Alphaville: une étrange adventure de Lemmy Caution by Chaumaine Production-Film-Studio

The band's visit by July August Productions; Bleiberg Entertainment; Sophie Dulac Productions

Sisters in Crime Announce Davitt Awards

This year 39 crime books competed for the Davitt Awards which were set up by Sisters in Crime in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of Australian women crime writers. Justice Betty King presented the awards to a crowd of 140 at the Celtic Club. For the third year running, the awards were sponsored by the Victoria Police Museum.

Beautiful Place To Die (PanMacmillan), the debut novel by Sydney-based filmmaker turned crime writer, Malla Nunn, tonight won Sisters in Crime’s Davitt Awards for the best (adult) crime novel by an Australian woman in 2008.

Blue Mountains writer Catherine Jinks took out the Davitt (young adult) for Genius Squad (Allen & Unwin)